See

29 April 2016

Weightlessness…

In the collections stars, constellations, moons and suns gravitate.

Buried thousands of kilometers below the Earth’s surface, precious gemstones are intimately linked to the stars gravitating far above thousands of light-years away. Yet they both share the same sources, as they were all formed billions of years ago under extreme temperatures and phenomenal pressure. Might this explain these jewelers’ fascination for the cosmogony?

Between figurative and abstraction, poetry and the rigors of science, Alexandre Reza features crescent moons in dark gold set with diamonds. Solange Azagury-Partridge creates rings in the form a diamond around which stars revolve. Stars were at the center of Elie Top’s first two collections entitled “Mécaniques Célestes” and “Étoiles Mystérieuses“. Andrea Fohrman for her part multiplies spatial figures and even goes as far as personalizing a medallion set with gemstones reproducing the moon phase on the day of her birth.

Jewelers love the idea that the universe is ordered and in harmony, and to think that a network of analogies links us to the earthly world. To connect us with the beyond, what better than mysterious gems like star sapphires, opals and tiger-eye. The spherical pendants of the Lebanese jeweler, Noor Fares, are sculpted in gemstones with opalescent and iridescent reflections, and in moonstone and labradorite at the center of Blackbird and the Snow‘s collections.

This very current cosmogony theme, in the past inspired such spectacular pieces as Mademoiselle Chanel’s “Comète” necklace of 1932. The house re-acquired this piece during the creation of its jewelry division and has turned it into an easily recognizable code at the base of a number of collections with such evocative names as “Voie Lactée” and “Ciel Étoilé” among others. A magnificent Big Bang.

 

Banner picture: Chanel Joaillerie – “Comète” necklace – Platinum, white gold and diamonds

Most popular articles

Gas and its Bohemian workshop

A visit to the Gas workshop, the beating heart of the brand’s “solar chic” style de the hills above Marseille. After a lunch with a chorus of cicadas, under...

1970s Piaget watches at Artcurial

This exceptional sale entitled “Time is Feminine” features fifteen vintage women’s watches signed Piaget.

“Precious Ballerinas” by Van Cleef & Arpels

The ballerinas at the heart of the new Van Cleef & Arpels exhibition were inspired in the 1940s by the paintings of Edgard Degas.

“Time is feminine” the french jewelry post editorial

It is with great pleasure that we present the editorial for this Artcurial catalogue, which pays tribute to the vintage watches gathered for this...

Couture jewelry at The Vintage Collector’s Fair

On December 1 and 2, fashion antiques dealer Catherine Lecomte is bringing together fifteen or so colleagues at the Bristol Hotel. “High-end vintage”...

“Tuaregs” at the Musée des Confluences

This exhibition highlights the jewelry of the nomadic tribes of the Sahara. Often dismissed as worthless trinkets by the public, they are in fact rich in...

29 avril 2016

En apesanteur…

Dans les collections gravitent étoiles, constellations, Lune et Soleil.

Enfouies à des milliers de kilomètres sous la Terre, les pierres précieuses sont aussi intimement liées aux astres gravitant à des années-lumière. Elles viennent d’un même élément, elles se sont formées au fil de milliards d’années, soumises aux températures extrêmes associées à des pressions phénoménales, etc. De quoi expliquer la fascination des joailliers pour la cosmogonie ?

Entre figuratif et abstraction, poésie et rigueur scientifique, la maison Alexandre Reza figure des croissants de lune en or très foncé serti de diamants. Solange Azagury-Partridge imagine une bague formée par un diamant autour duquel tournent des étoiles. Étoile au centre des deux premières collections d’Elie Top, intitulées « Mécaniques Célestes » et « Étoiles Mystérieuses ». Tandis que de son côté, Andrea Fohrman multiplie les figures spatiales allant jusqu’à personnaliser une médaille sertie de pierres reproduisant la phase de la Lune du jour de sa naissance.

Les joailliers aiment l’idée que l’univers est ordonné, harmonieux. Et penser qu’un réseau d’analogies nous relie au monde terrestre. Pour se connecter avec l’au-delà, ils ne trouvent pas mieux que les gemmes mystérieuses comme le saphir étoilé, l’opale ou l’œil de tigre. Les pendentifs sphériques de la Libanaise Noor Fares sont sculptés dans des pierres aux reflets opalescents et iridescents, dans la pierre de lune et la labradorite, également au cœur des collections de Blackbird and the Snow.

Ce thème de la cosmogonie, très actuel, a inspiré dans le passé des pièces spectaculaires comme le collier « Comète » de Mademoiselle Chanel datant de 1932. La maison, qui l’a racheté lors de la création de son département joaillerie, a fait de ce motif un code de reconnaissance à la base d’innombrables créations aux noms évocateurs : « Voie Lactée », « Ciel Étoilé », etc. Un magnifique Big Bang.

 

Image en bannière : Chanel Joaillerie – Collier « Comète » – Platine, or blanc et diamants

Articles les plus lus

Gas et son atelier-bohème

Chez Gas, visite de l’atelier situé sur les hauteurs de Marseille. Là, bat le cœur de la marque au style « chic solaire ». 

Les montres seventies Piaget chez Artcurial

Cette vente exceptionnelle baptisée « Le temps est féminin », met en lumière une quinzaine de montres de femme vintage signées Piaget.

« Précieuses Ballerines » de Van Cleef & Arpels

Les ballerines, au cœur de la nouvelle exposition Van Cleef & Arpels, ont été inspirées dans les années 1940 par les peintures d’Edgard Degas.

« Le temps est féminin », l’édito de the french jewelry post

C’est un plaisir de signer l’édito de ce catalogue Artcurial. Il rend hommage aux montres vintage réunies pour cette vente aux enchères...

Le bijou couture à The Vintage Collector’s Fair

Les 1er et 2 décembre prochains, l’antiquaire de mode Catherine Lecomte réunit une quinzaine de confrères au Bristol. Le vintage haut de gamme se...

« Touaregs » au musée des Confluences

Cette exposition met en lumière les bijoux de ces tribus nomades du Sahara. Parfois associés à des bijoux de pacotille dans l’imaginaire collectif, ils...