See

L'invité

06 September 2016

Eugenie, Empress of jewels

What were the tastes of this Empress who was one of the largest jewelry collectors of all time?

 

Jewelry for official occasions

At receptions and balls, the Empress’s duty was to promote the expertise of French creation. On her breathtaking gowns by designer Charles Worth, she wore pieces by the jewelers Evrard Bapst and Gabriel Lemonnier, today lost. Qualifying them as the “harness of representation”, she quickly got rid of her jewels on leaving the ball, dropping them into the hands of her entourage. Five of these priceless pieces survived the sale of the Crown Jewels in 1887 and are now exhibited at the Louvre.

 

Personal collection

These jewelry pieces are less ostentatious and more varied in style. Here we find a peacock feather brooch, dragonflies and butterflies, pieces in antique and naturalist-styles, chandelier earrings, a four-leaf clover brooch in emeralds by Fossin the Emperor gave her before their wedding, and a heart in rubies among others. Order books show she visited her favorite jeweler, Mellerio, almost each day.

 

A young woman of fashion

The Empress added her personal touch by having her jewelry pieces dismantled and made into new ones. Her large belt bow she moved to the front of her bodice and the fan the Emperor gave her in ivory and Alençon lace studded with diamonds was transformed into a series of star pins worn in the hair in an inspiration coming from Elisabeth of Austria.

 

The cult for Marie Antoinette

She identified with her … She posed with powdered hair and a yellow taffeta dress with blue ribbons and black bows, and had copies made of her stomachers like this brooch depicting gooseberry leaves, sold by Christie’s in 2014. The ribbons, flowers and foliage and especially the bows were among her favorite motifs.

 

Pearl bulimia

Here she rivaled her cousin Mathilde. Her collection included countless necklaces, including one with three rows she received from the Emperor just before their marriage. There were also pairs such as these grey drops, recently sold by the American jeweler Siegelson. She inherited the “Regente”, a legendary pearl acquired by Napoleon for Marie Louise which the Russian jeweler Faberge acquired in 1887.

 

A passion for emeralds

Eugenie had a magnificent collection of Colombian emeralds. After successive inheritances and sales, seven of them are to be found on a necklace belonging to Shah of Iran’s wife. Christie’s in Geneva sold two others, respectively of 17.97 carats and 15.99 carats, in 2011.

 

Jewelry and a sense of charity

Eugenie’s passion for jewelry did not stop her from refusing a sumptuous necklace the city of Paris wished to give her for her marriage, she asked that the amount be used for the construction of an orphanage.

 

Thank you to Émilie Bérard, head of heritage at Mellerio.

 

Further reading:

Bijoux des deux Empires, Claudette Joannis (Somogy éditions d’Art)
Mellerio dits Meller, Joaillier des reines, Vincent Meylan (Éditions Télémaque)

Most popular articles

Jean Vendome, a pioneer of contemporary jewelry

How could we not pay tribute to this French jeweler who died just a short time ago? Although largely unknown to the general public, throughout a career...

Carole Fraresso, archeo-metallurgist

Scientific curator of the “Incas – Gold. Power. God.” exhibition, Carole Fraresso also designs the “Motché” jewelry inspired by pre-Columbian...

Feng. J, jeweler of the 21st century

After Shanghai, Feng. J is about to open a second showroom in Paris to present her high jewelry pieces. At just over 30, this Chinese designer has...

“Medusa. Jewellery and Taboos” - The installation

A few days before the opening of the Medusa exhibition, Sandrine Merle met with the curator, Anne Dressen, and two scientific advisers, Benjamin Lignel and...

Clémence, Lara, Émeraude and Rolex with logos

Clémence Cahu is interested in vintage Rolex watches in limited series and bearing a company or an army logo. Here are the five models she selected...

Mucha's Art Nouveau jewelry

Alfons Maria Mucha, best known for his advertising posters and decorative designs, also played an essential role in jewelry, notably thanks to his...

L'invité

06 septembre 2016

Eugénie, impératrice du bijou

Quels étaient les goûts de l’impératrice, l’une des plus grandes collectionneuses de bijoux de tous les temps ?

 

Les bijoux officiels

Lors des réceptions et des bals, l’impératrice a le devoir de promouvoir le savoir-faire des manufactures françaises. Sur ses robes époustouflantes du couturier Charles Worth, elle porte des pièces des joailliers Evrard Bapst et Gabriel Lemonnier, aujourd’hui disparus. Les qualifiant de « harnais de la représentation », elle s’en débarrasse très vite à la sortie du bal, les laissant tomber dans les mains de son entourage. Cinq d’entre elles d’une valeur inestimable, ont survécu à la vente des Joyaux de la Couronne en 1887 et sont aujourd’hui exposées au Louvre.

 

La cassette personnelle

Les bijoux sont moins ostentatoires et de style très variés. On y trouve une broche en forme de plume de paon, des libellules et des papillons, des bijoux à l’antique ou naturalistes, des boucles d’oreilles chandelier, une broche trèfle à quatre feuilles en émeraudes de Fossin offerte par l’empereur avant leur mariage, un cœur en rubis, etc. Les livres de commande en témoignent : elle se rend presque quotidiennement chez son joaillier préféré, Mellerio.

 

Une jeune femme à la mode

L’impératrice ajoute sa touche personnelle en faisant démonter ses bijoux pour en obtenir de nouveaux. Son grand nœud de ceinture est décalé en devant de corsage, l’éventail offert par l’Empereur en ivoire et en dentelle d’Alençon parsemé de diamants, se métamorphose en une série de broches étoiles à piquer dans la chevelure, inspirées par celles d’Élisabeth d’Autriche.

 

Le culte pour Marie-Antoinette

Elle s’identifie… Elle pose en cheveux poudrés et robe de taffetas jaune ornée de rubans bleus et de nœuds noirs et fait copier les devants de corsages comme cette broche figurant des feuilles de groseillier, vendue par Christie’s, en 2014. Les rubans, les fleurs et les feuillages et surtout les nœuds figurent parmi ses motifs préférés.

 

Une boulimie de perles fines

Dans ce registre, elle rivalise avec sa cousine Mathilde. Sa cassette comprend d’innombrables colliers dont celui à trois rangs offert par l’Empereur, juste avant son mariage. Il y a aussi des paires comme celle de gouttes grises, récemment vendue par le joaillier américain Siegelson. Elle a hérité de la « Régente », une perle mythique acquise par Napoléon pour Marie-Louise. En 1887, elle est achetée par le joaillier russe Fabergé.

 

Une passion pour les émeraudes

Eugénie possède une magnifique collection d’émeraudes colombiennes. Au fil des héritages et des ventes, on retrouve sept d’entre elles sur un collier de l’épouse du Shah d’Iran. Deux autres, de respectivement 17,97 carats et 15,99 carats, ont été vendues par Christie’s, à Genève, en 2011.

 

Bijoux et sens de la charité

Cette passion pour les bijoux n’a pas empêché Eugénie de refuser le somptueux collier que lui offre la ville de Paris, pour son mariage : elle demande alors à ce que la somme soit utilisée pour la construction d’un orphelinat.

 

Merci à Émilie Bérard, responsable du patrimoine chez Mellerio.

 

À lire :

Bijoux des deux Empires, Claudette Joannis (Somogy éditions d’Art)
Mellerio dits Meller, Joaillier des reines, Vincent Meylan (Éditions Télémaque)

Articles les plus lus

Jean Vendome, un pionnier du bijou contemporain

Comment ne pas rendre hommage à ce joaillier français décédé il y a quelques jours ? Méconnu du grand public il a, en 50 ans de carrière, ouvert...

Carole Fraresso, archéo-métallurgiste

Commissaire scientifique de l’exposition « Inca – Or. Pouvoir. Dieu. », Carole Fraresso est également la créatrice des bijoux Motché, inspirés des...

Feng. J, joaillière du XXIe siècle

Après Shanghai, Feng J. est sur le point d’ouvrir un deuxième showroom à Paris pour présenter ses pièces de haute joaillerie. À à peine plus de 30...

« Medusa. Bijoux et tabous » - L'installation

Quelques jours avant l’ouverture de l’exposition « Medusa », j’ai rencontré la commissaire Anne Dressen et les deux conseillers scientifiques,...

Clémence, Lara, Émeraude et les Rolex à logo

Clémence Cahu s’est intéressée aux Rolex vintage en série limitée portant le logo d’une entreprise ou d’une armée. Voici les cinq modèles...

Mucha et les bijoux Art nouveau

Alfons Maria Mucha, connu pour ses affiches publicitaires et ses panneaux décoratifs, a aussi joué un rôle essentiel en joaillerie, notamment grâce à...