Business

18 January 2019

Olivier Baroin, the expert on Suzanne Belperron

Suzanne Belperron’s jewelry is in great demand at auctions and from antique dealers. An interview with Olivier Baroin, the expert on the designer.

 

 

Sandrine Merle. In 2008, you happened to come into possession of the 1937-1974 archives belonging to Suzanne Belperron. This has enabled you to become, today, the leading expert on her work.

Olivier Baroin. I issue certificates of authenticity for Suzanne Belperron jewelry, particularly for auction houses. I also carry out OTC transactions: in other words, I put sellers and buyers in touch. Some are willing to travel the world to acquire a piece, especially if it has never appeared on the market.

 

S.-M. The number of Belperron jewelry creations in sales and at jewelry antique dealers these days is phenomenal….

O.-B. But don’t imagine that the market is flooded with fakes! The huge amount of communication helps to drive the market: everyone is on the lookout, professionals and potential owners alike. But you know, in the end I only certify one piece out of 30 or 40 that passes through my hands.

 

S.-M. We know that Suzanne Belperron did not sign her jewelry and often said “my style is my signature”. This makes it more difficult to authenticate them….

O.-B. The doubt is quickly removed if the jewel is listed in an order book or bears the hallmark of its workshop, Groëné & Darde (then Darde & Fils then Darde & Cie). For the rest, there’s no question of giving certificates to counterfeiters… I can tell you that I examine the technical details with a magnifying glass: stamping, welds, adjustments, updates and other fasteners. Take this $880,000 bracelet from Christie’s NY: a clue is the thickness of the metal (6.5 mm), abnormally thin for a piece of jewelry. The raw material doesn’t represent the value of the jewel ! The plates that make it up are not even covered but simply reinforced with arched half-circular wires underneath: this way, the jewel remains thin, light and pleasant to wear despite its volume.

 

S.-M. Moreover, with Suzanne Belperron, the jewelry is far from perfect, the stones are not of exceptional quality…

O.-B. That’s what makes them so charming! Groëné & Darde did everything by hand but went to the simplest possible solutions in order to save time and achieve greater lightness. Just like Suzanne Belperron who couldn’t care less about the original raw material. The stones were often provided by the clients. On the other hand, the stone sculptures, created by Adrien Louard, are absolutely perfect.

 

S.-M. Officially, Suzanne Belperron went on designing until 1975. What were her best years?

O.-B. The most beautiful jewelry is from 1925 to 1945, and was entirely handmade. In the 1950s, production reached its peak. Over times, the techniques also evolved: some were made with lost wax castings, which took away of their charm but since this technique couldn’t be applied to all models, this “Cerf-volant” ring produced in 1974 was still for example entirely handmade. My favourites include the emerald butterfly brooch recently sold by Aguttes and the brooch formed by two blond agate leaves and a cascade of pearls. A little later, the bracelet sold at Christie’s (in Vogue 1948) was nevertheless exceptional. There were also the pieces designed at Boivin’s very beginning, such as her personal ‘Yin Yang’ engagement ring (1923) and her personal ring made of a shuttle diamond set in rock crystal.

 

S.-M. Suzanne Belperron’s legacy is at the heart of quarrels, secrets and controversies, particularly concerning her early days with René Boivin.

O.-B. My goal today is to rehabilitate Suzanne Belperron’s role at René Boivin between 1919 and 1932, when in my opinion she was at the height of her artistic abilities. For me, she made the reputation of this jeweler who was working, at the time under contract to major houses (including Boucheron), and yet we often fail to attribute the pieces to her. It is also said that, angry at Germaine Boivin, she left, taking all her drawings with her… But there is no evidence of that. I think she left in a calm and collected manner. Besides, I would like to point out you that in the late 1960s, one of the Boivin ladies asked Suzanne Belperron to make her a piece of jewelry because she wanted something “modern”.

 

S.-M. Not everyone agrees with you on this point… Like a biographer, you’re somewhat in love with your subject.

O.-B. I am completely immersed in her universe and his creations. When I feel like I’ve seen everything, I discover a new piece… I still wonder about her intentions: for example, why did she often put big diamonds (of 1 carat or more) in a small stone paving? Suzanne Belperron still continues to surprise and fascinate me.

 

Related articles:

The Suzanne Belperron phenomenon

Where can I find Suzanne Belperron jewelry?

René Boivin, masculin-feminine brand

Most popular articles

« Pearl Merchants »: the saga of a trade by The School of Jewelry Arts

Thanks to more than a year of research, The School of Jewelery Arts has reconstructed the history of the fine pearls trade. Here are the results, revealed...

The mavericks of haute joaillerie

Jewelry Week put the spotlight on “new jewelers” with the ability to produce pieces worth several hundred thousand euros. What impact will these mavericks...

The Al Thani sale at Christie's, the sale of the century?

If you thought that His Highness Sheikh Hamad bin Abdullah Al Thani, a member of the ruling family of Qatar, only owned the 450 sumptuous pieces (including...

All change at Guérin Joaillerie

The Didier Guérin distribution brand has now become Guérin Joaillerie, a premium jewelry brand. Its Executive Director, Ilanite Attia, updates us on the...

Jewelry to save the planet

Tiffany & Co, Jasmine Alexander, Birks… Jewelers and designers contribute to safeguarding the planet, their main source of inspiration and materials....

GemGenève: a springboard for young designers

The new jewelers’ fair GemGenève aims to put the spotlight on new talent. After Camille Combremont and Emmanuel Tarpin in 2018, who will be the big...

Business

18 janvier 2019

Olivier Baroin, l’expert de Suzanne Belperron

Les bijoux de Suzanne Belperron s’arrachent dans les ventes aux enchères et chez les antiquaires. Rencontre avec Olivier Baroin, l’expert de la créatrice.

 

 

Sandrine Merle. En 2008, vous entrez par hasard en possession du fonds d’archives des années 1937 à 1974 ayant appartenu à Suzanne Belperron. Cela vous a permis de devenir, aujourd’hui, l’expert de référence.

Olivier Baroin. Je délivre des certificats d’authenticité des bijoux Suzanne Belperron notamment pour les maisons de ventes aux enchères. Je réalise aussi des transactions de gré à gré : autrement dit, je mets en contact vendeurs et acheteurs. Certains sont prêts à traverser la planète pour acquérir une pièce, surtout si elle n’est jamais apparue sur le marché.

 

S.-M. Le nombre de bijoux Belperron dans les ventes et chez les antiquaires de bijoux est aujourd’hui phénoménal…

O.-B. N’allez pas imaginer que des faux circulent ! L’énorme communication contribue à alimenter le marché : tout le monde est à l’affût, les professionnels comme d’éventuels propriétaires. Vous savez, au final je ne certifie qu’une pièce sur 30 ou 40 qui passent entre mes mains.

 

S.-M. On sait que Suzanne Belperron ne signait pas ses bijoux et répétait : « mon style est ma signature ». Cela rend leur authentification plus difficile…

O.-B. Le doute est très vite levé si le bijou est répertorié dans un carnet de commande ou porte le poinçon de son atelier, Groëné & Darde (ensuite Darde & Fils puis Darde & Cie). Pour le reste, pas question de donner des cartes aux faussaires… Mais je peux vous dire que j’examine les détails techniques à la loupe : emboutissages, soudures, ajustages, mises à jour et autres fermoirs. Prenez ce bracelet adjugé $880 000 chez Christie’s NY : un indice est l’épaisseur du métal (6,5 mm), anormalement fine pour une pièce de joaillerie. La matière première est loin de représenter la valeur du bijou ! Les plaques qui le constituent ne sont pas bâtées mais simplement renforcées de fils demi-jonc arqués par dessous: ainsi, le bijou reste léger et plus agréable à porter.

 

S.-M. D’ailleurs chez Suzanne Belperron, les bijoux sont loin d’être parfaits, les pierres ne sont pas d’une qualité exceptionnelle…

O.-B. C’est ce qui leur confère un charme fou ! Groëné & Darde faisait tout à la main mais cherchait à aller au plus simple probablement pour gagner du temps et gagner en légèreté. Comme Suzanne Belperron d’ailleurs : elle se moquait de la valeur des matières premières utilisées. Les pierres sont souvent, elles, fournies par les clientes. En revanche, les sculptures des pierres, réalisées par Adrien Louard, sont d’une absolue perfection.

 

S.-M. Officiellement, Suzanne Belperron a créé des bijoux jusqu’en 1975. Quelles sont ses meilleures années ?

O.-B. Les bijoux les plus beaux sont ceux des années 1925 à 1945, entièrement faits à la main. Dans les années 50, la production atteint son apogée. Avec le temps, les techniques évoluent: certains sont alors réalisés à la fonte à cire perdue. Ce qui leur enlève un certain charme. Cette technique ne pouvant pas être appliquée à tous les modèles,  la bague « Cerf-volant » produite en 1974 est encore, par exemple, entièrement réalisée à la main. Parmi mes bijoux préférés figurent la broche papillon en émeraudes récemment vendue par Aguttes et la broche formée par deux feuilles d’agate blonde et d’une cascade de perles. Un peu plus tardif, le bracelet vendu chez Christie’s (Vogue, 1948) n’en reste pas moins exceptionnel. Il y a aussi les pièces dessinées chez Boivin à ses tous débuts, sa bague de fiançailles « Yin  Yang » (1923) ou sa bague personnelle formée par un diamant navette serti dans du cristal de roche.

 

S.-M. L’héritage de Suzanne Belperron est au cœur de querelles, de secrets et de polémiques notamment concernant ses débuts chez René Boivin.

O.-B. Mon but est aujourd’hui de réhabiliter le rôle de Suzanne Belperron chez René Boivin entre 1919 et 1932, alors au sommet de son art. Pour moi, elle a fait la notoriété de ce joaillier travaillant à l’origine comme sous-traitant pour des joailliers (dont Boucheron) et pourtant on omet souvent de lui attribuer les pièces. On dit aussi qu’elle est partie fâchée avec Germaine Boivin, emportant tous ses dessins… Il n’existe aucune preuve. Je pense plutôt qu’elle est partie en ayant tout en tête. Je rappelle qu’une des demoiselles Boivin, à la fin des années 60, a demandé à Suzanne Belperron de lui faire un bijou car elle voulait quelque chose de « moderne ».

 

S.-M. Tout le monde n’est pas d’accord avec vous sur ce point… Tel un biographe, vous êtes bel et bien amoureux de votre sujet!

O.-B. Je suis complètement imprégné de son univers et de ses créations. Quand j’ai l’impression d’avoir tout vu, je découvre une nouvelle pièce… Je me pose encore des questions sur ses intentions : par exemple, pourquoi mettait-elle souvent des gros diamants (de 1 carat et plus) dans un pavage de petites pierres ? Suzanne Belperron continue encore de me surprendre et de me fasciner.

 

Articles relatifs à ce sujet :

Le phénomène Suzanne Belperron

Où trouver un bijou Suzanne Belperron ?

René Boivin, un nom masculin-féminin

Articles les plus lus

Agent commercial, un intermédiaire d'avenir

En joaillerie, le rôle de l’agent commercial est de rendre accessible les plus prestigieuses boutiques indépendantes, les grands magasins et les sites...

Le poinçon en question

Le minuscule poinçon de maître, dont à-priori personne ne se soucie, risque d’être supprimé. C’est pourtant une catastrophe. En forme de losange...

Le marché du bijou en France, en 2018

Comme chaque année, Franceclat livre le panorama de la consommation hexagonale établi par la société Panel5. Comme dans toute l’Europe, en France, le...

Kazumi Arikawa offre 3 bijoux exceptionnels de sa collection au Met

En tant que sponsor principal de  l’exposition « The Body Transformed », Kazumi Arikawa président d’Albion Art a donné 3 bijoux européens de la...

Avec Mené, Roy Sebag réconcilie bijou et investissement

Le Canadien Roy Sebag a imaginé Mené, une marque de bijoux en or et platine purs. Car sur le long terme, ces métaux précieux sont, selon lui, les...

Ce qu’il faut savoir sur Tasaki

Tasaki est le joaillier japonais le plus célèbre de son pays. En plein développement international, il ouvre une boutique à Londres et une à Paris où...