See

L'invité

13 April 2016

Selim Mouzannar, modernity of the East

Born into a family in Beirut originally from Damascus, Selim Mouzannar offers jewelry full of history that is easy to wear.


How did you begin creating jewelry?

It’s a long story. My great-grandfather was a jeweler, my grandfather was too, as were his five sons. My family is originally from the jewelers’ souk in Beirut set up where the Ottoman stables once were. Unfortunately, it is now destroyed. As for me, I didn’t want to continue the tradition, I wanted to become a journalist…

 

The jewelers’ souk is a magical place.

From the age of 9, I spent the whole day in my father’s workshop with its smell of incense supposed to drive away evil spirits and keep the thieves away. I watched and listened to the customers in Beirut in the 70s, who came from Europe, America and Africa. I settled in next to the founders who pumped their bellows into the flames. I ran the jewelry to the engravers’ and setters’ workshops. I knew these souk jewelers like the palm of my hand.

 

You know all facets of the business, where did you learn that?

With the Lebanese jeweler Mouawad, in Saudi Arabia, where I was responsible for the stock, laboratory and production. I saw as many stones in one day as I see today in a year. I traversed the Middle Eastern palace with trays full of jewels that princesses bought on a whim at any time of the day or night. I also ran a jewelry workshop in Bangkok. Then, I spent several months in the open-pits mining for rubies in Burma. Then, I finally decided to launch my own brand in the 1990s.

 

You have a genuine passion for stones.

I remember an unheated Burmese ruby of 15 carats and a 100-carats sapphire… I like all stones, but I have a preference for those called “fine” like alexandrite, zultanite and the apatite at the center of the Hydra collection and morganite. At night, when I was in Saudi Arabia, I spent hours looking into the microscope voyaging through emeralds, sapphires and Burmese rubies… I observed their crystallization and inclusions such as the butterfly wings in sapphires. I like the scientific side of this extraordinary world made up of colors and light. One of my favorite places is the MIM in Beirut, a truly unique museum in the world that presents exceptional specimens.

 

How would you define your style?

The essence of my style is concentrated my first collection Beirut, launched in 2005. Emblematic, the structures use the arcades of old buildings on which the stones are set. Subtly, light passes through the perforated patterns. I prefer soft pastel colors like sapphire blue or the powder pink of morganite. I like mixing the colors of gold and brilliant, 8/8 or pink cuts that softly refract the light. The stones don’t sparkle too much. This Beirut collection, like the one I named Kastak, is inspired by watch chains and evokes the souk of my childhood and Ottoman jewelry. Trends are never my priority.

Most popular articles

Vhernier: Carlo Traglio and his aesthete’s jewelry

Carlo Traglio, owner of the Italian house, creates unique and powerful pieces that bear the imprint of his culture as a collector.

Delphine Nardin, impressions and sea glass

A trained archaeologist, the designer creates jewelry from elements bearing the imprint of time.

Didier Ludot and his bejeweled little black dresses at Sotheby's

The fashion antique dealer is selling off 140 little black dresses on October 3rd, 2017. For some of them, the word “bejeweled” is to put it mildly …

Betony Vernon, sexual anthropologist

The American artist explores the pleasure of the senses with jewels and erotic objects. Some are on show in the “Medusa” exhibition at the Museum of...

Monika Brugger: a key figure in contemporary jewelry

The German goldsmith/visual artist has lived in France for over thirty years, yet her conceptual work is little known there. The exhibition at the Mercier...

Jean Vendome, a pioneer of contemporary jewelry

How could we not pay tribute to this French jeweler who died just a short time ago? Although largely unknown to the general public, throughout a career...

L'invité

13 avril 2016

Selim Mouzannar, la modernité de l’Orient

Né dans une famille beyrouthine originaire de Damas, Selim Mouzannar propose des bijoux empreints de son histoire et faciles à porter.

 

Comment en es-tu venu à créer des bijoux ?

C’est une longue histoire. Mon arrière-grand-père était bijoutier, mon grand-père l’était aussi, tout comme ses cinq garçons. Ma famille est à l’origine du souk des bijoutiers de Beyrouth, installé à la place des écuries ottomanes. Malheureusement il est aujourd’hui détruit. Quant à moi, je ne voulais pas perpétuer la tradition, je voulais devenir journaliste…

 

Le souk des bijoutiers est un lieu magique.

Dès l’âge de 9 ans, je passais des journées entières dans la boutique de mon père où planait une odeur d’encens, censé chasser les mauvais esprits et éloigner les voleurs. Je regardais et j’écoutais les clients qui, à Beyrouth, dans les années 70, venaient d’Europe, d’Amérique, d’Afrique. Je m’installais à côté du fondeur qui activait son soufflet à manivelle au-dessus des flammes. Je courais porter des bijoux dans les ateliers des graveurs et des sertisseurs. Je connaissais ce souk des bijoutiers comme ma poche.

 

Tu connais toutes les facettes du métier, où les as-tu appris ?

Chez le joaillier libanais Mouawad, en Arabie Saoudite, où j’étais responsable du stock, du laboratoire et de la production. Je voyais autant de pierres en un jour que j’en vois, aujourd’hui, en un an. Je parcourais les palais moyen-orientaux avec des plateaux remplis de joyaux que les princesses achetaient en un clin d’œil, à toute heure du jour et de la nuit. J’ai aussi monté un atelier de joaillerie à Bangkok. Puis j’ai passé plusieurs mois dans les mines à ciel ouvert de rubis, en Birmanie. J’ai finalement décidé de lancer ma marque à partir des années 90.

 

Tu voues une véritable passion aux pierres.

Je me souviens d’un rubis birman non chauffé de 15 carats ou d’un saphir de 100 carats… J’aime toutes les pierres, mais j’ai une prédilection pour celles que l’on nomme fines : l’alexandrite, la zultanite, l’apatite au centre de la collection Hydra, la morganite. Le soir, quand j’étais en Arabie Saoudite, je me penchais sur le microscope et je naviguais pendant des heures, dans les émeraudes, les saphirs, les rubis birmans… J’observais alors la cristallisation, les inclusions comme les ailes de papillon du saphir. J’aime la facette scientifique de ce monde extraordinaire, fait de couleur et de lumière. L’un de mes endroits préférés est le MIM, à Beyrouth, un musée unique dans le monde où sont présentés des spécimens exceptionnels.

 

Comment définis-tu ton style ?

Mon style est concentré dans ma première collection Beirut, lancée en 2005. Emblématique, la monture reprend les arcades des bâtiments anciens sur lesquelles sont serties les pierres. La lumière passe subtilement à travers les motifs ajourés. Je privilégie les couleurs douces comme le saphir bleu pastel ou la morganite rose poudré. J’aime mélanger les couleurs d’or, les tailles brillant, 8/8 ou rose cut qui réfracte la lumière en douceur. Les pierres ne brillent pas trop. Cette collection Beirut, comme celle que j’ai nommée Kastak, inspirée par les chaînes de montre évoquent le souk de mon enfance, les bijoux ottomans. Les tendances ne sont jamais ma priorité.

Articles les plus lus

Vhernier : Carlo Traglio et ses bijoux d’esthète

Carlo Traglio, propriétaire de la maison italienne, crée des pièces singulières et puissantes, empreintes de sa culture de collectionneur.

Delphine Nardin, empreintes et verre dépoli

Archéologue de formation, la créatrice imagine des bijoux à partir d’éléments portant l’empreinte du temps.

Didier Ludot et ses petites robes noires-bijoux chez Sotheby’s Paris

L’antiquaire de la mode met en vente 140 petites robes noires, le 3 octobre 2017. Pour certaines d’entre elles, le mot « bijou » s’impose...

Betony Vernon, anthropologue sexuelle

L’artiste américaine explore le plaisir des sens grâce à des bijoux et des objets érotiques. Certains sont visibles dans l’exposition...

Monika Brugger, figure du bijou contemporain

L’orfèvre/plasticienne allemande vit depuis plus de trente ans en France, pourtant son travail conceptuel y est peu connu. L’exposition à la galerie...

Jean Vendome, un pionnier du bijou contemporain

Comment ne pas rendre hommage à ce joaillier français décédé il y a quelques jours ? Méconnu du grand public il a, en 50 ans de carrière, ouvert...