See

28 July 2016

Zoom on emeralds

What you should know about this green gem.

 

1. The comeback

– Van Cleef & Arpels has devoted its Émeraude en Majesté collection to emeralds. The pieces revolve around origins, sizes, endless green intensities, color combinations, figurative or geometric mounts and settings.

– Such creators as the Brazilian Fernando Jorge, the Colombian Lucia Bueno-Mallarino, the Lebanese Dina Kamal or the American Cathy Waterman, the feature it. Nina Runsdorf uses it in slices trimmed with diamonds. Selim Mouzannar uses a rare variety, called trapiche, characterized by inclusions forming a six-pointed star pattern.

– The emerald’s strong return has been largely orchestrated by powerful mining companies like Gemfields Minerias Texas and Colombia (MTC) in Muzo that “lend” stones to designers and jewelers.

 

2. Producing countries

“Colombian emeralds dominated the market until the mid-twentieth century, before being slightly overtaken by those of Zambia. This country, with its Kagem mine, now represents 35% of world production. Brazil is in third position with 15%, ahead of Russia, Madagascar and Afghanistan,” says Jean-Claude Michelou, in charge of communication at the International Colored Gemstone Association, and Technical Advisor to the United Nations on traceability of gold and colored stones.

 

3. Challenges

– Like many colored stones, this green gem is mainly extracted in artisanal mines that often escape control and regulation. “Currently 63% of emerald mining is undertaken without meeting legal extraction standards and partially evade taxing,” according to Maria Isabel Ulloa, Deputy British mines.

– The quality of emeralds poses a number of problems. To make them more transparent and pure, resin treatments and oiling is used to fill internal micro-cracks. With time, the treatments tend to yellow or fall out.

– Producing countries, governments and other stakeholders participated in the first International Emerald Symposium in Bogotá in 2015. The mission was to try to harmonize the global market and make it more transparent, which had already been achieved with diamonds.

Most popular articles

Artcurial: masterpieces from the Monaco jewelry sale

The Artcurial sale taking place at Monaco’s Hotel Hermitage on 18 and 19 July features some extraordinary jewelry items. These are the texts I wrote to go...

GemGenève: a recipe for success

If ever you dreamed of a first-rate jewelry fair with a friendly, even family atmosphere on a human scale, GemGenève is the one.

Sotheby’s historical records in Geneva

Sotheby’s latest auctions shone a spotlight on the Farnese. Sold for $6.7 million, this historic diamond of over 6 carats is one of the exceptional pieces...

Australia, the new Eldorado

Australia – a country that seems very distant to us, with one of the sparsest populations in the world – is a positive Eldorado for jewelers.

Martin Margiela's jewelry

The Palais Galliera and the Musée des Arts Décoratifs are both organizing exhibitions devoted to Martin Margiela: one on his company, the other on his...

Chaumet exhibits its jewelry drawings

The French jeweler unveils some remarkable jewelry drawings that are also gems of art.   At the 27th salon du Dessin, Chaumet is unveiling 38 drawings of...

28 juillet 2016

Zoom sur l’émeraude

Ce qu’il faut savoir sur cette gemme verte.

 

1. Le come back

– Van Cleef & Arpels vient de lui consacrer une collection entière, « Émeraude en Majesté ». Le travail s’articule autour des provenances, des tailles, des infinies intensités de vert, des associations de couleurs, des montures figuratives ou géométriques, etc.

– Les créateurs comme le Brésilien Fernando Jorge, la Colombienne Lucia Bueno-Mallarino, la Libanaise Dina Kamal ou encore l’Américaine Cathy Waterman, la mettent en scène. Nina Runsdorf la travaille en slices, c’est-à-dire en fines tranches gansées de diamants. Selim Mouzannar utilise une variété rare, dite trapiche, caractérisée par des inclusions formant un motif à six branches.

– Ce retour en force de l’émeraude est largement orchestré par les puissantes sociétés d’extraction minière comme Gemfields et Minerias Texas Colombia (MTC) à Muzo qui « prêtent » des pierres à certains créateurs et joailliers.

 

2. Les pays producteurs

« Les émeraudes de Colombie ont largement dominé le marché jusqu’au milieu du XXe siècle, avant d’être légèrement dépassées par celles de Zambie. Ce pays, avec sa mine de Kagem, représente aujourd’hui 35% de la production mondiale. Le Brésil se classe en troisième position avec 15%, avant la Russie, Madagascar et l’Afghanistan », explique Jean-Claude Michelou en charge de la communication de l’International Colored Gemstone Association et conseiller technique auprès des Nations Unis sur la traçabilité de l’or et des pierres de couleur.

 

3. Les défis

– Comme toutes les pierres de couleur, cette gemme verte est principalement extraite dans des mines artisanales qui échappent souvent à tout contrôle et réglementation. « Actuellement 63 % de l’activité minière de l’émeraude est réalisée sans répondre aux normes légales d’extraction ou en échappant partiellement aux taxes », selon Maria Isabel Ulloa, vice-ministre des mines de Colombie.

– La qualité de l’émeraude pose, elle aussi, un certain nombre de problèmes. Pour la rendre plus transparente et plus pure, on a abusé des traitements à base de résine ou d’huile permettant de combler ses microfissures internes. Avec le temps, l’une a tendance à jaunir et l’autre à ressortir.

– Pays producteurs, gouvernements et autres acteurs ont participé au premier Symposium international des émeraudes, à Bogotá en 2015. Mission : tenter d’harmoniser le marché global et de le rendre moins opaque, ce qui a été réussi dans la filière du diamant.

Articles les plus lus

Artcurial, masterpieces de la vente joaillerie à Monaco

La vente Artcurial qui aura lieu à l’hôtel Hermitage de Monaco, les 18 et 19 juillet prochain, propose des bijoux exceptionnels. Voici les textes que j’ai...

GemGenève, les raisons d’un succès

Si vous rêviez d’un salon joaillier de qualité, convivial presque familial et à taille humaine… GemGenève l’a fait.

Les records historiques de Sotheby’s à Genève

Les dernières enchères de Sotheby’s ont mis en lumière le Farnese. Adjugé $6,7 millions, ce diamant historique de plus de 6 carats s’inscrit dans la...

L'Australie, un nouvel eldorado

L’Australie, ce pays qui nous semble très lointain et dont la densité de population est l’une des plus faibles du globe, suscite l’engouement chez les...

Les bijoux chez Martin Margiela

Le Palais Galliera et le Musée des Arts Décoratifs organisent chacun une exposition consacrée à Martin Margiela : l’une sur sa maison, l’autre sur...

Chaumet expose ses dessins de bijoux

Chaumet dévoile des dessins de bijoux exceptionnels qui s’apparentent à des œuvres d’art.