L'invité

17 January 2017

Louis XIV, the “inventor” of French high jewelry

During his reign from 1643 to 1715, Louis XIV assembled all the conditions necessary to make Paris the capital of high jewelry.

 

An adamantine passion

The sovereign was not only passionate about gardens and court dancing, he was also mad about diamonds, giving them the place of honor to the detriment of pearls that were until then the object of all desires. This passion, fueled by Cardinal Mazarin’s bequest of 18 exceptional diamonds, allowed him to assert his supremacy and power. He incorporated diamonds into his apparel wearing them as buttons, on his hat, on his sword, in the buckles of his shoes, in buttonholes, on the braid of his pocket flaps and on the seams on the back of his frock coat. Once, to impress the Turkish ambassador, he even had a suit made that was entirely embroidered with white diamonds.

 

The first gemstone dealer

His passion was fed by Jean-Baptiste Tavernier. Considered as the forefather of all traders in precious stones, Tavernier made six voyages between 1631 and 1668, during which he would traverse 240,000 kilometers. He ventured into Turkey and Persia, visited an India infested with tigers, and he was even the first European to reach the famous diamond mines of the Golconda Valley. He brought back exceptional stones including the famous 115-carat blue-violet diamond that itself has an incredible story. A central figure in the history of the diamond, Jean-Baptiste Tavernier is currently the subject of research funded by the École des Arts Joailliers, which will present its work-in-progress at a lecture to be held on March 2nd, 2017.

 

Great advances in stone cutting

In 1550, there were around 300 goldsmith’s workshops in Paris that excelled in the art of setting and mounting, whereas the best lapidaries were to be found in Holland. Louis XIV wanted above all to further enhance his diamonds, and so the French lapidaries greatly developing their skills, eventually surpassed themselves in the art of stone cutting and multiplied the number of the facets to increase the diamond’s brilliance and sparkle. They laid the foundation for the brilliant cut that still remains the best known today. Pierre Le Tessier de Montarsy, Sylvestre Bosc and Pierre Blain were all artisans devoted to the Sun King’s passion, and who would make Paris the capital of high jewelry during the second half of the 17th century.

 

A fashionable clientele in the style of Louis XIV

Louis XIV had sparked a phenomenal craze for diamonds and the aristocracy abandoned themselves totally to diamonds, to the extent of transforming Versailles into a sparkling theater. Hairstyles glittered with them under the candlelight and were reflected in the mirrors. Diamonds were embroidered on bodice fronts, fastened sleeves and were worn on scarves over brocade jackets. “Paradoxically, portraits of the time show little of this flamboyance which, on the other hand, is described in such texts as La Palatine’s memoires,” explains Gislain Aucremanne, historian at the École des Arts Joailliers. One of the best-known representations is that of Marie Leszczynska whose bodice front gleams in all splendor under adamantine embroideries.

 

The crown jewels

During his reign, Louis XIV considerably enriched this collection initiated by Francis I and which belonged to the State. The Sun King made it the most sumptuous in the West. In 1691, it numbered 5,885 diamonds as opposed to 1,500 other gemstones and 500 pearls. There were 18 diamonds inherited from Mazarin (including the 55-carat “Sancy”) and those colored diamonds the King was mad about. The “Bleu de France”, set on the Golden Fleece and which was the symbol of his reign (now on display at the Smithsonian Institute) sat alongside the “Hortensia” with its slightly peach-pink color. In 1714, in a considerably more impoverished kingdom, Louis XIV was finally forced to refuse that ultimate, exceptional stone, one that would be acquired a few years later by the French Regent whose name it takes today.

Most popular articles

Vhernier: Carlo Traglio and his aesthete’s jewelry

Carlo Traglio, owner of the Italian house, creates unique and powerful pieces that bear the imprint of his culture as a collector.

Delphine Nardin, impressions and sea glass

A trained archaeologist, the designer creates jewelry from elements bearing the imprint of time.

Didier Ludot and his bejeweled little black dresses at Sotheby's

The fashion antique dealer is selling off 140 little black dresses on October 3rd, 2017. For some of them, the word “bejeweled” is to put it mildly …

Betony Vernon, sexual anthropologist

The American artist explores the pleasure of the senses with jewels and erotic objects. Some are on show in the “Medusa” exhibition at the Museum of...

Monika Brugger: a key figure in contemporary jewelry

The German goldsmith/visual artist has lived in France for over thirty years, yet her conceptual work is little known there. The exhibition at the Mercier...

Jean Vendome, a pioneer of contemporary jewelry

How could we not pay tribute to this French jeweler who died just a short time ago? Although largely unknown to the general public, throughout a career...

L'invité

17 janvier 2017

Louis XIV, « l’inventeur » de la haute joaillerie française

Sous son règne, de 1643 à 1715, Louis XIV réunit toutes les conditions pour faire de Paris la capitale de la haute joaillerie.

 

Une passion adamantine

Le souverain n’est pas seulement passionné de jardins et de danse : il raffole du diamant auquel il va donner une place prééminente, au détriment de la perle alors objet de tous les désirs. Cette passion, attisée par le legs du cardinal Mazarin consistant en 18 diamants exceptionnels, lui permet d’affirmer sa suprématie et son pouvoir. Il l’intègre à son costume : il la porte en boutons, sur son chapeau, sur son épée, en boucles de souliers ou en boutonnières, en ganse sur le revers des poches ou sur la couture du dos de la redingote. Pour impressionner l’ambassadeur de Turquie, il se fait même faire un habit entièrement brodé de diamants blancs.

 

Le premier négociant en pierres

Cette passion est nourrie par Jean-Baptiste Tavernier. Entre 1631 et 1668, celui que l’on considère comme l’ancêtre des négociants en pierres précieuses fait six voyages pendant lesquels il parcourt 240 000 kilomètres. Il s’aventure en Turquie ou en Perse. Dans une Inde infestée de tigres, il est le premier européen à accéder aux fameuses mines de diamants de la vallée de Golconde. Il rapporte des pierres exceptionnelles dont le fameux diamant bleu-violet de 115 carats, à l’histoire rocambolesque. Personnage central dans l’histoire du diamant, Jean-Baptiste Tavernier fait actuellement l’objet d’une thèse financée par l’École des Arts Joailliers et dont les avancées seront présentées par cette dernière, lors d’une conférence le 2 mars 2017.

 

Le progrès dans l’art de la taille

En 1550, on compte à Paris 300 ateliers d’orfèvres qui excellent dans l’art de la monture tandis que les meilleurs lapidaires se trouvent en Hollande. Mais pour Louis XIV qui veut avant tout mettre en valeur le diamant, les Français progressent et se dépassent dans l’art de la taille multipliant les facettes permettant d’augmenter l’éclat. Ils posent les bases de la taille brillant, encore la plus connue aujourd’hui. Pierre Le Tessier de Montarsy, Sylvestre Bosc, Pierre Blain : tous les artisans sont dévoués à la passion du Roi Soleil et vont faire de Paris, pendant la seconde moitié du XVIIe, la ville de la haute joaillerie.

 

Une clientèle à la mode de Louis XIV

Louis XIV déclenche un engouement phénoménal : l’aristocratie se jette à corps perdu dans le diamant au point de transformer Versailles en un théâtre éclatant. Les coiffures brillent sous les feux des chandeliers et se reflètent dans les miroirs. Les diamants sont brodés sur les devants du corsage, ils retiennent les manches et se portent en écharpe sur les manteaux de brocart. « Paradoxalement, les portraits de l’époque montrent peu cette flamboyance qui en revanche se trouve décrite dans les textes comme les mémoires de La Palatine », explique Gislain Aucremanne, historien de l’École des Arts Joailliers. L’une des représentations les plus connues est celle de Marie Leszczynska dont le devant de corsage rutile sous les broderies adamantines.

 

Les Joyaux de la Couronne

Pendant son règne, Louis XIV enrichit considérablement cette collection initiée par François Ier et qui appartient à l’État. Le Roi Soleil en fait la plus somptueuse d’Occident : en 1691, elle compte 5 885 diamants contre 1 500 autres pierres et 500 perles. Y figurent les 18 diamants hérités de Mazarin (dont le « Sancy » de 55 carats) ou des diamants de couleur dont il raffole. Le « Bleu de France » serti sur la Toison d’Or et érigé en symbole de son règne (aujourd’hui exposé à la Smithsonian Institution) côtoie l’« Hortensia » d’un rose légèrement pêche. En 1714, dans un royaume considérablement appauvri, Louis XIV se verra finalement contraint de refuser une ultime pierre exceptionnelle acquise quelques années plus tard par le Régent, qui lui donne son nom.

Articles les plus lus

Vhernier : Carlo Traglio et ses bijoux d’esthète

Carlo Traglio, propriétaire de la maison italienne, crée des pièces singulières et puissantes, empreintes de sa culture de collectionneur.

Delphine Nardin, empreintes et verre dépoli

Archéologue de formation, la créatrice imagine des bijoux à partir d’éléments portant l’empreinte du temps.

Didier Ludot et ses petites robes noires-bijoux chez Sotheby’s Paris

L’antiquaire de la mode met en vente 140 petites robes noires, le 3 octobre 2017. Pour certaines d’entre elles, le mot « bijou » s’impose...

Betony Vernon, anthropologue sexuelle

L’artiste américaine explore le plaisir des sens grâce à des bijoux et des objets érotiques. Certains sont visibles dans l’exposition...

Monika Brugger, figure du bijou contemporain

L’orfèvre/plasticienne allemande vit depuis plus de trente ans en France, pourtant son travail conceptuel y est peu connu. L’exposition à la galerie...

Jean Vendome, un pionnier du bijou contemporain

Comment ne pas rendre hommage à ce joaillier français décédé il y a quelques jours ? Méconnu du grand public il a, en 50 ans de carrière, ouvert...