Itinéraires joailliers

09 May 2017

Charlemagne’s talisman at the Palais du Tau, Reims

This ninth-century talisman amulet is in fact a reliquary and is on display in the treasury room of the episcopal residence in Reims, next to the cathedral where the kings of France were once crowned. Its history still contains many dark areas.

 

In gold filigree and repoussé, Charlemagne’s talisman takes the form of a pilgrimage ampule which once contained a liquid or earth coming from a holy place. It is seven centimeters high and is adorned with precious stones. On its front a glass cabochon magnifies a cross made of two fragments meant to be from the True Cross. On the back is a translucent sapphire.

 

Did it really belong to Charlemagne?

Legend has it that this reliquary was discovered around Charlemagne’s neck when his tomb was opened in 1166. Although it dates from the Carolingian period, there is no documentation to certify that it really belonged to Charlemagne, the emperor of the Occident and King of the Franks. There is also no certainty as to the circumstances in which it was created. In 1844 a journalist wrote that it was the diplomatic gift of Caliph Harun-al-Raschid.

 

Prestigious owners

In 1802, the Bishop of Aix-la-Chapelle gave this reliquary to the Empress Josephine, who was accompanying Napoleon on a pilgrimage to this town where the relics of Charlemagne were preserved. Napoleon considered himself to be Charlemagne’s successor and wanted to follow in the line of the Carolingian kings. Josephine then bequeathed it to her daughter, Hortense de Beauharnais, who wore it as a pendant in one of her portraits and who mentioned this talisman in her letters. On her death, she bequeathed it to the future Napoleon III who in turn passed it on to the Empress Eugenie. In exile and deeply moved by the bombing of Reims in 1914, she donated it to the cathedral.

 

Is the reliquary identical to the one of the ninth century?

There have been many changes and much uncertainty exists about them. It is known that it originally contained the hair of the Virgin Mary, and it was probably at the beginning of the nineteenth century that they were replaced by the fragments purported to be from the True Cross. In 2016, a team of researchers, historians and gemologists conducted a study* highlighting other changes. The front glass is probably not original because it was rarely associated with a piece of gold work in the ninth century. However, according to the study, the rustic cuts of the gemstones suggest they are contemporary with the talisman. These new clues among many others together enrich the exciting story of this piece.

 


* study carried out by G. Panczer, G. Riondet, L. Forest, M. Krzemnicki and F. Faure published in the revue of l’Association Française de Gemmologie

Most popular articles

Parcours Bijoux

From 25 September to 30 November 2017 in Paris, Parcours Bijoux staged by the “D’un bijou à l’autre” Association with Comité Francéclat is laying on...

Vietnam: memories set in lacquer

Don’t leave Vietnam without some of these sublime lacquer bracelets by Hanoia, Vietnam’s leading luxury brand.

Ole Lynggaard finally comes to Paris

Denmark’s iconic jeweler, the official supplier to the royal family, is opening its first store in Paris: 4, rue du 29 Juillet.

Musée Provençal du Costume et du Bijou

After alterations lasting several months, this family-run museum dedicated to 18th and 19th century fashion now features twenty-odd truly magnificent...

A travel around the Al Thani collection

Just back from India, here is a collage from my scrapbook which illustrates perfectly the feel and the richness of Indian jewlery.

The collection of the Mineralogy Museum of the École des Mines

This collection, one of the most important in the world, remains largely unknown to the general public. Just like the place itself with its crazy charm in...

Itinéraires joailliers

09 mai 2017

Le talisman de Charlemagne au palais du Tau

Ce pendentif-talisman du IXe siècle est en fait un reliquaire, exposé dans la salle du trésor de la résidence épiscopale de Reims, jouxtant la cathédrale où étaient couronnés les rois de France. Son histoire comporte encore de nombreuses zones d’ombre.

 

En or filigrané et repoussé, le talisman de Charlemagne est en forme d’ampoule de pèlerinage destiné à contenir un liquide ou de la terre provenant d’un lieu saint. Haut de sept centimètres, il est orné de pierres précieuses. Côté face, il présente un cabochon de verre laissant apparaître, par un effet de loupe, une croix faite de deux prétendus fragments de la Vraie Croix. Côté pile, un saphir très pâle.

 

A-t-il réellement appartenu à Charlemagne ?

La légende dit que ce reliquaire a été découvert suspendu à son cou, lors d’une exhumation en 1166. S’il date bien de l’époque carolingienne, aucun texte ne permet de certifier qu’il a appartenu à l’empereur d’Occident et roi des Francs. Aucune certitude non plus concernant les circonstances dans lesquelles il a été créé même si en 1844, un journaliste écrit qu’il fut le cadeau diplomatique du calife Haroun-al-Raschid.

 

De prestigieux propriétaires

En 1802, l’évêque d’Aix-la-Chapelle offre ce reliquaire à l’impératrice Joséphine qui accompagne Napoléon en pèlerinage dans cette ville où sont conservées les reliques de Charlemagne. Napoléon se considère en effet comme son successeur et veut s’inscrire dans la lignée des rois carolingiens. Joséphine va ensuite le léguer à sa fille Hortense de Beauharnais, qui le porte en pendentif sur l’un de ses portraits et qui, dans ses lettres, le désigne comme un talisman. À sa mort, elle le lègue au futur Napoléon III qui le lègue à son tour à l’impératrice Eugénie. En exil, émue par le bombardement de Reims en 1914, cette dernière en fait don à la cathédrale.

 

Le reliquaire est-il identique à celui du IXe siècle ?

Les modifications sont nombreuses et incertaines. On sait qu’à l’origine, il renfermait des cheveux de la Vierge Marie, et c’est probablement au tout début du XIXe qu’ils ont été remplacés par les fragments présentés comme ceux de la Vraie Croix. En 2016, une équipe composée de chercheurs, historiens et gemmologues a réalisé une étude* mettant en lumière d’autres modifications. Ainsi le verre n’est probablement pas d’origine car il est rarement associé à une pièce d’orfèvrerie. En revanche d’après l’étude, les tailles rustiques suggèrent que les pierres sont bien contemporaines du talisman. Ces nouveaux indices parmi moult autres contribuent à enrichir l’histoire passionnante de cette pièce.

 


* étude réalisée par G. Panczer, G. Riondet, L. Forest, M. S. Krzemnicki et F. Faure publiée dans la revue de l’Association Française de Gemmologie

Articles les plus lus

La Maison Diamantée à Marseille

À quelques mètres du Vieux Port, juste derrière l’Hôtel de Ville, cette maison tient son nom de la façade entièrement couverte de pierres taillées en...

Hillwood Museum, la maison de Marjorie Merriweather Post

À partir de 1959, cette héritière américaine vit dans un manoir néo-géorgien qu’elle a conçu comme un musée, pour le léguer à sa mort au...

Mon Parcours Bijoux

Du 25 septembre au 30 novembre 2017 à Paris, Parcours Bijoux mis en place par l’association D’un bijou à l’autre (en partenariat avec le Comité...

Vietnam, souvenirs en laque

Ne repartez pas du Vietnam sans ces sublimes bracelets en laque d’Hanoia, considérée comme la première marque vietnamienne de luxe.

Ole Lynggaard enfin à Paris

Le joaillier emblématique du Danemark, fournisseur officiel de la famille royale, ouvre sa première boutique parisienne au 4, rue du 29 Juillet.

Le musée Provençal du Costume et du Bijou

Après plusieurs mois de rénovation, ce musée familial dédié à la mode du XVIIIe et XIXe siècle présente également une vingtaine de bijoux d’une...