L'invité

12 January 2017

Puyuan Yang, Chinese designer

Don’t consider going out on the town wearing Puyuan Yang’s jewelry, as her pieces have more to do with works of art than jewels.

 

My appointment with this 25-year-old from Hong Kong and graduate of Saint Martins School, takes place in the studio of one of her friends, just west of Hong Kong. To reach the 15th floor of a block of buildings housing a labyrinth of warehouses, one must first confront the deafening clatter of metal trolleys and clanging lifts. In the concourse, the color flats and neon-lit Chinese ideograms would bring tears to Martin Parr’s eyes.

 

The idea

Puyuan Yang’s brass creations are not just jewelry; they are more akin to conceptual art pieces that one would expect to find in the most hip of galleries. These metal structures constraint the body and force it to take on postures of such mythical figures as the Discobolus, Botticelli’s Three Graces, Michelangelo’s David or his God the Creator in the Sistine Chapel. The resulting effects are classical gestures and baroque contortions.

 

Production

To reproduce these poses, she’s developed a system of arcuate rods to slip under the clothes and to which are fixed hooks, the same ones that hold up works of art in museums. The head turns to the side and in an unfolding movement the arm is stretched out and the index finger projected towards the other arm taking on a similar pose. By looking at them, one can guess which works they refer to.

 

A neo-rupture

“My jewelry pieces are not ornaments. They are made to transform the body into a museum or contemporary art gallery object,” says Puyuan Yang. Born of a desire for experimentation, curiosity and even game-playing, their role is to question the notion of ideal beauty and the function of jewel. Unwearable, they are the heirs of pieces from 1960s by artists like Gijs Bakker. They also treat the overkill produce by those too-often seen pieces like ear cuffs, phalanx rings, double rings or hand bracelets set with diamonds, which brands infinity duplicate by the hundreds.

Most popular articles

Jean Vendome, a pioneer of contemporary jewelry

How could we not pay tribute to this French jeweler who died just a short time ago? Although largely unknown to the general public, throughout a career...

Carole Fraresso, archeo-metallurgist

Scientific curator of the “Incas – Gold. Power. God.” exhibition, Carole Fraresso also designs the “Motché” jewelry inspired by pre-Columbian...

Feng. J, jeweler of the 21st century

After Shanghai, Feng. J is about to open a second showroom in Paris to present her high jewelry pieces. At just over 30, this Chinese designer has...

“Medusa. Jewellery and Taboos” - The installation

A few days before the opening of the Medusa exhibition, Sandrine Merle met with the curator, Anne Dressen, and two scientific advisers, Benjamin Lignel and...

Clémence, Lara, Émeraude and Rolex with logos

Clémence Cahu is interested in vintage Rolex watches in limited series and bearing a company or an army logo. Here are the five models she selected...

Mucha's Art Nouveau jewelry

Alfons Maria Mucha, best known for his advertising posters and decorative designs, also played an essential role in jewelry, notably thanks to his...

L'invité

12 janvier 2017

Puyuan Yang, créatrice chinoise

Ne pensez pas sortir avec les bijoux de Puyuan Yang, ils s’apparentent à des œuvres d’art.

 

Le rendez-vous avec cette jeune hongkongaise d’à peine 25 ans, diplômée de la Saint Martins School, a lieu dans l’atelier d’une de ses amies, tout à l’ouest de Hong Kong. Pour accéder au 15e étage d’une barre d’immeubles abritant un dédale d’entrepôts, il faut affronter un ballet assourdissant de chariots métalliques, de monte-charges, etc. Dans les halls, les à-plats de couleur et d’idéogrammes chinois éclairés au néon feraient le bonheur de Martin Parr.

 

L’idée

Les créations en laiton de Puyuan Yang ne sont pas des bijoux, elles s’apparentent à des pièces d’art conceptuel que l’on s’attendrait à trouver dans les galeries les plus hype. Ces structures métalliques contraignent le corps et l’obligent à prendre des postures de figures mythiques comme le Discobole, les Trois Grâces de Botticelli, le David de Michel-Ange ou le Dieu créateur de la chapelle Sixtine. On aboutit à une gestuelle classique et à des contorsions baroques.

 

La réalisation

Pour les reproduire, elle a mis au point un système de tiges en arc de cercle à glisser sous les vêtements et auxquelles sont fixés des crochets, les mêmes qui maintiennent les œuvres d’art dans les musées. La tête se tourne sur le côté dans un mouvement se déployant sur le côté, le bras est tendu et l’index projeté vers un autre bras prenant une pose comparable. En les regardant, on peut deviner à quelles œuvres elles font référence.

 

Une néo-rupture

« Mes bijoux ne sont pas des ornements. Ils sont faits pour transformer le corps en objet de musée ou de galerie d’art contemporain », explique Puyuan Yang. Nés d’un désir d’expérimentation, d’une curiosité et même d’un jeu, ils ont vocation à interroger la notion de beauté idéale et la fonction du bijou. Importables, ils sont les héritiers des pièces d’artistes des années 1960 comme Gijs Bakker. Ils traduisent aussi l’overdose de pièces trop vues comme les ear cuffs, bagues de phalange, doubles-bagues ou encore bracelets de main sertis de diamants et dupliqués à l’infini par des centaines de marques.

Articles les plus lus

Jean Vendome, un pionnier du bijou contemporain

Comment ne pas rendre hommage à ce joaillier français décédé il y a quelques jours ? Méconnu du grand public il a, en 50 ans de carrière, ouvert...

Carole Fraresso, archéo-métallurgiste

Commissaire scientifique de l’exposition « Inca – Or. Pouvoir. Dieu. », Carole Fraresso est également la créatrice des bijoux Motché, inspirés des...

Feng. J, joaillière du XXIe siècle

Après Shanghai, Feng J. est sur le point d’ouvrir un deuxième showroom à Paris pour présenter ses pièces de haute joaillerie. À à peine plus de 30...

« Medusa. Bijoux et tabous » - L'installation

Quelques jours avant l’ouverture de l’exposition « Medusa », j’ai rencontré la commissaire Anne Dressen et les deux conseillers scientifiques,...

Clémence, Lara, Émeraude et les Rolex à logo

Clémence Cahu s’est intéressée aux Rolex vintage en série limitée portant le logo d’une entreprise ou d’une armée. Voici les cinq modèles...

Mucha et les bijoux Art nouveau

Alfons Maria Mucha, connu pour ses affiches publicitaires et ses panneaux décoratifs, a aussi joué un rôle essentiel en joaillerie, notamment grâce à...