See

Itinéraires joailliers

08 January 2016

Extraordinary minerals at MIM in Beirut

A privileged visit of one of the finest museums in the world, with its founder himself, Salim Eddé.

Behind the security gate of the prestigious French university St. Joseph’s, a fabulous trip is about to begin in the MIM (first letter of the Arabic words museum, minerals and mining) at the centre of the earth. Our guide is not an adventurer but an elegant man to the letter that combines scientific rigor and aesthetic concern. Former student of Paris’ Polytechnic, a chemist and son of an art collector and numismatist father, Salim Eddé has the perfect background to entice novices to what generally interests only scientists: minerals.

Salim Eddé does not stumble once on any of the 150 names of 1,600 specimens exhibited, nor on their compositions or origins. He acquired this knowledge in just ten years; the time to built the most prodigious collection in the world. It is said, it represents nearly a third of his vast fortune coming from his Murex company (name of a Phoenician shell), a financial software company, which ranks him 194th among the wealthiest French. He is tireless on the technical construction of his 1,300-square meter museum, which is more like a museum of contemporary art than a traditional dusty natural science gallery. Upon entering, the tone is set with a huge golden faceted wall, preceded by five-smoked glass columns pierced with showcases revealing fabulous minerals. Cutting-edge technology is at the service of the most archaic of substances with tactile and interactive digital screens are highly present, like for the case of Mendeleev’s periodic table where it provides a detour into the mysteries of the chemical compositions and physical elements. A wall inlaid with 99 slices of Madagascar tourmaline is backlit unveiling its crystal structure.

In a dimmed corridor, 9 columns present the main mineral classes. The selection is simple: Salim Eddé chose the best examples of each category. You may think you have seen the most beautiful examples on entering the Alcove radiant with minerals, but then there’s the showcase of trophies, and finally the Treasure Room: gold crystals resembling twigs, stupefying macles and gypsum as if straight out of the earth’s bowels, an uncut diamond of 300 carats, crystallized gold nuggets, emeralds, rubies, sapphires, a staggering stibnite, an aquamarine like a fossilized block of water risen up from the depths, an Indian mordenite which seems to come alive before the eyes, specimens of a cottony softness, and others more akin to a vibrant and burgeoning matter are like landscapes or sculptures. The evidence is clear: you are in the most beautiful mineralogical museum in the world! Or rather, in one of the finest museums in the world. The aesthetic impact is comparable to what you may experience in front of the greatest works of art. The minerals that come from sixty countries, among them China, Peru, Colombia, Congo, are aesthetic explosions to your senses. It is an aesthetic dictatorship from which you cannot escape.

Never have minerals been so alive. Never has the idea of osmosis between plants and humans been so palpable. Inevitably we think about life, death, the human body, the Cosmos and what Anglo-Saxons call “Intelligent Design”. Do we, with our cultural references, render the world more aesthetic or does this aesthetic dimension pre-exist us? An old question of beauty that haunts metaphysics. The emotion that grips the visitor is considerable. So much beauty in a city that has experienced and known so much suffering, so much hardship and so many hopes. Putting emotion before courage, Salim Eddé held fast so that the museum exists in his city and not in New York, London, Paris or Dubai. And it’s not the least paradoxical, that it’s here in this place that an agnostic visitor, sceptical of monotheistic religions, has felt, if only for a brief moment, the thrill, a shiver along the spine, a breath of God…

Written by Ludovic Leonelli (journalist and author of La Séduction Baudrillard published by l’École nationale supérieure des Beaux-Arts).

Most popular articles

The Maison Diamantée, Marseille

Close to the Old Port, just behind the City Hall, lies a house named for its stone façade entirely covered in raised diamond-shaped tips.

Hillwood, the home of Marjorie Merriweather Post

From 1959 onward, this American heiress lived in a Neo-Georgian mansion that she conceived as a museum to be bequeathed to the Smithsonian on her death. It...

Parcours Bijoux

From 25 September to 30 November 2017 in Paris, Parcours Bijoux staged by the “D’un bijou à l’autre” Association with Comité Francéclat is laying on...

Vietnam: memories set in lacquer

Don’t leave Vietnam without some of these sublime lacquer bracelets by Hanoia, Vietnam’s leading luxury brand.

Ole Lynggaard finally comes to Paris

Denmark’s iconic jeweler, the official supplier to the royal family, is opening its first store in Paris: 4, rue du 29 Juillet.

Musée Provençal du Costume et du Bijou

After alterations lasting several months, this family-run museum dedicated to 18th and 19th century fashion now features twenty-odd truly magnificent...

Itinéraires joailliers

08 janvier 2016

Les minéraux extraordinaires du MIM, à Beyrouth

Visite privilégiée dans l’un des plus beaux musées du monde, par son fondateur lui-même : M. Salim Eddé.

Derrière le portail de sécurité de la prestigieuse université francophone Saint-Joseph, commence un fabuleux voyage dans le MIM (première lettre des mots arabes pour musée, minéraux et mines). Notre guide n’est pas un aventurier mais un homme élégant, au verbe précis alliant rigueur scientifique et souci esthétique. Ancien élève de Polytechnique, chimiste de formation, fils d’un père collectionneur d’art et numismate, Salim Eddé a le curriculum vitae idéal pour amener des novices vers ce qui n’intéresse généralement que les scientifiques : les minéraux.

Salim Eddé ne trébuche sur aucun des 150 noms des 1 600 spécimens exposés, pas plus que sur leur composition ou leur provenance. Il a acquis ce savoir en à peine dix ans, le temps de se constituer la plus prodigieuse collection au monde. Il y a consacré, dit-on, près du tiers de son immense fortune due à sa société Murex (nom d’un coquillage de Phénicie), société de logiciels financiers, qui le place au 194e rang des Français les plus fortunés. Il est intarissable sur la construction technique de son musée de 1300 mètres carrés qui ressemble davantage à un musée d’art contemporain qu’à la traditionnelle galerie poussiéreuse de sciences naturelles. Dès l’entrée, le ton est donné avec un immense mur doré facetté, précédé de cinq colonnes aux vitres fumées percées de vitrines, laissant voir de fabuleux minéraux. La plus haute technologie est au service du plus archaïque : écrans numériques tactiles et interactifs sont à l’honneur comme ce tableau de Mendeleïev permettant de se promener dans les arcanes des compositions chimiques et physiques des éléments. Un mur incrusté de 99 tranches d’une tourmaline de Madagascar, rétro-éclairées, permet de découvrir la structure cristalline.

Dans un couloir obscur, neuf colonnes présentent les principales classes minérales. La sélection est simple : Salim Eddé a choisi les plus beaux spécimens de chaque catégorie. Vous pensiez avoir vu les plus somptueux lorsque vous pénétrez l’Alcôve des minéraux rayonnants, puis surgissent la vitrine des Trophées et enfin la salle du Trésor. Des cristaux d’or ressemblent à des brindilles, des macles stupéfiants, du gypse semblant sortir des entrailles de la Terre, un diamant non taillé de plus de 300 carats, des pépites d’or cristallisées, des émeraudes, rubis, saphirs, une sidérante stibine, une aigue-marine comme un bloc d’eau fossilisée remonté des profondeurs, une mordenite indienne qui semble naître sous nos yeux, des spécimens d’une douceur cotonneuse, d’autres qui s’apparentent à une matière vivante et bourgeonnante comme autant de paysages ou de sculptures. L’évidence s’impose : vous êtes dans le plus beau musée minéralogique du monde ! Ou plutôt, dans l’un des plus beaux musées du monde. Le choc esthétique est comparable à celui qu’on peut ressentir devant les plus grandes œuvres d’art. Les minéraux venus d’une soixantaine de pays, de Chine, du Pérou, de Colombie ou encore du Congo, sont des déflagrations esthétiques qui se passent de votre assentiment. Il est une dictature esthétique à laquelle vous ne pouvez échapper.

Jamais le minéral n’a été aussi vivant. Jamais l’idée d’une osmose avec le végétal et l’humain n’a été aussi palpable. Immanquablement on pense à la vie, à la mort, au corps humain, au Cosmos et à ce que les Anglo-saxons appellent l’Intelligence Design. Est-ce nous, qui, grâce à nos références culturelles, esthétisons le monde ou cette dimension esthétique nous préexiste-t-elle ? Vieille question de la beauté qui hante la métaphysique. L’émotion qui étreint le visiteur est considérable. Tant de beauté dans une ville qui a connu et qui connaît tant de souffrances, tant de difficultés et tant d’espérances. Émotion devant le courage de Salim Eddé qui a tenu à ce que son musée existe dans sa ville et non à New York, Londres, Paris ou Dubaï. Et ce n’est pas le moindre paradoxe que ce soit ici, dans ce lieu, que le visiteur agnostique, sceptique sur les religions monothéistes, ait ressenti, ne fut-ce qu’un bref instant, le grand frisson, la caresse qui vous bouleverse l’échine, le souffle de Dieu…

Écrit par Ludovic Leonelli (journaliste et auteur de La Séduction Baudrillard aux éditions de l’École nationale supérieure des Beaux-Arts).

Articles les plus lus

Mon Parcours Bijoux

Du 25 septembre au 30 novembre 2017 à Paris, Parcours Bijoux mis en place par l’association D’un bijou à l’autre (en partenariat avec le Comité...

Vietnam, souvenirs en laque

Ne repartez pas du Vietnam sans ces sublimes bracelets en laque d’Hanoia, considérée comme la première marque vietnamienne de luxe.

Ole Lynggaard enfin à Paris

Le joaillier emblématique du Danemark, fournisseur officiel de la famille royale, ouvre sa première boutique parisienne au 4, rue du 29 Juillet.

Le musée Provençal du Costume et du Bijou

Après plusieurs mois de rénovation, ce musée familial dédié à la mode du XVIIIe et XIXe siècle présente également une vingtaine de bijoux d’une...

Le talisman de Charlemagne au palais du Tau

Ce pendentif-talisman du IXe siècle est en fait un reliquaire, exposé dans la salle du trésor de la résidence épiscopale de Reims, jouxtant la...

Voyage autour de la collection Al Thani

De retour d’Inde, je vous livre un collage illustrant le merveilleux voyage dans la joaillerie indienne.