09 December 2016

DA or not DA?

Aurélie Bidermann, has just been appointed artistic director of Poiray’s. This announcement further confirms this phenomenon coming from fashion.

 


Once when this job didn’t exist …

It’s difficult to imagine but until the 1990s, jewelers had no in-house creators, they gathered up designs from nameless designers working in their workshops. Then Mr. Arpels, Mr. Boucheron or Mr. Chaumet would modify them, changing a stone or a proportion here and there. When the big international groups like LVMH, Richemont and the Gucci Group bought up these houses, they integrated creative departments much like fashion has. In 1999 to launch the jewelry department of Christian Dior, LVMH went so far as applying an already tried and tested formula: to highlight the brand’s star designer and leading figure, Victoire de Castellane.

 

The big names in jewelry

Since then, experiments have multiplied. Louis Vuitton launched its jewelry under the leadership of Marc Jacobs, before naming Lorenz Bäumer, who up and left after only a few collections. Lucia Silvestri today designs the collections of Bulgari, and Pierre Hardy those of Hermès, in addition to the shoes. At Boucheron, Claire Choisne followed Solange Azagury-Partridge who finally chose to focus on her own brand in London.

 

And their role?

The artistic director has a tough challenge: to reconcile opposites, by following the tradition of the house, respecting its DNA and its story while responding to its demands for something new and of the moment. Just like in fashion, the artistic director must come up with collections at a great rate, somewhat along the lines of coming up with the “it” bag. In professional jargon, it is called a “bread and butter” line. Depending on the house, the artistic director may also embody the brand for press coverage in say, India or Sri Lanka to promote the exceptional stones the house has chosen, to meet customers and then in the evenings, to feature alongside the trendy and fashionable to occupy a spot on the social network. Although it’s sometimes less idyllic than one could imagine …

 

Jewelry that works

Some artistic directors have hit upon it. Castellane’s victory with her “Mimioui “has created quite a phenomenon, with its fine chain adorned with a micro-diamond that has become the neo engagement-ring, and also with her wedding ring representing a stem rose. At Boucheron, Solange Azagury-Partridge came up with the “Quatre” ring, composed of four rings in different colors of textured gold. Its success has been such that many attest to having been present in her office at the time of its conception. The latest success hit is Francesca Amfitheatrof’s collection for Tiffany & Co. where she’s put together a “T” design that’s rolled out in an infinite number of variations.

 

To each its own formula

For sometime now, Boucheron has been in two minds whether to showcase Claire Choisne or not. Chanel, Cartier and Van Cleef & Arpels have always claimed that they’ve a team of in house designers. For Nicolas Bos, president and creative director of Van Cleef & Arpels, “a jewelry piece is not created by a single person, it requires a process and the vast knowledge and experience of the technical department to purchase the stones, of the lapidaries, engravers and of the setters who all work together under the leadership of a workshop manager.” For the moment, jewelry has avoided the excessive and hysterical artistic-director personalities who tend to eclipse the house: the likes of a John Galliano, a Karl Lagerfeld or a Riccardo Tisci. This sheltered world centered on a jewelry piece as an investment that’s made available at an astronomical price seems a tad more reasonable than fashion’s.

Most popular articles

GemGenève: a recipe for success

If ever you dreamed of a first-rate jewelry fair with a friendly, even family atmosphere on a human scale, GemGenève is the one.

Sotheby’s historical records in Geneva

Sotheby’s latest auctions shone a spotlight on the Farnese. Sold for $6.7 million, this historic diamond of over 6 carats is one of the exceptional pieces...

Australia, the new Eldorado

Australia – a country that seems very distant to us, with one of the sparsest populations in the world – is a positive Eldorado for jewelers.

Martin Margiela's jewelry

The Palais Galliera and the Musée des Arts Décoratifs are both organizing exhibitions devoted to Martin Margiela: one on his company, the other on his...

Chaumet exhibits its jewelry drawings

The French jeweler unveils some remarkable jewelry drawings that are also gems of art.   At the 27th salon du Dessin, Chaumet is unveiling 38 drawings of...

« Diane Venet's ideal collection » at the Musée des Arts Décoratifs

From Picasso’s jewels to those of Ai Weiwei, this exhibition featuring Diane Venet’s personal collection, enriched with exceptional loans, shines a...

09 décembre 2016

DA ou pas DA ?

Aurélie Bidermann, vient d’être nommée directrice artistique de la maison Poiray. Cette annonce confirme un phénomène venu de la mode.

 

Quand ce métier n’existait pas…

On a du mal à l’imaginer, jusque dans les années 1990, les joailliers n’avaient pas de créateur en interne : ils collectaient des esquisses auprès de dessinateurs anonymes travaillant dans leurs ateliers de fabrication. Puis M. Arpels, M. Boucheron ou M. Chaumet les annotait, modifiait une pierre ou une proportion. Quand les groupes internationaux (LVMH, Richemont, Gucci Group) ont racheté ces maisons, ils ont intégré la création comme dans les maisons de mode. En 1999, LVMH pour lancer le département joaillerie de Christian Dior est allé jusqu’à appliquer une recette déjà éprouvée : mettre en avant un créateur-star, une figure de proue de la marque avec Victoire de Castellane.

 

Les grands noms de la joaillerie

Depuis, les expériences se sont multipliées. Louis Vuitton a lancé sa joaillerie sous la houlette de Marc Jacobs avant de nommer Lorenz Bäumer, qui s’en est allé après quelques collections. Lucia Silvestri dessine aujourd’hui les collections de Bulgari et Pierre Hardy celles d’Hermès, en plus des souliers. Chez Boucheron, Solange Azagury-Partridge qui a finalement préféré se concentrer sur sa marque à Londres, a été suivie de Claire Choisne.

 

Quel est son rôle ?

Le directeur artistique a un défi difficile à relever : concilier les contraires, s’inscrire dans la tradition de la maison, respecter son ADN et son histoire tout en répondant au souci de nouveauté et de modernité. Comme dans la mode, le directeur artistique doit créer des collections à un rythme accéléré, trouver l’équivalent d’un it bag. Dans le jargon professionnel, on appelle ça le « bread and butter ». Selon les maisons, le directeur artistique peut aussi incarner la marque pour des reportages en Inde ou au Sri Lanka pour promouvoir les pierres exceptionnelles de la maison, rencontrer les clients et dans les soirées, poser aux côtés des people pour occuper les réseaux sociaux. Parfois moins idyllique qu’on ne pourrait l’imaginer…

 

Le bijou qui marche

Certains directeurs artistiques l’ont trouvé. Victoire de Castellane a provoqué de véritables phénomènes avec sa « Mimioui », une fine chaîne ornée d’un micro-diamant devenue la néo-bague d’engagement ou son alliance figurant une tige de rose. Chez Boucheron, Solange Azagury-Partridge a imaginé la bague « Quatre », composée de quatre anneaux de différentes couleurs d’or texturé. Le succès est tel que beaucoup aiment affirmer avoir assisté à sa naissance en direct, dans son bureau. Dernier succès en date : la collection de Francesca Amfitheatrof chez Tiffany & Co., formant un T qui se décline à l’infini.

 

À chacun sa formule

Boucheron a longtemps oscillé entre mettre en avant Claire Choisne ou pas. Chanel, Cartier et Van Cleef & Arpels ont toujours revendiqué l’équipe de dessinateurs in house. Car pour Nicolas Bos, président de Van Cleef & Arpels et directeur de la création, « un bijou n’est pas créé par une seule personne : il fait appel à un processus, à divers savoir-faire détenus par l’acheteur de pierres, le lapidaire, le graveur et encore le sertisseur travaillant ensemble sous la direction d’un chef d’atelier ». Pour l’instant, la joaillerie a évité le directeur artistique excessif et hystérique tendant à éclipser la maison comme un John Galliano, un Karl Lagerfeld ou un Riccardo Tisci. Ce monde feutré et centré autour d’un bijou-investissement aux prix astronomiques, semble plus raisonnable que la mode.

Articles les plus lus

Artcurial, masterpieces de la vente joaillerie à Monaco

La vente Artcurial qui aura lieu à l’hôtel Hermitage de Monaco, les 18 et 19 juillet prochain, propose des bijoux exceptionnels. Voici les textes que j’ai...

GemGenève, les raisons d’un succès

Si vous rêviez d’un salon joaillier de qualité, convivial presque familial et à taille humaine… GemGenève l’a fait.

Les records historiques de Sotheby’s à Genève

Les dernières enchères de Sotheby’s ont mis en lumière le Farnese. Adjugé $6,7 millions, ce diamant historique de plus de 6 carats s’inscrit dans la...

L'Australie, un nouvel eldorado

L’Australie, ce pays qui nous semble très lointain et dont la densité de population est l’une des plus faibles du globe, suscite l’engouement chez les...

Les bijoux chez Martin Margiela

Le Palais Galliera et le Musée des Arts Décoratifs organisent chacun une exposition consacrée à Martin Margiela : l’une sur sa maison, l’autre sur...

Chaumet expose ses dessins de bijoux

Chaumet dévoile des dessins de bijoux exceptionnels qui s’apparentent à des œuvres d’art.