See

L'invité

24 November 2016

Kazumi Arikawa, President of Albion Art

This Japanese dealer and collector who’s one of the most important in the world, has just opened a showroom in Paris. But I paid him a visit in Tokyo.

 

It’s to the sound of Gregorian chants that Kazumi Arikawa welcomes leading collectors, museum curators, historians and personalities to his Tokyo offices. Photos with the likes of Jacques Chirac attest to the prominence of these figures. And for good reason, this Japanese sexagenarian possesses some of the most beautiful and sumptuous jewelry pieces in the world, and they are for the most part French. But no question of seeing these wonders without being fittingly prepared with a tea ceremony, although probably a reduced and watered down version … Seated cross-legged in front of me in this room completely clad in tatamis, Kazumi Arikawa tries to instill in me certain gestures like turning the bowl several times with one hand while gracefully gesturing with the other. This experience is quite disconcerting and I am far from the comforts of Place Vendôme and its showrooms.

 

The casualness of the great

With no further ceremony Kazumi Arikawa hands me the jewels. Some are invaluable and yet he doesn’t wear white gloves to handle them. Just like Munnu Kasliwal did at Gem Palace, when he took out his Indian jewels and piled them in front of me without the slightest concern. That incredible experience of holding in one’s own hands what usually is in a museum showcase. Kazumi Arikawa urges me to touch them, and to turn this Renaissance enamel pendant over to reveal Cupid’s chubby enamel buttocks. Among the jewels from the 19th century, his favorites, is the sumptuous diamond thistle brooch by Loeuillard made for Boucheron. Enamel necklaces by Lucien Falize rub shoulders with those of the Art Nouveau period and the inevitable René Lalique. Kazumi Arikawa’s most recent creations date from Art Deco, as the excellence of the French workshops greatly impresses him. Georges Fouquet’s mint aquamarine and green tourmaline brooch is breathtaking.

 

Beauty at the center of all things

Kazumi Arikawa discovered jewelry during a visit to the Victoria & Albert Museum while he was a dealer in Japanese antiques in London. A real shock for someone who today, makes a return trip to Paris just to admire the exceptional pieces in an exhibition, as was the case for the Cartier exhibition at the Grand Palais. Above all, he considers jewelry as a means of freeing himself from materialism and approaching the divine. “In the end, I am not interested in the story behind a piece, its origin, the power it symbolizes or the status it conveys. For me, everything lies in its beauty and its ability to create emotion,” explains this man who in his youth spent two years as a monk in a Zen temple. He is also someone who can equally speak gemstones with a scientist or with the Dalai Lama, whom he’d met a few years ago.

 

A passion of tiaras

While his business was still of modest size, he came across a Fabergé diamond tiara whose price was roughly equivalent to half the value of his entire collection. But he managed to raise the funds … “We know today that there are only four in the world,” he explains. “That served as a lesson to me and I now buy without worrying about the price. I’m probably crazy, but luckily there are people even crazier than I!” According to one expert in the jewelry market, “he created the craze for tiaras in the early 2000s and this is the reason that some now exceed a million dollars today“.

 

Major exhibition lender

In 2007, for an exhibition dedicated to tiaras in Tokyo, he lent among others, a tiara once belonging to the Countess of Flanders, one to the Archduchess Isabella of Austria and another from Chaumet representing the wings of Valkyrie. Without his loans the exhibition Parures du pouvoir. Joyaux des cours européennes that took place in Brussels that same year would not have been what it was. He has lent many pieces packed full of history and emotion, such as the pendant with Napoleon I’s portrait, which the latter took with him to Saint Helena, or another more modest one that the Empress Eugénie took with her when she was exiled. The sumptuous necklace belonging to Catherine II composed of 26 emeralds was also part of the Albion Art collection. But shhh! … Nobody knows if these pieces still belong to him or if buyers have finally fallen for them.

 

The link with France

As Kazumi Arikawa’s clientele is predominantly Asian and Middle Eastern, he has opened a showroom in France to gain better visibility and to receive Western and especially American collectors. “This Japanese dealer has done a remarkable job of researching and preserving French jewelry,” said a representative from the sector. “A job that unfortunately nobody in France is able to do today”. And one that earned him the medal of the Order of Arts and Letters from the French Minister of Culture in 2007. Respect.

Most popular articles

Vhernier: Carlo Traglio and his aesthete’s jewelry

Carlo Traglio, owner of the Italian house, creates unique and powerful pieces that bear the imprint of his culture as a collector.

Delphine Nardin, impressions and sea glass

A trained archaeologist, the designer creates jewelry from elements bearing the imprint of time.

Didier Ludot and his bejeweled little black dresses at Sotheby's

The fashion antique dealer is selling off 140 little black dresses on October 3rd, 2017. For some of them, the word “bejeweled” is to put it mildly …

Betony Vernon, sexual anthropologist

The American artist explores the pleasure of the senses with jewels and erotic objects. Some are on show in the “Medusa” exhibition at the Museum of...

Monika Brugger: a key figure in contemporary jewelry

The German goldsmith/visual artist has lived in France for over thirty years, yet her conceptual work is little known there. The exhibition at the Mercier...

Jean Vendome, a pioneer of contemporary jewelry

How could we not pay tribute to this French jeweler who died just a short time ago? Although largely unknown to the general public, throughout a career...

L'invité

24 novembre 2016

Kazumi Arikawa, président d’Albion Art

Ce marchand et collectionneur japonais, l’un des plus importants au monde, vient d’ouvrir un salon à Paris. Mais c’est à Tokyo qu’il m’a reçue.

 

Au son de chants grégoriens, Kazumi Arikawa accueille dans ses bureaux de Tokyo, les plus grands collectionneurs, les conservateurs de musée, les historiens et des personnalités. Des photos avec certains d’entre eux, comme Jacques Chirac, attestent du haut niveau de ses interlocuteurs. Et pour cause, ce sexagénaire japonais, possède de somptueuses pièces de joaillerie, parmi les plus belles au monde et principalement françaises. Mais pas question de voir ces merveilles sans se préparer grâce à la cérémonie du thé probablement raccourcie et édulcorée… Face à moi, assis en tailleur dans une pièce complètement tapissée de tatamis, Kazumi Arikawa tente de m’inculquer certains gestes comme tourner plusieurs fois son bol tout en déplaçant avec grâce l’autre main. L’expérience est déconcertante, je suis loin d’être aussi à l’aise que dans les salons de la place Vendôme.

 

La désinvolture des grands

Kazumi Arikawa me tend les bijoux sans plus de cérémonial. Certains ont une valeur inestimable et pourtant, il ne passe pas de gants blancs pour les manipuler. Comme le faisait Munnu Kasliwal au Gem Palace, quand il sortait ses bijoux indiens et les entassait devant moi sans plus de précautions. Incroyable expérience de tenir entre ses mains ce qui, habituellement, est dans une vitrine de musée. Kazumi Arikawa m’incite à les toucher, à retourner ce pendentif en émail de la Renaissance : Cupidon présente des fesses rebondies en émail. Parmi les bijoux du XIXe, ses favoris, figure la somptueuse broche chardons en diamants de Loeuillard pour Boucheron. Les colliers en émail de Lucien Falize côtoient ceux de la période Art nouveau et de l’incontournable René Lalique. La broche en aigues-marines mentholées et tourmalines vertes de Georges Fouquet est à couper le souffle. Les créations plus récentes de Kazumi Arikawa, empreintes de l’excellence des ateliers français, datent des années Art déco.

 

La beauté au centre de tout

Kazumi Arikawa a découvert la joaillerie lors d’une visite au Victoria & Albert Museum, alors qu’il était marchand d’antiquités japonaises à Londres. Un choc pour celui qui est capable de faire un aller-retour à Paris pour admirer les pièces exceptionnelles d’une exposition, comme ce fut le cas pour celle de Cartier au Grand Palais. Il considère avant tout le bijou comme un moyen de s’affranchir du matérialisme et de se rapprocher du divin. « Je ne m’intéresse finalement ni à l’histoire d’une pièce, ni à sa provenance, ni au symbole de pouvoir ou au statut qu’elle véhicule. Pour moi, tout réside dans sa beauté et sa capacité à créer de l’émotion », explique celui qui dans sa jeunesse a passé deux ans comme moine dans un temple zen. Il est aussi de ceux qui peuvent parler pierres précieuses avec un scientifique comme avec le Dalaï Lama, rencontré il y a quelques années.

 

La passion des diadèmes

Alors que son affaire est encore de taille modeste, il « croise » un diadème en diamants Fabergé dont le prix correspond à peu près, à la moitié de la valeur de sa collection. Mais il se débrouille pour réunir les fonds… « On sait aujourd’hui qu’il n’en existe que quatre dans le monde, explique-t-il. Cela m’a servi de leçon et j’achète dorénavant sans me préoccuper du prix. Je suis sans doute fou, mais heureusement il y a encore plus fou que moi ! » Selon une experte du marché de la joaillerie, c’est d’ailleurs « lui qui a créé l’engouement pour les diadèmes à partir des années 2000 et fait que certains dépassent aujourd’hui le million de dollars ».

 

Grand prêteur des expositions

En 2007, lors de l’exposition consacrée au diadème à Tokyo, il prête entre autres celui de la comtesse de Flandre, de l’archiduchesse Isabelle d’Autriche ou encore le modèle Chaumet figurant des ailes de Valkyrie. Sans ses prêts, l’exposition « Parures du pouvoir. Joyaux des cours européennes » qui a eu lieu à Bruxelles la même année, n’aurait pas été ce qu’elle a été. Il a prêté maintes pièces chargées d’histoire et d’émotion comme le pendentif au portrait de Napoléon Ier que ce dernier garda à Sainte-Hélène ou celui plus modeste que l’impératrice Eugénie emporta en exil. Le somptueux collier de Catherine II composé de 26 émeraudes faisait aussi partie de la collection Albion Art. Mais chut… Personne ne sait si ces pièces lui appartiennent encore ou si un acheteur a finalement craqué.

 

L’histoire avec la France

La clientèle de Kazumi Arikawa étant principalement asiatique et moyen-orientale, il a ouvert un salon en France afin de gagner en visibilité et de recevoir les collectionneurs occidentaux et plus particulièrement, américains. « Ce marchand japonais a fait un travail remarquable de recherche et de préservation des bijoux français, explique en off un acteur du secteur. Un travail que malheureusement personne en France n’est aujourd’hui capable de faire. » Ce qui lui a valu de la part du ministre français de la Culture, en 2007, la médaille de l’ordre des Arts et des Lettres. Respect.

Articles les plus lus

Jean Vendome, un pionnier du bijou contemporain

Comment ne pas rendre hommage à ce joaillier français décédé il y a quelques jours ? Méconnu du grand public il a, en 50 ans de carrière, ouvert...

Carole Fraresso, archéo-métallurgiste

Commissaire scientifique de l’exposition « Inca – Or. Pouvoir. Dieu. », Carole Fraresso est également la créatrice des bijoux Motché, inspirés des...

Feng. J, joaillière du XXIe siècle

Après Shanghai, Feng J. est sur le point d’ouvrir un deuxième showroom à Paris pour présenter ses pièces de haute joaillerie. À à peine plus de 30...

« Medusa. Bijoux et tabous » - L'installation

Quelques jours avant l’ouverture de l’exposition « Medusa », j’ai rencontré la commissaire Anne Dressen et les deux conseillers scientifiques,...

Clémence, Lara, Émeraude et les Rolex à logo

Clémence Cahu s’est intéressée aux Rolex vintage en série limitée portant le logo d’une entreprise ou d’une armée. Voici les cinq modèles...

Mucha et les bijoux Art nouveau

Alfons Maria Mucha, connu pour ses affiches publicitaires et ses panneaux décoratifs, a aussi joué un rôle essentiel en joaillerie, notamment grâce à...