See

Itinéraires joailliers

18 May 2016

Tiffany clocks in New York

When next in New York City just across from Grand Central Station on 42nd Street, look up…

The glass clock positioned at the center of a group of statues is the work of American jeweler Tiffany. Few are privileged enough to be able to admire it close up, as access to this four-meter dial is by a maze of corridors leading to a rudimentary iron stairway that never seems to end. A unique experience is to be had when passing one’s head through one of the glass panels that dominate 42nd Street, and to have the clock’s hands just within reach. Established in 1914, it’s one of the best demonstrations of the jeweler’s expertise which, since the late nineteenth century, has been working with glass in all forms such as bowls, lights, panels and so on.

In the 50s, this clock almost disappeared along with the station, threatened by the rise of the automobile and soaring property prices. In 1992, it underwent restorations… Ten years to dismantle and transport it to the workshops to be cleaned piece by piece and the missing parts replaced. The jeweler also produced another famous clock in Grand Central, located right next to the information desk at the center of the large hall. Composed of four quadrants in opal, its value has been estimated at between 10 and 20 million dollars by Sotheby’s and Christie’s… One thing is certain: it’s one minute slow and loses only a second every 1.4 million years, like the other one on the facade, so that passengers don’t miss their trains.

The jeweler is also known to have installed one of the first public clocks in the city in 1853. It can be found on the facade of its flagship on Fifth Avenue. Spectacular, a statue of Atlas bears it on his shoulders and it’s the one most photographed by tourists. In 2011, Tiffany finally funded the renovation of the clock found close to its new location at 200 Fifth Avenue. Dating from 1909, it is the most ornate in New York.

Most popular articles

The Maison Diamantée, Marseille

Close to the Old Port, just behind the City Hall, lies a house named for its stone façade entirely covered in raised diamond-shaped tips.

Hillwood, the home of Marjorie Merriweather Post

From 1959 onward, this American heiress lived in a Neo-Georgian mansion that she conceived as a museum to be bequeathed to the Smithsonian on her death. It...

Parcours Bijoux

From 25 September to 30 November 2017 in Paris, Parcours Bijoux staged by the “D’un bijou à l’autre” Association with Comité Francéclat is laying on...

Vietnam: memories set in lacquer

Don’t leave Vietnam without some of these sublime lacquer bracelets by Hanoia, Vietnam’s leading luxury brand.

Ole Lynggaard finally comes to Paris

Denmark’s iconic jeweler, the official supplier to the royal family, is opening its first store in Paris: 4, rue du 29 Juillet.

Musée Provençal du Costume et du Bijou

After alterations lasting several months, this family-run museum dedicated to 18th and 19th century fashion now features twenty-odd truly magnificent...

Itinéraires joailliers

18 mai 2016

Les horloges Tiffany à New York

À New York, en face de Grand Central Terminal, sur la 42e rue, levez les yeux…

L’horloge en verre installée au centre d’un groupe de statues est l’œuvre du joaillier américain Tiffany. Rares sont les privilégiés à pouvoir l’admirer de près, à accéder à l’envers de ce cadran de quatre mètres de diamètre par un dédale de couloirs aboutissant à une échelle rudimentaire en fer qui n’en finit pas. Sensation unique de passer la tête par l’un des panneaux de verre, de dominer la 42e rue, d’avoir ses aiguilles à portée de main… Installée en 1914, elle est l’une des plus belles démonstrations du savoir-faire du joaillier qui, depuis la fin du XIXe siècle, travaille le verre sous toutes formes : coupes, lampes, panneaux, etc.

Dans les années 50, cette horloge a bien failli disparaître avec la gare, menacée par la montée en puissance de l’automobile et la flambée des prix de l’immobilier. En 1992, il a fallu entamer sa rénovation… Dix ans à la démonter, à la transporter dans des ateliers pour la nettoyer pièce par pièce et reproduire celles qui manquaient. Le joaillier a réalisé l’autre célèbre pendule de Grand Central, placée juste à côté du bureau des informations, au centre du grand hall. Composée de quatre cadrans en opales, elle aurait été estimée entre 10 millions et $20 millions par Sotheby’s et Christie’s… Une chose est sûre : elle retarde d’une minute et ne perd qu’une seconde tous les 1 400 000 ans, comme celle de la façade, afin que les passagers ne ratent pas leur train.

Le joaillier est aussi connu pour avoir installé l’une des premières horloges publiques de la ville, en 1853. C’est celle que l’on peut encore voir sur la façade de son flagship de la Ve avenue. Spectaculaire, portée par une statue d’Atlas, elle est l’une des plus photographiées par les touristes. En 2011, Tiffany a finalement financé la rénovation de celle située à deux pas de ses nouveaux locaux, 200 Fifth Avenue. Datant de 1909, elle est la plus ornementée de New York.

Articles les plus lus

Mon Parcours Bijoux

Du 25 septembre au 30 novembre 2017 à Paris, Parcours Bijoux mis en place par l’association D’un bijou à l’autre (en partenariat avec le Comité...

Vietnam, souvenirs en laque

Ne repartez pas du Vietnam sans ces sublimes bracelets en laque d’Hanoia, considérée comme la première marque vietnamienne de luxe.

Ole Lynggaard enfin à Paris

Le joaillier emblématique du Danemark, fournisseur officiel de la famille royale, ouvre sa première boutique parisienne au 4, rue du 29 Juillet.

Le musée Provençal du Costume et du Bijou

Après plusieurs mois de rénovation, ce musée familial dédié à la mode du XVIIIe et XIXe siècle présente également une vingtaine de bijoux d’une...

Le talisman de Charlemagne au palais du Tau

Ce pendentif-talisman du IXe siècle est en fait un reliquaire, exposé dans la salle du trésor de la résidence épiscopale de Reims, jouxtant la...

Voyage autour de la collection Al Thani

De retour d’Inde, je vous livre un collage illustrant le merveilleux voyage dans la joaillerie indienne.