See

01 July 2016

Claude Lalanne at the Louisa Guinness Gallery

Until July 29th 2016 the Louisa Guinness Gallery in London is presenting the jewelry of the artist Claude Lalanne. A moment of pure poetry between original pieces and contemporary editions.

Louisa Guinness specializes in jewelry artists and met Claude Lalanne in 2002. She has chosen to exhibit pieces exclusively created by her, and yes it is customary to speak of the works of Lalanne – meaning Claude and François-Xavier, her husband – but for jewelry, she has always worked alone. True miniature sculptures that are influenced by Art Nouveau, nature and the plants and animals found in her garden at Fontainebleau. With disturbing realism, most are finished using an electroplating technique that copper-coats the leaves, holly berries and flower petals. Like her acquaintances Brancusi, Saint Laurent and Niki de Saint Phalle, she also borrows from Surrealism and is guided by plays on words, shapes and materials.

The exhibition presents 50 years of creation through reissues and contemporary pieces by this artist who, at age 92, continues to produce. “Her fingers still bear traces of torch burns”, says the gallery owner who often visits her in her studio workshop. All the jewelry is for sale with the exception of few personal pieces lent by Claude Lalanne, one of which is a jewel box in the form of a small cupboard. Do not expect to find the bust molded onto the model Verushka in 1969 for Yves Saint Laurent and exhibited at the Musée des Arts décoratifs in Paris in 2010, or the “Cabbage Leaf” bracelet that sold for 23,750 US dollars at Christie’s in New York in June 2012, when it was originally estimated to go at between 2,000 to 3,000 US dollars. For a good reason, as many pieces today belong to museums and private collectors.

For 30 years the work of Lalanne, who has always had such fervent admirers as the Rothschilds or Noailles, has been bolstered by the enthusiasm of the architect Peter Marino. And the current craze was also amplified by the incredible visibility she received during the Yves Saint Laurent-Bergé sale held at the Grand Palais in 2012. Claude Lalanne being the only living contemporary artist of this collection.

Most popular articles

“Tuaregs” at the Musée des Confluences

This exhibition highlights the jewelry of the nomadic tribes of the Sahara. Often dismissed as worthless trinkets by the public, they are in fact rich in...

Contemporary art in the “Medusa” exhibition

Around twenty works of contemporary art set the pace of the “Medusa”exhibition, helping to break the clichés linked to the jewel of the “too precious”, the...

Precious wood

Wood is not immediately associated with jewelry and yet … It allows contemporary creators to free themselves from the constraints of such traditional...

The Leopards Awards

Promoting history, the present and the future of British jewelry: this is the goal of the first Leopards Awards, to be launched on November 15th at a gala...

Avant-garde jewelry in the “Medusa” exhibition

A large part of the exhibition is dedicated to this type of jewelry, also known as “contemporary” jewelry and still relatively unknown in...

In bits

Contrary to popular thought, the more precious the materials with which a jewelry piece is made, the less likely it will come through time intact.

01 juillet 2016

Claude Lalanne chez Louisa Guinness

Jusqu’au 29 juillet 2016, la galerie Louisa Guinness à Londres, expose les bijoux de l’artiste Claude Lalanne. Un moment de pure poésie entre pièces originales, contemporaines et rééditions.

Louisa Guinness, spécialisée dans les bijoux d’artistes, a choisi d’exposer ceux de Claude Lalanne, rencontrée en 2002. On a coutume de parler des œuvres des Lalanne (sous-entendu Claude et François-Xavier, son mari), mais pour les bijoux, elle a œuvré seule. Véritables sculptures XXS, ils sont influencés par l’Art nouveau et la nature, végétale et animale de son jardin de Fontainebleau. D’un réalisme troublant, la plupart sont réalisés selon la technique de la galvanoplastie qui consiste à déposer du cuivre grâce à de l’électricité sur les feuilles, les boules de houx ou les pétales de fleur. Celle qui a connu Brancusi, Saint Laurent et Niki de Saint Phalle, emprunte aussi au surréalisme, guidée par le jeu de mots, des formes et des matières.

L’exposition présente 50 ans de création à travers des rééditions et des créations contemporaines car l’artiste, à 92 ans, continue de produire. « Ses doigts portent encore souvent des traces de brûlures de chalumeau », explique la galeriste habituée à fréquenter son atelier. Tous les bijoux sont à vendre à l’exception de quelques pièces intimes prêtées par Claude Lalanne dont ce coffret à bijoux figurant une petite armoire. N’espérez pas y admirer le buste moulé sur le mannequin Verushka en 1969 pour Yves Saint Laurent qui était à l’exposition du musée des Arts décoratifs (à Paris en 2010) ou le bracelet « Feuille de Chou » adjugé 23 750 U.S. dollars chez Christie’s à New York en juin 2012 alors qu’il avait été estimé 2 000 à 3 000 U.S. dollars : et pour cause, beaucoup de pièces appartiennent aujourd’hui à des musées ou des collectionneurs privés.

Depuis 30 ans, le travail des Lalanne, qui a toujours eu de fervents admirateurs comme les Rothschild ou les Noailles, est porté par l’enthousiasme de l’architecte Peter Marino. Et l’engouement actuel a également été amplifié par l’incroyable visibilité dont ils ont bénéficié lors de la vente Yves Saint Laurent-Bergé au Grand Palais, en 2012. Claude Lalanne était alors la seule artiste contemporaine et vivante de cette collection.

Articles les plus lus

Bois précieux

Le bois n’est pas spontanément associé au bijou et pourtant… Il permet aux créateurs contemporains de s’affranchir des matériaux traditionnels que...

Les Leopards Awards

Promouvoir l’histoire, le présent et le futur de la joaillerie anglaise : voici le but de ces premiers Leopards Awards, lancés le 15 novembre prochain...

Les bijoux d’avant-garde dans l’exposition « Medusa »

L’exposition laisse une large place à ce type de bijou qualifié également de « contemporain », encore très peu connu en France. Ci-contre :...

En pièces détachées

Contrairement aux idées reçues, plus les bijoux sont réalisés avec des matériaux précieux, moins ils ont de probabilités de traverser le temps.

René Lalique dans l’exposition « Medusa »

Habituellement visible dans la galerie des Bijoux du musée des Arts décoratifs, ce collier « Noisettes » du début des années 1920 est l’une des...

Exposition « Medusa. Bijoux et tabous », coup d'envoi

Je vous ai d’abord dévoilé l’installation de « Medusa » avec les points de vue d’Anne Dressen, commissaire, et de ses conseillers scientifiques...