See

L'invité

04 July 2017

Carole Fraresso, archeo-metallurgist

Scientific curator of the “Incas – Gold. Power. God.” exhibition, Carole Fraresso also designs the “Motché” jewelry inspired by pre-Columbian ornamentation.

 

You are a doctor in archeo-metallurgy, what does this mean?

I do research using modern technology like the microscope to identify materials and techniques to reconstruct the way pieces were produced in pre-Columbian civilizations. In this way the jewelry speaks out, of impurity, a hammering technique, an alloy or a crystallographic structure that can reveal the geographical origin, the economic situation of a civilization, and so on. One can even go so far as to determine whether objects were made by the same hand.

 

What is the subject of this “Incas – Gold. Power. God.” exhibition at World Cultural Heritage Site Völklingen Ironworks?

It shows the history of pre-Columbian civilizations and their cultural development from the Incas to the Chimús through to the Mochicas. In Peru, metallurgical development was particularly important, as evidenced by the 220 objects spanning 5,000 years of history. Most of them come from the Larco Museum in Lima and also from the Jacobins Museum in Auch, France.

 

Despite its title, the exhibition presents very few Inca objects?

Indeed, there are only a few pieces like the smooth gold cuff, found in Machu Picchu. This pre-Columbian civilization, the best known (1300-1532 AD), did not work in gold: it took the skills and techniques of the Chimpanic goldsmiths (1100-1470 AD) from the north of Peru by transferring them to Cuzco. But it can be seen very clearly in this exhibition that the greatest virtuosos of pre-Columbian goldsmiths were the Mochicas (100-800 AD). Although largely unknown to the general public, they are the ones who set up a sophisticated metallurgical system. Their funerary masks, nose ornaments, earrings and diadems are extremely delicate and light.

 

What were their techniques?

The ornaments were made from sheets less than a millimeter thick at a time when, let us not forget, the craftsmen had neither rolling mill nor electricity. From the moment when the Mochicas introduced copper, inventions multiplied. Different types of alloys of copper and silver, copper and gold or bronze appeared, and the range of colors diversified. They innovated with welding and an electrochemical process similar to contemporary electrolysis to coat their objects with a very thin layer of gold. It was probably a question of overcoming a shortage of this precious metal, in particular linked to sharp increase in demand from the political powers.

 

This probably explains the disappointment of the Spanish conquistadores?

In the writings, it is found that they were indeed disappointed by the objects they melted down because the majority was made up of alloys. The gold turned out to be of low quality and low value … So when Francisco Pizarro and his men landed in Colombia in 1532, they had in mind the accounts of Christopher Columbus that described immeasurable wealth.

 

These are ceremonial and religious pieces …

The ornaments played a part in the theatricalisation of the religion; they conferred a divine character to the leaders who thus appropriated magical powers. Like the nose ornaments or the oval crown of two kilos surmounted by large rigid feathers seventy centimeters high, which are unwearable! In these societies without writing, the metal was never chosen at random: the gold associated with the sun was that of the gods, the silver associated with the moon suggested the underworld of the dead and ancestors. And the motifs of beings with fangs, snakes, victims sacrificed, spiders and owls, all have a mythological or symbolic meaning.

 

Do you have a privileged relationship with the sublime Larco Museum in Lima?

I met the Larco family who own it in 2001, through my thesis on archaeo-materials entitled, Adornment in the Rituals of the Mochica Culture. I was the first to have had access to their exceptional collection of identity, ceremonial and funerary adornments. While doing the online catalog, I touched them, weighed, measured and wore them, when possible. I know how they got into the collection. Today, I am an associate researcher and I work on the promotion of the museum and its collections. I also feel like I’m part of the family …

 

In 2010, you launched “Motché”, a jewelry collection inspired by pre-Columbian jewelry.

I’ve studied the finest collections of pre-Columbian jewelry in the world, “Motché” logically followed suite. The pieces are split into two lines: Creation and Exclusive. In the first, I take the purest lines and abstract patterns of the Chimús, for example. In the second, I reinterpret more developed and large pieces like those found in the Larco Museum. There are representations of classic figures like the lord of Ucupe, animals, anthropomorphic creatures, and so on. Thanks to “Motché” and my collaboration with the master-goldsmith Armando, I try above all to perpetuate the pre-Columbian know-how. He is now one of the few Peruvian craftsmen to master the gold-leaf technique that the Mochicas excelled in.

Most popular articles

Feng. J, jeweler of the 21st century

After Shanghai, Feng. J is about to open a second showroom in Paris to present her high jewelry pieces. At just over 30, this Chinese designer has...

“Medusa. Jewellery and Taboos” - The installation

A few days before the opening of the Medusa exhibition, Sandrine Merle met with the curator, Anne Dressen, and two scientific advisers, Benjamin Lignel and...

Clémence, Lara, Émeraude and Rolex with logos

Clémence Cahu is interested in vintage Rolex watches in limited series and bearing a company or an army logo. Here are the five models she selected...

Mucha's Art Nouveau jewelry

Alfons Maria Mucha, best known for his advertising posters and decorative designs, also played an essential role in jewelry, notably thanks to his...

Viren Bhagat, a Bombay jeweler

In Bombay, I met with the only contemporary Indian jeweler represented in the exceptional Al Thani collection presented at the Grand Palais.

Krishna Choudhary, jeweler of Jaipur

In his showroom set up in an 18th century haveli, the jeweler Krishna Choudhary comments on some portraits of Indian princes and discusses their passion for...

L'invité

04 juillet 2017

Carole Fraresso, archéo-métallurgiste

Commissaire scientifique de l’exposition « Inca – Or. Pouvoir. Dieu. », Carole Fraresso est également la créatrice des bijoux Motché, inspirés des parures précolombiennes.

 

Vous êtes docteure en archéo-métallurgie, c’est-à-dire… ?

Je mène des enquêtes avec des outils modernes comme le microscope pour caractériser les matériaux, les techniques, reconstituer des chaînes de fabrication dans les sociétés précolombiennes. Ce qui m’a permis de faire parler les parures : une impureté, un martelage, un alliage ou une structure cristallographique peut révéler la provenance géographique, la situation économique d’une civilisation, etc. On peut même aller jusqu’à déterminer si des objets ont été faits par la même main.

 

Quel est le sujet de cette exposition « Inca – Or. Pouvoir. Dieu. » installée dans le Patrimoine Culturel Mondial Völklinger Hütte ?

Elle montre l’histoire des civilisations précolombiennes et leur développement culturel, des Incas aux Chimús en passant par les Mochicas. Au Pérou, le développement métallurgique a été particulièrement important comme en témoignent les 220 objets couvrant 5 000 ans d’histoire. La plupart proviennent du musée Larco à Lima et du musée des Jacobins d’Auch en France.

 

Malgré son titre, l’exposition présente peu d’objets incas ?

En effet, on compte seulement quelques pièces comme la manchette en or lisse, retrouvée au Machu Picchu. Cette civilisation précolombienne, la plus connue (1300-1532 après J.-C.), ne travaille pas l’or : elle récupère les savoir-faire d’orfèvres chimús (1100-1470 après J.-C.) du nord du Pérou en les transférant à Cuzco. Mais on le voit très bien dans cette exposition, les plus grands virtuoses de l’orfèvrerie précolombienne sont les Mochicas (100-800 après J.-C.). Méconnus du grand public, ce sont pourtant eux qui instaurent un système métallurgique sophistiqué. Leurs masques funéraires, ornements de nez, boucles d’oreilles et diadèmes sont d’une délicatesse et d’une légèreté extrêmes.

 

Quelles sont leurs techniques ?

Les parures sont réalisées dans des feuilles de moins d’un millimètre d’épaisseur, à une époque où, ne l’oublions pas, les artisans ne disposent ni de laminoir, ni d’électricité. À partir du moment où les Mochicas introduisent le cuivre, les inventions se multiplient. Différents types d’alliages de cuivre et d’argent, de cuivre et d’or ou encore de bronze apparaissent, la gamme de couleurs se diversifie. Ils innovent avec la soudure et un procédé électrochimique similaire à l’électrolyse contemporaine destiné à recouvrir leurs objets d’une très fine couche d’or. Il s’agissait alors probablement de pallier une pénurie de ce métal précieux notamment liée à une forte augmentation de la demande des pouvoirs politiques.

 

Ce qui explique la déception des conquistadores espagnols ?

Dans les écrits, on constate qu’ils sont en effet déçus par les objets qu’ils fondent car la majorité est composée d’alliages. L’or s’avère de basse qualité et de faible titre… Or, quand Francisco Pizarro et ses hommes débarquent en Colombie en 1532, ils ont en tête les récits de Christophe Colomb décrivant d’incommensurables richesses.

 

Ce sont des pièces cérémonielles, religieuses…

Les parures participent à la théâtralisation de la religion, elles confèrent un caractère divin aux dirigeants qui s’approprient ainsi des pouvoirs magiques. Comme les ornements de nez ou cette couronne ovale de deux kilos, surmontée de grandes plumes rigides atteignant soixante-dix centimètres de haut, qui sont importables ! Dans ces sociétés sans écriture, le métal n’est jamais choisi au hasard : l’or associé au soleil est celui des dieux, l’argent associé à la lune suggère le monde souterrain des morts et des ancêtres. Et les motifs, êtres à crocs, serpent, victime sacrifiée, araignée et autre hibou, ont tous une signification mythologique ou symbolique.

 

Vous avez une relation privilégiée avec le sublime musée Larco à Lima ?

J’ai rencontré la famille Larco qui en est propriétaire, en 2001, à l’occasion de ma thèse en archéomatériaux intitulée « La parure dans les rituels de la culture Mochica ». Je suis la première à avoir eu accès à leur collection exceptionnelle de parures identitaires, cérémonielles, funéraires. En réalisant le catalogue en ligne, je les ai touchées, pesées, mesurées et portées, quand c’était possible. Je connais la façon dont elles sont arrivées dans la collection. Aujourd’hui, je suis chercheur associé et je travaille sur la promotion du musée et des collections. J’ai l’impression de faire un peu partie de la famille…

 

En 2010, vous avez lancé Motché, une collection de bijoux inspirée par les parures précolombiennes.

J’ai étudié les plus belles collections de parures précolombiennes dans le monde entier, Motché est la suite logique. Les pièces sont scindées en deux thèmes : Création et Exclusive. Dans la première, je reprends les lignes les plus épurées et les motifs abstraits chimús, par exemple. Dans la seconde, je réinterprète des pièces plus travaillées et volumineuses comme celles du musée Larco. S’y côtoient des représentations de personnages emblématiques comme le seigneur d’Ucupe, d’animaux, de créatures anthropomorphes, etc. Grâce à Motché et à ma collaboration avec le maître-orfèvre Armando, j’essaie surtout de perpétuer les savoir-faire précolombiens. Il est aujourd’hui l’un des rares artisans péruviens à maîtriser la technique de la feuille d’or dans laquelle excellaient les Mochicas.

Articles les plus lus

Jean Vendome, un pionnier du bijou contemporain

Comment ne pas rendre hommage à ce joaillier français décédé il y a quelques jours ? Méconnu du grand public il a, en 50 ans de carrière, ouvert...

Feng. J, joaillière du XXIe siècle

Après Shanghai, Feng J. est sur le point d’ouvrir un deuxième showroom à Paris pour présenter ses pièces de haute joaillerie. À à peine plus de 30...

« Medusa. Bijoux et tabous » - L'installation

Quelques jours avant l’ouverture de l’exposition « Medusa », j’ai rencontré la commissaire Anne Dressen et les deux conseillers scientifiques,...

Clémence, Lara, Émeraude et les Rolex à logo

Clémence Cahu s’est intéressée aux Rolex vintage en série limitée portant le logo d’une entreprise ou d’une armée. Voici les cinq modèles...

Mucha et les bijoux Art nouveau

Alfons Maria Mucha, connu pour ses affiches publicitaires et ses panneaux décoratifs, a aussi joué un rôle essentiel en joaillerie, notamment grâce à...

Viren Bhagat, joaillier de Bombay

À Bombay, j’ai rencontré le seul joaillier contemporain indien figurant dans l’exceptionnelle collection Al Thani, présentée au Grand Palais.