L'invité

02 June 2016

Luxury in complete turmoil

Watches and jewelry are not spared by the crisis in the luxury sector. Erwan Rambourg, responsible for the sector for HSBC in Asia, gives us some perspectives on the future.

 

What is causing the luxury market downturn?

For twelve months, it’s mainly due to psychological causes, what the Anglo-Saxons call the “feel good” factor. In China, the collapse of 40% of the equity market in the space of a few weeks, developed doubts about the economic outlook. The political and geopolitical environments are also weighed down by the elections in Taiwan and Korea. In Europe, the Brexit and the elections in Austria, along with the strikes in France are all negative factors. The US election campaign is accompanied as always by a slow-down, but it’s more pronounced this time than usual. And in general, tourist flows are affected by the idea that the world has become a more dangerous place.

 

So, the luxury industry is entering a new era?

For years, the demand exceeded supply. Remember, the Swiss watch industry could not keep up in terms of production! There were therefore no questions to ask. Today the slogan has changed, it’s: retail excellence. In other words, the horizontal expansion strategy in terms of outlets gave way to a vertical strategy to better understand the expectations of customers who accumulate fewer products and seek out experiences. Brands segment their offer with multiple services and exclusive products for Very Very Important Customers. They seek to recruit the best sellers knowing that 10% of them generate 40% of the business. They also target communication. Some brands believe the customers and particularly the Chinese are not loyal, but in reality, some brands are too slow. They must adapt and reclaim the customer relationship.

 

What will be the role of e-commerce and social media?

Luxury is a late adopter, but it cannot avoid this turning point because there is a growing gap between them and the 20-30 year olds, especially Asians, who spend their lives on the mobile phone referring to chats, blogs and other forums. They can order a pair of Nike with their initials on them and in their favorite color, or receive a book from Amazon in 24 hours, but not a bag! Ultimately, the investment effort will be more about e-commerce. For example, Hermès announced that next year we should find virtually all of its products online. However, it will be much more complicated with partners such as Net-a-Porter, as there is a risk of losing control of the direct relationship with the customer and a dilution of the margin.

 

Where will the recovery come from?

The recovery will not come from Europe or Japan. It’s considered that in the next five to ten years, the American nationalities less complexed about luxury, and the Chinese should represent a strong growth potential. If we focus on China, we can say that it will get better and better for different reasons. The potential is huge because if Chinese customers account for 40% of the luxury industry, only 10% of business is done in their country. As the effects of anti-corruption laws fade, Chinese customers are buying more and more at home. At first they feared traveling to Europe and the big price differences between China and other countries, which have reduced: Richemont and Chanel initiated this standardization. The reduction of certain taxes, especially of import tax, by the government is reflected in the development of domestic duty-free areas like on the island of Hainan. And in addition, we expect the first purchases by the new middle class.

 

After years of euphoria, the awakening is brutal…

Some brands are like huge ocean liners difficult to maneuver and that are incapable of turning in two seconds. They often need time to react…

Most popular articles

Vhernier: Carlo Traglio and his aesthete’s jewelry

Carlo Traglio, owner of the Italian house, creates unique and powerful pieces that bear the imprint of his culture as a collector.

Delphine Nardin, impressions and sea glass

A trained archaeologist, the designer creates jewelry from elements bearing the imprint of time.

Didier Ludot and his bejeweled little black dresses at Sotheby's

The fashion antique dealer is selling off 140 little black dresses on October 3rd, 2017. For some of them, the word “bejeweled” is to put it mildly …

Betony Vernon, sexual anthropologist

The American artist explores the pleasure of the senses with jewels and erotic objects. Some are on show in the “Medusa” exhibition at the Museum of...

Monika Brugger: a key figure in contemporary jewelry

The German goldsmith/visual artist has lived in France for over thirty years, yet her conceptual work is little known there. The exhibition at the Mercier...

Jean Vendome, a pioneer of contemporary jewelry

How could we not pay tribute to this French jeweler who died just a short time ago? Although largely unknown to the general public, throughout a career...

L'invité

02 juin 2016

Le luxe en pleines turbulences

Horlogerie et joaillerie ne sont pas épargnées par la crise que traverse le secteur du luxe. Erwan Rambourg chargé de ce secteur pour HSBC en Asie, nous donne quelques perspectives d’avenir.

 

À quoi est dû le ralentissement du marché du luxe ?

Depuis douze mois, il est principalement dû à des causes psychologiques, ce que les Anglo-saxons appellent le feel good factor. En Chine, l’effondrement de 40% des marchés actions en l’espace de quelques semaines, a développé des doutes sur les perspectives économiques du pays. L’environnement politique et géopolitique pèse aussi avec les élections à Taïwan et en Corée. En Europe, le Brexit et les élections en Autriche, les grèves en France sont autant de facteurs négatifs. La campagne électorale américaine s’accompagne comme toujours d’un trou d’air, mais celui-ci est plus prononcé que d’habitude. Et globalement les flux touristiques sont perturbés par l’idée que le monde est devenu plus dangereux.

 

L’industrie du luxe entre ainsi dans une nouvelle ère ?

Pendant des années, la demande excédait l’offre. Rappelez-vous, l’industrie horlogère suisse n’arrivait pas à suivre en termes de production ! Il n’y avait donc pas de questions à se poser. Aujourd’hui le mot d’ordre a changé, il est : retail excellence. Autrement dit la stratégie horizontale d’expansion en termes de boutiques cède la place à une stratégie verticale consistant à mieux comprendre les attentes de la clientèle qui accumule moins de produits et recherche des expériences. Les marques segmentent l’offre avec de multiples services et produits exclusifs pour les Very Very Important Customers. Elles cherchent à recruter les meilleurs vendeurs sachant que 10% d’entre eux génèrent 40% du business. Il s’agit aussi de cibler la communication. Certaines marques estiment que la clientèle notamment chinoise n’est pas fidèle mais, en réalité, certaines d’entre elles sont trop lentes. Elles doivent s’adapter et se réapproprier la relation client.

 

Quel sera le rôle du e-commerce et des social medias ?

Le luxe est un late adopter, mais il ne pourra pas éviter ce tournant car il y a un décalage croissant avec sa clientèle de 20-30 ans, notamment asiatique, qui passe sa vie sur son mobile et se réfère aux chats, blogs et autres forums. On peut commander une paire de Nike à ses initiales et ses couleurs préférées ou recevoir un livre sur Amazon en 24h mais, pas un sac ! À terme, l’effort d’investissement sera davantage sur le e-commerce. Par exemple, Hermès annonce que d’ici un an, on devrait trouver pratiquement la totalité de ses produits en ligne. En revanche, ce sera beaucoup plus compliqué avec des partenaires comme Net-a-Porter car il y a alors un risque de perdre de contrôle de la relation directe avec le client et une dilution de la marge.

 

D’où viendra la reprise ?

La reprise ne viendra pas de l’Europe, ni du Japon. On considère que sur les cinq à dix ans à venir, les nationalités américaine moins complexée par rapport au luxe et chinoise devraient représenter un fort potentiel de croissance. Si l’on se focalise sur la Chine, on peut dire qu’elle va aller de mieux en mieux pour différentes raisons. Le potentiel est fort car si la clientèle chinoise représente 40% de l’industrie du luxe, seul 10% est fait dans ce pays. Les effets des lois anti-corruption s’estompent et la clientèle chinoise achète de plus en plus chez elle. D’abord elle craint les voyages en Europe et les forts écarts de prix entre la Chine et les autres pays se réduisent : Richemont et Chanel ont initié cette uniformisation. La baisse de certaines taxes notamment d’importation par le gouvernement fait écho au développement des zones de duty free domestique comme celui sur l’île de Hainan. Et en plus, on attend les premiers achats de la nouvelle classe moyenne.

 

Après des années d’euphorie, le réveil est donc brutal…

Certaines marques sont d’énormes paquebots difficiles à manœuvrer et incapables de prendre le tournant en deux secondes. Il leur faut souvent du temps pour réagir…

Articles les plus lus

Jean Vendome, un pionnier du bijou contemporain

Comment ne pas rendre hommage à ce joaillier français décédé il y a quelques jours ? Méconnu du grand public il a, en 50 ans de carrière, ouvert...

Carole Fraresso, archéo-métallurgiste

Commissaire scientifique de l’exposition « Inca – Or. Pouvoir. Dieu. », Carole Fraresso est également la créatrice des bijoux Motché, inspirés des...

Feng. J, joaillière du XXIe siècle

Après Shanghai, Feng J. est sur le point d’ouvrir un deuxième showroom à Paris pour présenter ses pièces de haute joaillerie. À à peine plus de 30...

« Medusa. Bijoux et tabous » - L'installation

Quelques jours avant l’ouverture de l’exposition « Medusa », j’ai rencontré la commissaire Anne Dressen et les deux conseillers scientifiques,...

Clémence, Lara, Émeraude et les Rolex à logo

Clémence Cahu s’est intéressée aux Rolex vintage en série limitée portant le logo d’une entreprise ou d’une armée. Voici les cinq modèles...

Mucha et les bijoux Art nouveau

Alfons Maria Mucha, connu pour ses affiches publicitaires et ses panneaux décoratifs, a aussi joué un rôle essentiel en joaillerie, notamment grâce à...