L'invité

24 November 2016

Jean-Christophe Charbonnier and his warrior jewelry

Silk, sculpted and crafted metal, gold … Japanese armor is akin to real ornaments. Jean-Christophe Charbonnier, a world-renowned specialist who provides pieces to leading museums like the Guimet or the Louvre in Abu Dhabi, decrypts it for us.

 

Is it an anachronism to see samurai armor as an aesthetic object, or was the concern for beauty there from the very beginning?

For us Westerners, art has an ostentatious dimension linked to the sacred. Japanese civilization, for its part, easily conceives that an ordinary object, like a teaspoon, may have an artistic dimension. Utility does not obliterate the beautiful, a fortiori when the objects are designed for the important people of Japanese society. In these weapons nothing is gratuitous: all ornamentation has a meaning.

 

In this culture where men do not wear jewelry, does armor serve the role par excellence of ornamentation?

There is indeed a dimension of appearance. It must be a reflection of power, of political, military and financial power. Hence the sumptuousness of the brocades, silk laces and golden threads. But it is also a weapon of defense. To possess armor, it was necessary to have horses and therefore to have substantial revenues like the daimyos once did. These great feudal barons who possessed fiefs and spent their time making war, and whose wealth was calculated in koku, the rice production unit.

 

Is the armor found in museums ceremonial armor?

There was no difference between ceremonial armor and any other. All were made to defend. Japanese armor was made to resist swords and arrows, sharp and cutting weapons, while Western armor had to resist heavier, blunter weapons.

Armor is the most valuable thing because it protects what’s most important: life. Hence the relationship between superior technology and form.

 

The helmets are stunningly beautiful.

The abstract, magnificent, and quasi-conceptual forms give off an indescribable power and force. The Japanese helmet, designed in the sixteenth century, already had the ergonomics of those of today worn by armies the world over. As its role was not to hinder the fighter, the very high crests made up of lacquered elements are actually very light, like the incredible Kawari Kabuto.

The helmet is also a vector for abstract notions: on a model from 1580, the two elements pointing towards the sky are the tail of a swallow, a fast and spiraling bird symbolizing the speed of intervention and maneuverability in the governance of the troops. On another stands a dragonfly, this insect that never recoils and which eats all others, to evoke the ability to face the opponent.

The Japanese were animists who interacted with nature. They were fascinated by the creatures with exoskeletons (external skeletons) and with carapaces: this helmet is adorned with imposing wadikate, crab pinchers lacquered red and silver with, at the base, bear’s hair.

The mix of the very sophisticated and the very crude, even the savage characterize in particular this art. Some sword scabbards are covered with tiger skin and arrow sheaths are decorated with wild boar hair. The latter are not only ornamental, they evoke the goddess of warriors represented riding a boar. In what other culture is a fish tail placed on top of a military helmet?

 

For a novice, the armor seems not to have varied for several centuries.

It hardly evolved from its origins until the end of the sixteenth century. Made up of metal, silk and steel scales, it offered the best protection possible. The sword did not undergo any structural changes after the twelfth century. Only with the appearance of firearms in the sixteenth century, were the scales replaced by more protective horizontal plates. The latter may be lacquered, exceptionally covered with shagreen or artificial scales to reproduce that traditional aspect.

Traditionally the great barons, the generals, charged at the head of their troops. From the sixteenth century onward, firing arquebuses obliged them to remain behind, and so they began wearing spectacular helmets visible from afar by their troops; these are today my specialty. From then on the armor didn’t evolve much further until the nineteenth century.

 

What fascinates you so much in this armor?

Its light and dark side. The paradox between the pieces’ refinement, ornamentation and the fact that they served so many cruelties. This is what gives them that power and strength.

 

Interview by Ludovic Leonelli.

 

Galerie Jean-Christophe Charbonnier
Japanese Arms, Armour and Works of Art
52, rue de Verneuil – 75007 PARIS
+33 (0)6 62 18 02 99
www.artdujapon.com

Most popular articles

Jean Vendome, a pioneer of contemporary jewelry

How could we not pay tribute to this French jeweler who died just a short time ago? Although largely unknown to the general public, throughout a career...

Carole Fraresso, archeo-metallurgist

Scientific curator of the “Incas – Gold. Power. God.” exhibition, Carole Fraresso also designs the “Motché” jewelry inspired by pre-Columbian...

Feng. J, jeweler of the 21st century

After Shanghai, Feng. J is about to open a second showroom in Paris to present her high jewelry pieces. At just over 30, this Chinese designer has...

“Medusa. Jewellery and Taboos” - The installation

A few days before the opening of the Medusa exhibition, Sandrine Merle met with the curator, Anne Dressen, and two scientific advisers, Benjamin Lignel and...

Clémence, Lara, Émeraude and Rolex with logos

Clémence Cahu is interested in vintage Rolex watches in limited series and bearing a company or an army logo. Here are the five models she selected...

Mucha's Art Nouveau jewelry

Alfons Maria Mucha, best known for his advertising posters and decorative designs, also played an essential role in jewelry, notably thanks to his...

L'invité

24 novembre 2016

Jean-Christophe Charbonnier et ses parures guerrières

Soie, métal sculpté et façonné, or… Les armures japonaises s’apparentent à de véritables parures. Jean-Christophe Charbonnier, spécialiste mondialement reconnu et fournisseur des plus grands musées comme Guimet ou le Louvre d’Abu Dhabi, nous les décrypte.

 

Avoir une vision esthétique des armures de samouraï, est-ce un anachronisme ou le souci du beau était-il présent à l’origine ?

Pour nous, Occidentaux, l’art a une dimension ostentatoire liée au sacré. La civilisation japonaise, elle, conçoit aisément qu’un objet usuel, comme une cuillère à thé, puisse avoir une dimension artistique. L’utile n’oblitère pas le beau, a fortiori quand les objets sont conçus pour les gens importants de la société japonaise. Dans ces armes, rien n’est gratuit : toute ornementation a un sens.

 

Dans cet univers où les hommes ne portent pas de bijou, l’armure est le lieu par excellence de l’ornementation ?

Il y a en effet une dimension d’apparat. Elle se doit d’être le reflet du pouvoir, de la puissance politique, militaire et financière. D’où la somptuosité des brocards, des lacets de soie et des fils d’or. Mais c’est également une arme de défense. Pour posséder une armure, il faut avoir des chevaux et donc des revenus importants comme les daimyos, ces grands féodaux possesseurs de fiefs, qui passaient leur temps à se faire la guerre et dont la richesse est calculée en koku, c’est-à-dire en unité de production de riz.

 

Les armures de musée sont-elles des armures d’apparat ?

Il n’y a aucune différence entre les armures d’apparat et les autres. Toutes sont faites pour se défendre. Les armures japonaises sont faites pour résister aux sabres et aux arcs, des armes coupantes et tranchantes, alors que les armures occidentales doivent affronter des armes contondantes.

L’armure est la chose la plus précieuse car elle protège le plus important : la vie. D’où l’alliance entre technologie savante et formes.

 

Les casques sont d’une beauté stupéfiante.

Les formes abstraites, magnifiques, quasi conceptuelles, dégagent une force indescriptible. Le casque japonais, très ancien, a déjà l’ergonomie de ceux d’aujourd’hui, portés par les armées du monde entier. Comme il ne devait pas entraver le combattant, certains cimiers très hauts et composés d’éléments en laque, sont en fait très légers comme l’incroyable Kawari Kabuto.

Le casque est également vecteur de notions abstraites : sur un modèle de 1580, les deux éléments pointant vers le ciel figurent la queue d’une hirondelle, oiseau rapide et virevoltant symbolisant la rapidité d’intervention et la maniabilité dans la gouvernance des troupes. Sur un autre se dresse une libellule, cet insecte qui ne recule jamais et mange les autres, pour évoquer la capacité à faire face à l’adversaire.

Les Japonais sont des animistes qui interagissent avec la nature. Ils sont fascinés par les créatures à exosquelette (squelette externe) et à carapace : ce casque est orné d’imposants wadikate, des pinces de crabe laquées rouge et argent avec, à la base, des poils d’ours.

Cet art se caractérise notamment par la rencontre du très sophistiqué et du très brut, voire du sauvage. Certains fourreaux de sabre sont recouverts de fourrure de tigre, des fourreaux d’arc sont ornés de poils de sanglier. Ces derniers ne sont pas uniquement ornementaux, ils évoquent la déesse des guerriers représentée chevauchant un sanglier. Dans quelle autre culture pose-t-on une queue de poisson sur un casque militaire ?

 

Pour un néophyte, l’armure semble ne pas avoir varié pendant plusieurs siècles.

Elle n’a quasiment pas évolué depuis ses origines jusqu’à la fin du XVIe siècle. Faite d’écailles de métal, de soie et d’acier, elle est la meilleure protection possible. Le sabre, lui, n’a connu aucun changement structurel depuis le XIIe siècle. Seule l’apparition de l’arme à feu au XVIe siècle, a obligé à remplacer les écailles par des plaques de métal horizontales, plus protectrices. Ces dernières peuvent être laquées, exceptionnellement recouvertes de galuchat ou d’écailles factices reproduisant l’aspect traditionnel.

Traditionnellement les grands seigneurs, les généraux, chargeaient à la tête de leurs troupes. À partir du XVIe siècle, le feu des arquebusiers les obligeant à rester en arrière, ils se mirent à porter des casques spectaculaires visibles de loin par leurs troupes qui sont aujourd’hui ma spécialité. Ensuite, les armures n’évoluent plus jusqu’au XIXe siècle.

 

Qu’est-ce qui vous fascine tant dans ces armures ?

Leur part d’ombre et de lumière. Le paradoxe entre leur raffinement, leurs ornementations et le fait qu’elles aient servi à tant de cruautés. C’est ce qui leur confère cette puissance et cette force.

 

Propos recueillis par Ludovic Leonelli.

 

Galerie Jean-Christophe Charbonnier
Armes, armures et objets d’art du Japon
52, rue de Verneuil – 75007 PARIS
+33 (0)6 62 18 02 99
www.artdujapon.com

Articles les plus lus

Jean Vendome, un pionnier du bijou contemporain

Comment ne pas rendre hommage à ce joaillier français décédé il y a quelques jours ? Méconnu du grand public il a, en 50 ans de carrière, ouvert...

Carole Fraresso, archéo-métallurgiste

Commissaire scientifique de l’exposition « Inca – Or. Pouvoir. Dieu. », Carole Fraresso est également la créatrice des bijoux Motché, inspirés des...

Feng. J, joaillière du XXIe siècle

Après Shanghai, Feng J. est sur le point d’ouvrir un deuxième showroom à Paris pour présenter ses pièces de haute joaillerie. À à peine plus de 30...

« Medusa. Bijoux et tabous » - L'installation

Quelques jours avant l’ouverture de l’exposition « Medusa », j’ai rencontré la commissaire Anne Dressen et les deux conseillers scientifiques,...

Clémence, Lara, Émeraude et les Rolex à logo

Clémence Cahu s’est intéressée aux Rolex vintage en série limitée portant le logo d’une entreprise ou d’une armée. Voici les cinq modèles...

Mucha et les bijoux Art nouveau

Alfons Maria Mucha, connu pour ses affiches publicitaires et ses panneaux décoratifs, a aussi joué un rôle essentiel en joaillerie, notamment grâce à...