See

Itinéraires joailliers

04 March 2016

René Lalique in the Gulbenkian

This collection of René Lalique jewelry –  the jeweler of Art Nouveau – is the most beautiful in the world, along with the Museum of Decorative Art’s collection in Paris.

The eccentricity and the fragility of René Lalique jewelry made it unwearable for most women of the Belle Époque, with the exception of some figures from the financial and artistic elite like the actress Sarah Bernhardt, the Countess Greffulhe or the demi-mondaine, Liane Pougy. The Armenian financier and oil magnate, Calouste Gulbenkian, bought them however, to display in showcases in his mansion on Avenue d’Iéna in Paris. And few were those able to admire them, as he jealously guarded these jewels in seclusion like “harem women”. Exhibited today in the last room of the Gulbenkian Museum in Lisbon, this collection is there for all to see.

Breathtakingly beautiful, these jewelry pieces dating from the early twentieth century perfectly illustrate the jeweler’s uniqueness and sense of observation coupled with a highly fanciful imagination. René Lalique is considered to be the inventor of modern jewelry, breaking away from the statuesque and soulless jewelry of the time. Bodice pieces, chokers and combs highlight the originality of materials, never or little used until then in jewelry, such as horn, ivory, translucent enamel, glass and ornamental stones. The delight in exploring the glassy depths of moonstone would later inspire Lalique’s research into glass. These jewels are not pieces to dismantle in order to have the gems reset.

All exude a disturbing beauty. They may almost appear repulsive when taking on the aspects of thistles, algae and prickly, tentacle-like poppies inspired by Japanese art. Some flirt with the notion of withering and display a unique sense of the erotic in jewelry. Nymphs, sylphs, and armored and helmeted warriors reflect the artist’s obsession with the lewd and provocative body. These are transformed into orchids, peacocks or dragonflies on bodice pieces, given pride of place in the center of the room. A bestiary found repugnant with bats, wasps and frogs adorn the neck and hair. An orchid with wavy, velvety petals in gold, precious stones and ivory celebrates a woman’s sex with elegance and poetry. The visit of the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation ends in a passionate world that’s deliciously perverse and decadent.

Most popular articles

Parcours Bijoux

From 25 September to 30 November 2017 in Paris, Parcours Bijoux staged by the “D’un bijou à l’autre” Association with Comité Francéclat is laying on...

Vietnam: memories set in lacquer

Don’t leave Vietnam without some of these sublime lacquer bracelets by Hanoia, Vietnam’s leading luxury brand.

Ole Lynggaard finally comes to Paris

Denmark’s iconic jeweler, the official supplier to the royal family, is opening its first store in Paris: 4, rue du 29 Juillet.

Musée Provençal du Costume et du Bijou

After alterations lasting several months, this family-run museum dedicated to 18th and 19th century fashion now features twenty-odd truly magnificent...

Charlemagne's talisman at the Palais du Tau, Reims

This ninth-century talisman amulet is in fact a reliquary and is on display in the treasury room of the episcopal residence in Reims, next to the cathedral...

A travel around the Al Thani collection

Just back from India, here is a collage from my scrapbook which illustrates perfectly the feel and the richness of Indian jewlery.

Itinéraires joailliers

04 mars 2016

René Lalique au Gulbenkian

Cette collection de bijoux René Lalique, joaillier de l’Art nouveau, est la plus splendide au monde. Avec celle de la galerie des Bijoux, au musée des Arts décoratifs, à Paris.

L’excentricité et la fragilité des bijoux de René Lalique les rendaient importables par les femmes de la Belle Époque, exception faite de quelques figures de l’élite financière et artistique comme la comédienne Sarah Bernhardt, la comtesse Greffulhe ou encore la demi-mondaine Liane de Pougy. Le financier et magnat du pétrole d’origine arménienne, Calouste Gulbenkian, les achetait, lui, pour les exposer dans les vitrines de son hôtel particulier de l’avenue d’Iéna, à Paris. Et rares étaient ceux à pouvoir les admirer car il les gardait jalousement à l’abri des regards comme les « femmes d’un harem ». Exposée dans la dernière salle du musée Gulbenkian à Lisbonne, cette collection s’offre aujourd’hui au regard de tous.

À couper le souffle, les bijoux qui datent du début du XXe siècle illustrent parfaitement la singularité du joaillier, son sens de l’observation doublé d’une imagination fantasque. Il est considéré comme l’inventeur du bijou moderne, en rupture avec le bijou statutaire et sans âme. Devant de corsage, chocker, peigne mettent en lumière l’originalité des matériaux, jamais ou peu utilisés jusqu’alors en joaillerie, comme la corne, l’ivoire, l’émail translucide, le verre, les pierres ornementales. Il raffole des profondeurs vitreuses de la pierre de lune qui lui inspira ses recherches ultérieures sur le verre. Ces bijoux ne sont pas de ceux dont on démonte les pierres précieuses, pour les sertir à nouveau.

Tous dégagent une beauté inquiétante. Ils peuvent presque être repoussants quand ils entrent en correspondance avec des chardons, des algues et des pavots tentaculaires et piquants inspirés de l’art japonais. Certains flirtent avec la flétrissure. Ils affichent un érotisme unique dans le bijou. Les nymphes, sylphides, guerrières casquées et cuirassées traduisent l’obsession de l’artiste pour les corps lascifs et provocants. Ces derniers se métamorphosent en orchidée, en paon ou en libellule comme sur ce devant de corsage, placé en majesté au centre de la pièce. Un bestiaire jugé répugnant, chauves-souris, guêpes, crapauds ornent le décolleté, la chevelure. L’orchidée avec ses pétales ondulants et veloutés en or et pierres précieuses, en ivoire, célèbre avec élégance et poésie, le sexe féminin. La visite de la Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian se termine dans un univers émouvant, délicieusement pervers et décadent.

Articles les plus lus

La Maison Diamantée à Marseille

À quelques mètres du Vieux Port, juste derrière l’Hôtel de Ville, cette maison tient son nom de la façade entièrement couverte de pierres taillées en...

Hillwood Museum, la maison de Marjorie Merriweather Post

À partir de 1959, cette héritière américaine vit dans un manoir néo-géorgien qu’elle a conçu comme un musée, pour le léguer à sa mort au...

Mon Parcours Bijoux

Du 25 septembre au 30 novembre 2017 à Paris, Parcours Bijoux mis en place par l’association D’un bijou à l’autre (en partenariat avec le Comité...

Vietnam, souvenirs en laque

Ne repartez pas du Vietnam sans ces sublimes bracelets en laque d’Hanoia, considérée comme la première marque vietnamienne de luxe.

Ole Lynggaard enfin à Paris

Le joaillier emblématique du Danemark, fournisseur officiel de la famille royale, ouvre sa première boutique parisienne au 4, rue du 29 Juillet.

Le musée Provençal du Costume et du Bijou

Après plusieurs mois de rénovation, ce musée familial dédié à la mode du XVIIIe et XIXe siècle présente également une vingtaine de bijoux d’une...