17 January 2017

5 years of the École des Arts Joailliers

Here are some key figures of the success of this school, still unique of its kind today.

 

5 years. Originally, the École des Arts Joailliers was called the Van Cleef & Arpels School because the eponymous house opened it to initiate the general public to jewelry and watchmaking. This change of name has allowed it to distance itself from its famous patron and establish its own legitimacy.

 

20 subjects covered in dozens of courses. From the art of enameling to diamonds, to the tastes of Marie Antoinette, Art Nouveau, gemology, watchmaking and jewelry, each subject revealed and explained, and experienced through practical workshops. This year begins with two new themes, the gouache and the engagement ring (a highly strategic piece for the jewelry business), the former seen through its place in art history, the latter through its know-how and gemology. To be followed with love.

 

30 instructors. Counting gemologists, researchers, watchmakers, lacquerers, gouache painters and historians, along with the very welcoming and passionate Gislain Aucremanne and Inezita Gay, both of whom feature in most of the films made by the School.

 

16,000 students from 35 countries. “The number of students has increased as much over the last 12 months as had in the School’s first 4 years,” proudly states the President, Marie Vallanet. On the other hand, it is impossible to define a typical profile; they are customers, jewelry professionals, enthusiasts, and so on. The youngest is 16 years old and the oldest is 85. Not to mention children who, from 5 years old, can attend workshops specially created for them.

 

5 destinations. Several times a year, the School becomes nomadic and transports instructors, workbenches, gems and tools abroad. After New York, Hong Kong and Tokyo, in 2017 it will set up shop for a few weeks in Dubai from November 7th to 25th 2017, and then move on to London.

 

200 euros the course. The School has revised its prices very advantageously; aware that the original price of 600 euros the course was too high to allow access to a wide number of people.

 

3 books and 2 exhibitions. Based on the collection in the Jewelry Gallery of Paris’s Museum of Decorative Arts, the first was released at the end of 2016 and is devoted to flora, while the remaining two to appear soon, focus on fauna and the human figure. The School is also the patron of the exhibition on decorative arts in the 20th century at Paris’s Museum of Modern Art, starting March 22nd 2017, and it will give a lecture at the Poldi Pezzoli Museum on the occasion of the exhibition on Italian jewelry of the 20th century, currently on show until March 20th 2017.

 

1 research paper on Jean-Baptiste Tavernier. Apart from his writings, there is little information on this major figure in the history of the diamond. Marie Vallanet, who personally admires this forefather of all traders in precious stones, puts it to rights: the School is financing this research done at the University of Rennes II and has had two sets of replicas made of the 20 most beautiful diamonds he brought back for Louis XIV. One set will serve as a support for courses; the other will be exhibited at the Mineralogy Gallery at the Museum of Natural History in Paris.

 

January 23rd. The School inaugurates a new addition to its activities with an exhibition of contemporary jewelry. The first guest is Harumi Klossowska de Rola whose works will be on show from January 23rd 2017.

Most popular articles

“Tuaregs” at the Musée des Confluences

This exhibition highlights the jewelry of the nomadic tribes of the Sahara. Often dismissed as worthless trinkets by the public, they are in fact rich in...

Contemporary art in the “Medusa” exhibition

Around twenty works of contemporary art set the pace of the “Medusa”exhibition, helping to break the clichés linked to the jewel of the “too precious”, the...

Precious wood

Wood is not immediately associated with jewelry and yet … It allows contemporary creators to free themselves from the constraints of such traditional...

The Leopards Awards

Promoting history, the present and the future of British jewelry: this is the goal of the first Leopards Awards, to be launched on November 15th at a gala...

Avant-garde jewelry in the “Medusa” exhibition

A large part of the exhibition is dedicated to this type of jewelry, also known as “contemporary” jewelry and still relatively unknown in...

In bits

Contrary to popular thought, the more precious the materials with which a jewelry piece is made, the less likely it will come through time intact.

17 janvier 2017

Les 5 ans de l’École des Arts Joailliers

Voici quelques chiffres emblématiques du succès de cette école, encore unique en son genre.

 

5 ans. À l’origine, l’École des Arts Joailliers s’appelait l’École Van Cleef & Arpels car elle a été ouverte par la maison éponyme pour initier le grand public à la joaillerie et à l’horlogerie. Ce changement de nom lui permet de prendre de la distance avec son célèbre mécène et de trouver sa propre légitimité.

 

20 thèmes traités dans des dizaines de cours. De l’art de l’émail au diamant en passant par les goûts de Marie-Antoinette, l’Art nouveau ou encore la gemmologie, horlogerie et joaillerie sont décryptées, expliquées et vécues grâce à des ateliers pratiques. Cette année débute avec deux nouveaux thèmes, le gouaché et la bague de fiançailles (bijou hautement stratégique dans le business des joailliers) vue par le prisme de l’histoire de l’art, des savoir-faire et de la gemmologie. À suivre en amoureux.

 

30 professeurs. Ils sont gemmologues, chercheurs, horlogers, laqueurs ou encore gouacheurs et historiens comme les très sympathiques et passionnants, Gislain Aucremanne et Inezita Gay que l’on retrouve dans la plupart des films réalisés par l’École.

 

16 000 élèves venus de 35 pays. « Le nombre d’élèves a autant augmenté au cours de ces 12 derniers mois que pendant les 4 premières années », se félicite la présidente Marie Vallanet. En revanche, impossible de définir un profil type : ils sont clients, professionnels de la joaillerie, amateurs, etc. Le plus jeune a 16 ans et le plus âgé, 85. Sans parler des enfants qui, à partir de 5 ans, peuvent suivre des ateliers spécialement conçus pour eux.

 

5 destinations. Plusieurs fois par an, l’École devient nomade et transporte professeurs, établis, pierres précieuses et outils à l’étranger. Après New York, Hong Kong et Tokyo, en 2017 elle s’installera pour quelques semaines à Dubaï (du 7 au 25 novembre 2017), puis à Londres.

 

200 euros le cours. L’École a revu ses tarifs très à la baisse, consciente que le prix originel du cours, 600 euros, était trop élevé pour permettre l’accès au plus grand nombre.

 

3 livres et 2 expositions. Basés sur la collection de la galerie des Bijoux du musée des Arts décoratifs, le premier sorti fin 2016 est consacré à La Flore tandis que les deux à venir se concentrent sur La Faune et La Figure humaine. L’École est également mécène de l’exposition sur les arts décoratifs au XXe siècle au musée d’Art moderne (à partir du 22 mars 2017) et donnera une conférence au musée Poldi Pezzoli à l’occasion de l’exposition sur le bijou italien au XXe siècle (jusqu’au 20 mars 2017).

 

1 thèse pour tout savoir sur Jean-Baptiste Tavernier. Hormis ses écrits, il existe peu d’informations sur cet acteur majeur de l’histoire du diamant. Marie Vallanet, qui personnellement voue une grande admiration à celui que l’on considère comme l’ancêtre des négociants en pierres précieuses, remédie à ce manque : l’École finance une thèse réalisée à l’université de Rennes II et fait tailler deux jeux de répliques des 20 plus beaux diamants qu’il rapporta à Louis XIV. L’un servira de support aux cours, l’autre sera exposé à la galerie de Minéralogie du Muséum d’Histoire naturelle.

 

23 janvier. L’École inaugure un nouveau pan de son activité avec l’exposition de bijoux contemporains. Première invitée : Harumi Klossowska de Rola dont on pourra découvrir les œuvres à partir du 23 janvier 2017.

Articles les plus lus

Bois précieux

Le bois n’est pas spontanément associé au bijou et pourtant… Il permet aux créateurs contemporains de s’affranchir des matériaux traditionnels que...

Les Leopards Awards

Promouvoir l’histoire, le présent et le futur de la joaillerie anglaise : voici le but de ces premiers Leopards Awards, lancés le 15 novembre prochain...

Les bijoux d’avant-garde dans l’exposition « Medusa »

L’exposition laisse une large place à ce type de bijou qualifié également de « contemporain », encore très peu connu en France. Ci-contre :...

En pièces détachées

Contrairement aux idées reçues, plus les bijoux sont réalisés avec des matériaux précieux, moins ils ont de probabilités de traverser le temps.

René Lalique dans l’exposition « Medusa »

Habituellement visible dans la galerie des Bijoux du musée des Arts décoratifs, ce collier « Noisettes » du début des années 1920 est l’une des...

Exposition « Medusa. Bijoux et tabous », coup d'envoi

Je vous ai d’abord dévoilé l’installation de « Medusa » avec les points de vue d’Anne Dressen, commissaire, et de ses conseillers scientifiques...