See

25 March 2016

Adamantine colors

Exceptional, a 4.90-carat green heart-shaped diamond could break all records at the Sotheby’s auction on April 5th, in Hong Kong.

For ten years now, there has been an rampant craze for colored diamonds. Christie’s and Sotheby’s clock up the records with a 14.82-carat orange diamond for over 26 million dollars, the 59.60-carat “Pink Star” for $ 83 million and the “Blue Moon”, an extremely rare “fancy vivid” blue that reached 48.46 million dollars or 4 million dollars per carat. The record for a green diamond dates back to 2009 when one at 2.52 carats was auctioned for 3.07 million dollars (EUR 2.05 million). Astounding! “We are experiencing the same phenomenon for all beautiful stones, like the characteristic velvety blue sapphires from Kashmir or rubies ​​extracted from the legendary Mogok mine“, says one jeweler.

The boom for colored diamonds is due to an ever-increasing demand, particularly from emerging countries such as China, combined with an increasingly restricted offer. “Exceptional stones are becoming scarce because the mines are exhausted and do not discover any new ones“, says dealer, Matthew Tarin. The yellow ones are 10,000 times rarer than white. The pinks come from only one mine, the Argyle in Australia where we also find a few red diamonds, the rarest of them all. There are no more than thirty worldwide. Of these miracles of nature, one at 1.56 carats was sold for over 2 million, or 6 million dollars per gram.

Such jewelers as Graff, Harry Winston, Cartier or Tiffany & Co. have built their reputation on colored diamonds. The latter made one of the largest ever discovered, a yellow, its emblem. The jeweler cut it into a 128-carat cushion and mounted it onto a brooch, which is generally on display in its landmark New York store. Both Cartier and Harry Winston were owners of the priceless “Hope” diamond (45.42 carats), which reputedly adorned Louis XIV’s Order of the Golden Fleece pendant. Its mysterious origins resound with the legend that it would always bring bad luck to its owners.

Most popular articles

Gas and its Bohemian workshop

A visit to the Gas workshop, the beating heart of the brand’s “solar chic” style de the hills above Marseille. After a lunch with a chorus of cicadas, under...

1970s Piaget watches at Artcurial

This exceptional sale entitled “Time is Feminine” features fifteen vintage women’s watches signed Piaget.

“Precious Ballerinas” by Van Cleef & Arpels

The ballerinas at the heart of the new Van Cleef & Arpels exhibition were inspired in the 1940s by the paintings of Edgard Degas.

“Time is feminine” the french jewelry post editorial

It is with great pleasure that we present the editorial for this Artcurial catalogue, which pays tribute to the vintage watches gathered for this...

Couture jewelry at The Vintage Collector’s Fair

On December 1 and 2, fashion antiques dealer Catherine Lecomte is bringing together fifteen or so colleagues at the Bristol Hotel. “High-end vintage”...

“Tuaregs” at the Musée des Confluences

This exhibition highlights the jewelry of the nomadic tribes of the Sahara. Often dismissed as worthless trinkets by the public, they are in fact rich in...

25 mars 2016

Couleurs adamantines

Des diamants exceptionnels, dont un vert en forme de cœur de 4,90 carats, pourraient battre des records aux enchères de Sotheby’s le 5 avril prochain, à Hong Kong.

Depuis dix ans, on assiste à un engouement fou pour les diamants de couleur. Christie’s et Sotheby’s égrènent les records… Un diamant orange de 14,82 carats à plus de 26 millions d’euros. Le « Pink Star » de 59,60 carats pour 83 millions de dollars. Le « Blue Moon », d’un bleu « fancy vivid » extrêmement rare, a atteint 48,46 millions de dollars soit 4 millions de dollars le carat. Le record pour un diamant vert remonte à 2009 : 2,52 carats ont été adjugés pour 3,07 millions de dollars (2,05 millions d’euros). Étourdissant. « On assiste au même phénomène pour toutes les très belles pierres comme les saphirs du Cachemire d’un bleu velouté unique ou les rubis extraits de la mythique mine de Mogok », explique un joaillier.

Le boom des diamants de couleur s’explique par une demande toujours plus forte (venant surtout des pays émergents comme la Chine) combinée à une offre de plus en plus restreinte. « Les pierres d’exception se raréfient car les mines s’épuisent et on n’en découvre pas de nouvelles », explique le négociant Mathieu Tarin. Les jaunes seraient 10 000 fois plus rares que les blancs. Les roses ne viennent que d’une seule mine : celle d’Argyle en Australie où l’on trouva aussi quelques diamants rouges, les plus rares de tous. Il n’en répertorie pas plus de trente dans le monde. Parmi ces miracles de la nature, l’un de 1,56 carats a été vendu plus de 2 millions de dollars, soit 6 millions de dollars pour un gramme.

Des joailliers comme Graff, Harry Winston, Cartier ou encore Tiffany & Co. ont bâti leur réputation sur les diamants de couleur. Ce dernier a fait son emblème d’un des plus gros jaunes jamais découverts. Le joaillier l’a taillé en forme de coussin de 128 carats puis l’a monté en broche généralement exposée dans la boutique historique de New York. Cartier et Harry Winston ont notamment été propriétaires du « Hope » (45,42 carats) d’une valeur inestimable, qui a orné la toison d’or de Louis XIV. Ses origines mystérieuses font écho à sa légende selon laquelle il porterait malheur à ses propriétaires.

Articles les plus lus

Gas et son atelier-bohème

Chez Gas, visite de l’atelier situé sur les hauteurs de Marseille. Là, bat le cœur de la marque au style « chic solaire ». 

Les montres seventies Piaget chez Artcurial

Cette vente exceptionnelle baptisée « Le temps est féminin », met en lumière une quinzaine de montres de femme vintage signées Piaget.

« Précieuses Ballerines » de Van Cleef & Arpels

Les ballerines, au cœur de la nouvelle exposition Van Cleef & Arpels, ont été inspirées dans les années 1940 par les peintures d’Edgard Degas.

« Le temps est féminin », l’édito de the french jewelry post

C’est un plaisir de signer l’édito de ce catalogue Artcurial. Il rend hommage aux montres vintage réunies pour cette vente aux enchères...

Le bijou couture à The Vintage Collector’s Fair

Les 1er et 2 décembre prochains, l’antiquaire de mode Catherine Lecomte réunit une quinzaine de confrères au Bristol. Le vintage haut de gamme se...

« Touaregs » au musée des Confluences

Cette exposition met en lumière les bijoux de ces tribus nomades du Sahara. Parfois associés à des bijoux de pacotille dans l’imaginaire collectif, ils...