See

Itinéraires joailliers

24 November 2016

Where to buy jewelry in Tokyo?

From international designers, to the underground scene and on to pearl jewelers, Tokyo is a gem.

 

 

Pearls

 

At Mikimoto

Mikimoto is the ultimate specialist when it comes to cultured pearls, and for a good reason, as he was the one who invented them back in 1893. What’s more, their building in the Ginza district is well worth the detour to see its very 70s facade with its windows like bubbles. As for jewelry, there’s an impressive choice. It’s the opportunity to discover all types of pearls, from the white, grey and gold Akoyas to the extremely rare conch-pearls in an array of delicate pinks.

 

At Tasaki

Tasaki, the other Japanese pearl specialist has some 500 necklaces in stock along with an impressive selection of engagement rings. Beyond that, there’s the remarkable creations of artistic director Thakoon Panichgul who’s best known for his fashion designs. Pearls trim a shark jaw necklace or a double ring evoking a knuckle-duster. Tasaki also uses the two designers, Marie-Hélène de Taillac and Mélanie Georgacopoulos, for capsule collections. The French designer’s style is expressed through long necklaces of pearls punctuated with golden mouths; the young Greek designer’s is somewhat more experimental. She cuts the pearls in half to emphasize the different layers of mother-of-pearl that form them.

 

 

Designer jewelry

 

A temple to trendiness at Dover Street Market

No risks in the selection as all the trendy international designers are here, from Bibi van der Velden to Venyx, Delfina Delettrez, Noor Fares and Amedeo. So no real surprises then, for those who’ve already frequented the showrooms of London and New York. On the other hand, both the sales staff and customers sport their jewelry in surprising new ways that can be a great source of inspiration.

 

 

Japanese jewels

 

Gothic at A Story

The antithesis of Dover Street Market. Alongside its gothic-grunge watches, the brand offers an interesting selection of 100% Japanese jewelry. Completely unknown designers like Chord, Clas, Nyul, Caspol Glass or Tomoko Tokuda have come up with a selection of jewelry made from old watch dials, as poison rings complete with animal skeletons in patinated metal, skulls and so on.

 

Punk at Ambush

Verbal and Yoon both friends of the fashion designer Sacai and of Kitsuné have just opened their own store. Street culture, punk, Pop art and music inspire this duo from the Tokyo underground scene. Along with the clothing label they offer earrings in the form of vinyl records, double rings sporting a nail, and padlocks pendants. Nothing really revolutionary, but strong on look and reasonably priced as most pieces are in silver or gold plated.

 

Lilliputian at Ahkah

At Ahkah, the jewelry is XXS, the names are so small they could be designed for a newborn, there’s a Lilliputian-sized dragon pendant and the diamonds are not bigger than a head pin. Launched by Akemi Fukuoji twenty years ago, Ahkah perfectly fits the Japanese taste for the minutely small and micro-detailed. To celebrate this anniversary, a new store has opened in a beautiful garden with all the signature models. It’s just a few meters away from the store devoted to engagement rings.

Also in Paris at the Bon Marché.

 

Minimalism at Jui Box

Nestled in a cul-de-sac near Omotesando, this store done out in white tiles belongs to the very discreet Shihara. On offer here are geometric pieces with pure lines like the angular signet rings, square bangles and triangular earrings. As for signature pieces there’s the extremely fine gold chains stiffened in lines to form a square.

Also in Paris, at the Bon Marché.

 

Delicate at Noguchi Jewels

Naohiko Noguchi had a past history in Europe in jewelry before launching his own brand in 2004. The delicate and extremely fine pieces are available in 14-karat gold that’s been perforated like lace or hammered. In a soft shade that’s less yellow than classic gold, they have a vintage charm that’s further enhanced by white, cognac or slightly smoky micro-diamonds, and by the occasional irregular-shaped grey pearl. A crazy charm.

Also in Paris, at White Bird.

 

 

A vintage watch

 

At Tomorrowland

This multi-brand store has all the top names at the moment, from Gucci to Isabel Marant and Loewe. It’s the same for jewelry with a selection of pieces by Charlotte Chesnais and the Japanese, Hirotaka. Not to be missed are the vintage women’s watches in impeccable condition from such brands as Oméga, Jaeger-LeCoultre and Rolex.

Most popular articles

The Maison Diamantée, Marseille

Close to the Old Port, just behind the City Hall, lies a house named for its stone façade entirely covered in raised diamond-shaped tips.

Hillwood, the home of Marjorie Merriweather Post

From 1959 onward, this American heiress lived in a Neo-Georgian mansion that she conceived as a museum to be bequeathed to the Smithsonian on her death. It...

Parcours Bijoux

From 25 September to 30 November 2017 in Paris, Parcours Bijoux staged by the “D’un bijou à l’autre” Association with Comité Francéclat is laying on...

Vietnam: memories set in lacquer

Don’t leave Vietnam without some of these sublime lacquer bracelets by Hanoia, Vietnam’s leading luxury brand.

Ole Lynggaard finally comes to Paris

Denmark’s iconic jeweler, the official supplier to the royal family, is opening its first store in Paris: 4, rue du 29 Juillet.

Musée Provençal du Costume et du Bijou

After alterations lasting several months, this family-run museum dedicated to 18th and 19th century fashion now features twenty-odd truly magnificent...

Itinéraires joailliers

24 novembre 2016

Où acheter un bijou à Tokyo ?

Du créateur international à celui de la scène underground en passant par les joailliers de la perle, Tokyo est aussi une destination bijou.

 

 

Des perles

 

Chez Mikimoto

Mikimoto est l’incontournable spécialiste de la perle de culture : et pour cause, c’est lui qui l’a inventée en 1893. En plus son immeuble, dans le quartier de Ginza, mérite le détour : sa façade très seventies est percée de fenêtres ressemblant à des bulles. Côté bijou, le choix est impressionnant. C’est l’occasion de découvrir tous les types de perles, de l’Akoya blanche à la grise en passant par la gold ou celle de conche, rarissime, d’un rose délicat.

 

Chez Tasaki

Tasaki, l’autre spécialiste japonais de la perle, a quelque 500 colliers en stock et un choix impressionnant de bagues de fiançailles. Au-delà, les créations du directeur artistique Thakoon Panichgul, plus connu pour sa mode, sont remarquables. Les perles gansent un collier-mâchoire de requin ou une bague double évoquant un poing américain. Tasaki fait aussi appel à deux créatrices pour des collections capsules : Marie-Hélène de Taillac et Mélanie Georgacopoulos. Le style de la Française s’exprime notamment dans un long collier de perles ponctué de bouches en or ; celui de la jeune Grecque, par des expérimentations. Elle coupe la perle en deux pour mettre en valeur les différentes couches de nacre qui la forment.

 

 

Un bijou de créateur

 

Chez Dover Street Market, le temple de la branchitude

Aucun risque dans la sélection : les créateurs internationaux les plus trendy y figurent. Bibi van der Velden côtoie Venyx, Delfina Delettrez, Noor Fares ou encore Amedeo. Aucune vraie surprise donc, pour celles qui fréquentent déjà les boutiques de Londres et de New York. En revanche, vendeurs et clients portent les bijoux de façon surprenante et constituent parfois une formidable source d’inspiration.

 

 

Un bijou japonais

 

Gothique chez A Story

Cette boutique est l’antithèse de Dover Street Market. Aux côtés de ses montres gothico-grunge, la marque propose une sélection intéressante de bijoux 100% japonais. Les designers complètement inconnus, Chord, Clas, Nyul, Caspol Glass ou encore Tomoko Tokuda, réalisent des bijoux à partir de cadrans de montres anciennes. Ils imaginent des bagues-poisons, ils figurent des squelettes d’animaux en métal patiné, des têtes de mort, etc.

 

Punk chez Ambush

Verbal et Yoon (amis de la créatrice de mode Sacai et de Kitsuné) viennent d’ouvrir leur boutique. Ce duo, acteur de la scène underground tokyoïte, s’inspire de la street culture, des esthétiques punk et Pop art ou encore de la musique. Aux côtés du label de vêtements, ils proposent boucles d’oreilles en forme de disques vinyles, bagues doubles figurant un clou, pendentifs-cadenas. Rien de vraiment révolutionnaire, mais un bon look et des prix raisonnables car la plupart sont en argent et en métal doré.

 

Lilliputien chez Ahkah

Chez Ahkah, les bijoux sont XXS : le prénom est écrit si petit qu’on le dirait conçu pour un nouveau-né, le pendentif dragon a la taille d’un lilliputien et les diamants ne sont pas plus gros qu’une tête d’épingle. Lancé par Akemi Fukuoji, il y a vingt ans, Ahkah correspond parfaitement aux goûts des Japonaises pour le très petit et pour les micro-détails. Pour fêter cet anniversaire, une nouvelle boutique a ouvert ses portes dans un joli jardin, avec tous les modèles emblématiques. À quelques mètres de celle consacrée aux bagues de fiançailles.

Aussi à Paris, au Bon Marché.

 

Minimaliste chez Jui Box

Nichée dans une impasse près d’Omotesando, cette boutique tapissée de carrelage blanc appartient au très discret Shihara. L’écrin présente ses pièces géométriques, épurées comme les chevalières anguleuses, les joncs carrés et les boucles d’oreilles triangles. Ses pièces signatures : les chaînes en or extrêmement fines raidies à certains endroits pour former un carré.

Aussi à Paris, au Bon Marché.

 

Délicat chez Noguchi Jewels

Naohiko Noguchi a beaucoup officié dans le bijou, en Europe, avant de lancer sa marque, en 2004. Les bijoux, délicats et très fins, se déclinent en or 14 carats ajouré comme de la dentelle ou martelé. Cette nuance douce, moins jaune que l’or classique, leur confère un charme vintage amplifié par la couleur des micro-diamants, blancs, cognacs ou légèrement fumés. Ici et là, il sertit une perle grise à la forme irrégulière. Un charme fou.

Aussi à Paris, chez White Bird.

 

 

Une montre vintage

 

Chez Tomorrowland

Ce multi-marques a les incontournables du moment, de Gucci à Isabel Marant en passant par Loewe. En joaillerie, c’est pareil avec une sélection de bijoux de Charlotte Chesnais, ou encore du Japonais Hirotaka. À ne surtout pas manquer : les montres de dame vintage dans un état impeccable, griffées Oméga, Jaeger-LeCoultre ou encore Rolex.

Articles les plus lus

La Maison Diamantée à Marseille

À quelques mètres du Vieux Port, juste derrière l’Hôtel de Ville, cette maison tient son nom de la façade entièrement couverte de pierres taillées en...

Hillwood Museum, la maison de Marjorie Merriweather Post

À partir de 1959, cette héritière américaine vit dans un manoir néo-géorgien qu’elle a conçu comme un musée, pour le léguer à sa mort au...

Mon Parcours Bijoux

Du 25 septembre au 30 novembre 2017 à Paris, Parcours Bijoux mis en place par l’association D’un bijou à l’autre (en partenariat avec le Comité...

Vietnam, souvenirs en laque

Ne repartez pas du Vietnam sans ces sublimes bracelets en laque d’Hanoia, considérée comme la première marque vietnamienne de luxe.

Ole Lynggaard enfin à Paris

Le joaillier emblématique du Danemark, fournisseur officiel de la famille royale, ouvre sa première boutique parisienne au 4, rue du 29 Juillet.

Le musée Provençal du Costume et du Bijou

Après plusieurs mois de rénovation, ce musée familial dédié à la mode du XVIIIe et XIXe siècle présente également une vingtaine de bijoux d’une...