See

L'invité

04 August 2016

Marianne Le Clère-Papalexis, president of Zolotas

French, keen on Hellenistic culture, she has worked for 40 years at Zolotas, a third of the Greek house’s existence.

 

You led the creation, communication, management, and you eventually become a shareholder in 1988. You are the soul of Zolotas

This story began during an internship in the haute couture department of Christian Dior, on meeting Professor Zolotas’s wife: I said a few lines in ancient Greek and she asked me to do an internship in the Paris boutique. That was when Mr. Xenophon Zolotas, without a direct heir, had just parted ways with his nephews who’d founded their own house, Lalaounis. The question of succession is always difficult … Why continue? Towards what? Today my son who grew up in the workshops is the artistic director. It is all my passion …

 

How did Zolotas begin?

In 1895, Efthimios Zolotas went to train in the workshops of the Place Vendôme because he wanted to match up to the French houses that were supplying the courts of Europe. His son Xenophon became Governor of the Bank of Greece, and wanted the house to become the ambassador of Hellenic excellence. Greece is the heir to a long tradition that I could talk to you for hours! There were these great periods of richness like the classical period where artisans pushed the sophistication of ancestral Minoan techniques to the extreme, the chasing technique (for obtaining relief decoration) in Mycenae and the inspiration drawn from nature.

 

How to define the Zolotas style?

It is based on the chrysotechnie, the art of working the gold with three emblematic skills: weaving with threads, granulation and hammering. Gold, very yellow, almost flashy, is king unlike the gemstones that are used only as decoration. We take the heads of lions, the sun and so forth but the inspiration remains mainly abstract. But we never do reproductions of antique jewelry, only contemporary reinterpretations.

 

What are the highlights?

In the early 70s, we had the world at our feet. International personalities such as Stavros Niarchos, Valéry Giscard d’Estaing, the Shah of Iran and Elizabeth Taylor came to the Athens boutique. I welcomed in person Callas and Jacky Kennedy. But apart from some pictures, some with Marisa Berenson, there is no trace of all this … to the dismay of my son! In the late 80s, the trend was still Zolotas with the artistic director, Ronald Mc Namer, formerly of Tiffany & Co. He introduced 22K hammered gold, clean lines, oversized volumes and the predominance of abstract over figurative. I went on to organize exhibitions in Japan and the Middle East. Then the big international groups with their enormous resources changed things dramatically.

 

How often do you create?

Never under pressure, our pace is determined by our financing capabilities, mainly a collection every two years, a capsule collection at the end of each year and some collaborations. The first dates from the 1970s, with Claude Lalanne, followed by another with a young Paloma Picasso, then barely 20, and with Alekos Fassianos. More recently, Nisa Chevènement designed a necklace composed of long anthropomorphic figures evoking Cycladic idols.

 

You have just opened a boutique in Paris. It seems that Greek designers and houses have never been so present on the international scene …

This is mainly due to the extremely serious crisis in the country that doesn’t allow any of them to make a go of it. I look forward to the reception we can give them!

Most popular articles

Jean Vendome, a pioneer of contemporary jewelry

How could we not pay tribute to this French jeweler who died just a short time ago? Although largely unknown to the general public, throughout a career...

Carole Fraresso, archeo-metallurgist

Scientific curator of the “Incas – Gold. Power. God.” exhibition, Carole Fraresso also designs the “Motché” jewelry inspired by pre-Columbian...

Feng. J, jeweler of the 21st century

After Shanghai, Feng. J is about to open a second showroom in Paris to present her high jewelry pieces. At just over 30, this Chinese designer has...

“Medusa. Jewellery and Taboos” - The installation

A few days before the opening of the Medusa exhibition, Sandrine Merle met with the curator, Anne Dressen, and two scientific advisers, Benjamin Lignel and...

Clémence, Lara, Émeraude and Rolex with logos

Clémence Cahu is interested in vintage Rolex watches in limited series and bearing a company or an army logo. Here are the five models she selected...

Mucha's Art Nouveau jewelry

Alfons Maria Mucha, best known for his advertising posters and decorative designs, also played an essential role in jewelry, notably thanks to his...

L'invité

04 août 2016

Marianne Le Clère-Papalexis, présidente de Zolotas

Française, férue de culture hellénistique, elle œuvre depuis 40 ans chez Zolotas soit un tiers de l’existence de cette maison grecque.

 

Vous avez dirigé la création, la communication, la gestion et vous avez fini par devenir actionnaire en 1988. Vous êtes l’âme de Zolotas

Cette histoire a commencé, lors d’un stage au département haute couture de Christian Dior, par la rencontre avec la femme du professeur Zolotas : je lui ai dit quelques phrases en grec ancien, elle m’a demandé de venir faire un stage à la boutique de Paris. C’était au moment où, Monsieur Xénophon Zolotas, sans héritier direct, venait de rompre avec ses neveux qui ont fondé leur propre maison, Lalaounis. La question de la succession est toujours difficile… Pourquoi continuer ? Vers quoi ? Aujourd’hui, mon fils qui a grandi dans les ateliers est le directeur artistique. Il est complètement imprégné de ma passion…

 

Comment est né Zolotas ?

En 1895, Efthimios Zolotas est allé se former dans les ateliers de la place Vendôme car il voulait égaler les maisons françaises, fournisseurs des cours européennes. Son fils Xénophon, devenu gouverneur de la Banque de Grèce, a souhaité que la maison devienne ambassadrice de l’excellence hellénique. La Grèce est l’héritière d’une longue tradition dont je pourrais vous parler pendant des heures ! Il y a ces grandes périodes de richesse comme la période classique où les artisans poussent à l’extrême la sophistication des techniques ancestrales minoennes, l’inspiration puisée dans la nature et la technique du repoussé (permettant d’obtenir un décor en relief) à Mycènes, etc.

 

Comment définir le style Zolotas ?

Il est fondé sur la chrysotechnie, l’art de travailler l’or grâce à trois savoir-faire emblématiques : le tissage d’un fil, la granulation et le martelage. L’or, très jaune, presque clinquant, est roi contrairement aux pierres utilisées uniquement comme décoration. Nous reprenons des têtes de lions, le soleil, etc., mais l’inspiration est principalement abstraite. Mais attention : nous ne faisons jamais de reproductions de bijoux anciens, mais des réinterprétations contemporaines.

 

Quels sont les temps forts ?

Au début des années 70, nous avions la terre à nos pieds. Des personnalités internationales comme Stavros Niarchos, Valéry Giscard d’Estaing, le Shah d’Iran ou Elizabeth Taylor venaient à la boutique d’Athènes. J’ai accueilli en personne La Callas et Madame Kennedy. Mais à part quelques photos, dont certaines avec Marisa Berenson, il ne reste aucune trace… Au grand désespoir de mon fils ! À la fin des années 80, Zolotas faisait encore la tendance grâce au directeur artistique, Ronald Mc Namer, ancien de Tiffany & Co. Il a introduit l’or 22 carats martelé, les volumes épurés et oversized, la prédominance de l’abstrait sur le figuratif. J’ai alors commencé à organiser des expositions au Japon, Moyen-Orient… Puis les grands groupes internationaux, aux moyens colossaux, ont bouleversé la donne.

 

À quel rythme créez-vous ?

Jamais dans la douleur, notre rythme est déterminé par nos capacités de financement, à savoir une collection tous les deux ans, une collection capsule à la fin de chaque année et quelques collaborations. La première qui date des années 70, avec Claude Lalanne, a été suivie par une autre avec Paloma Picasso âgée, alors, d’à peine 20 ans ou encore Alekos Fassianos. Plus récemment, Nisa Chevènement a dessiné un collier composé de longues figures anthropomorphes évoquant les idoles cycladiques.

 

Vous venez d’ouvrir une boutique à Paris. Il semble que créateurs et maisons grecs n’ont jamais été aussi présents sur la scène internationale…

C’est principalement dû à la crise extrêmement grave que connaît le pays et qui ne permet plus à aucun de subsister. Je me réjouis de l’accueil qui leur est fait !

Articles les plus lus

Jean Vendome, un pionnier du bijou contemporain

Comment ne pas rendre hommage à ce joaillier français décédé il y a quelques jours ? Méconnu du grand public il a, en 50 ans de carrière, ouvert...

Carole Fraresso, archéo-métallurgiste

Commissaire scientifique de l’exposition « Inca – Or. Pouvoir. Dieu. », Carole Fraresso est également la créatrice des bijoux Motché, inspirés des...

Feng. J, joaillière du XXIe siècle

Après Shanghai, Feng J. est sur le point d’ouvrir un deuxième showroom à Paris pour présenter ses pièces de haute joaillerie. À à peine plus de 30...

« Medusa. Bijoux et tabous » - L'installation

Quelques jours avant l’ouverture de l’exposition « Medusa », j’ai rencontré la commissaire Anne Dressen et les deux conseillers scientifiques,...

Clémence, Lara, Émeraude et les Rolex à logo

Clémence Cahu s’est intéressée aux Rolex vintage en série limitée portant le logo d’une entreprise ou d’une armée. Voici les cinq modèles...

Mucha et les bijoux Art nouveau

Alfons Maria Mucha, connu pour ses affiches publicitaires et ses panneaux décoratifs, a aussi joué un rôle essentiel en joaillerie, notamment grâce à...