See

26 February 2016

On a thread

In jewelry, skinny is also trendy.

Jewelry made up of simple gold threads… Solange Azagury-Partridge likes them to take a calligraphic twist and transforms them into a succession of letters like “darling” or “marry me”. A sweet way to send messages, adopted today by jewelry brands like Atelier Paulin or Théa. The gold threads also follow straight lines and geometric curves intersecting in space to form pyramidal cages, as in the case of Rachel Perez Bitan. The American, Jacqueline Rabun, encases her diamond in a golden grid cage. Some jewelry pieces are fashioned in full or in thin strokes that wrap gently around the finger or wrist. Sophie Bille Brahe and Agathe Saint Girons twist the golden threads to form earrings evoking squiggles.

The principle is not new, already Calder had sculpted immateriality in an extraordinary way: with a simple piece of wire and a fluid gesture he traced an outline to achieve perfect balance and to create movement. By creating a jewelry piece with 5% precious metal and 95% empty space, he managed the feat of making us see what doesn’t really exist.

The scale of this trend for the filiform is maybe a response to a desire for minimalism, but not only… The increase in gold prices over recent years also has a part to play. “Removing 4 grams of gold can make a 100-euro difference to the cost price and 400 to 700 euros to the sale price“, discreetly explains a professional. A blessing in disguise.

Most popular articles

3 must-see jewelry exhibitions

These three upcoming jewelry exhibitions, both very different, highlight the multiple facets of jewelry, from ornament to object of power, love or loyalty.

Artcurial: masterpieces from the Monaco jewelry sale

The Artcurial sale taking place at Monaco’s Hotel Hermitage on 18 and 19 July features some extraordinary jewelry items. These are the texts I wrote to go...

GemGenève: a recipe for success

If ever you dreamed of a first-rate jewelry fair with a friendly, even family atmosphere on a human scale, GemGenève is the one.

Sotheby’s historical records in Geneva

Sotheby’s latest auctions shone a spotlight on the Farnese. Sold for $6.7 million, this historic diamond of over 6 carats is one of the exceptional pieces...

Australia, the new Eldorado

Australia – a country that seems very distant to us, with one of the sparsest populations in the world – is a positive Eldorado for jewelers.

Martin Margiela's jewelry

The Palais Galliera and the Musée des Arts Décoratifs are both organizing exhibitions devoted to Martin Margiela: one on his company, the other on his...

26 février 2016

Sur un fil

En joaillerie, garder la ligne est aussi tendance.

Des bijoux formés par de simples fils d’or… Solange Azagury-Partridge aime leur faire prendre une tournure calligraphique et les métamorphoser en une succession de lettres : darlingmarry me, etc. Une jolie façon de faire passer des messages aujourd’hui reprise par des marques de joaillerie comme Atelier Paulin ou Théa. Les fils d’or suivent aussi des lignes droites et des courbes géométriques qui se croisent dans l’espace pour former des cages pyramidales comme chez Rachel Perez Bitan. L’Américaine Jacqueline Rabun, elle, enferme son diamant dans un enchevêtrement de mini-tiges d’or. Certains bijoux sont façonnés en pleins et en déliés qui s’enroulent délicatement autour du doigt ou du poignet. Sophie Bille Brahe et Agathe Saint Girons vrillent le fil d’or pour former des boucles d’oreilles qui évoquent des gribouillis.

Le principe n’est pas nouveau, déjà Calder sculptait l’immatérialité de façon extraordinaire : avec un simple fil de fer, il traçait d’un geste fluide les limites d’une forme, trouvait l’équilibre parfait, restituait du mouvement. En créant un bijou avec 5% de métal précieux et 95% de vide, il réussissait alors l’exploit de nous faire voir ce qui n’existe pas.

L’ampleur de cette tendance filiforme répond à une envie de minimalisme mais, pas seulement. La hausse, ces dernières années, du cours de l’or est aussi en cause. « Enlever 4 grammes d’or peut avoir un impact de 100 euros sur le prix de revient et une répercussion de 400 à 700 euros sur le prix de vente », explique un professionnel en off. Un mal pour un bien.

Articles les plus lus

Les 3 expositions bijoux à ne pas manquer

Trois expositions à venir, à New-York, Paris et Moscou, mettent en lumière les multiples caractéristiques du bijou. Parure, il peut aussi être un...

Artcurial, masterpieces de la vente joaillerie à Monaco

La vente Artcurial qui aura lieu à l’hôtel Hermitage de Monaco, les 18 et 19 juillet prochain, propose des bijoux exceptionnels. Voici les textes que j’ai...

GemGenève, les raisons d’un succès

Si vous rêviez d’un salon joaillier de qualité, convivial presque familial et à taille humaine… GemGenève l’a fait.

Les records historiques de Sotheby’s à Genève

Les dernières enchères de Sotheby’s ont mis en lumière le Farnese. Adjugé $6,7 millions, ce diamant historique de plus de 6 carats s’inscrit dans la...

L'Australie, un nouvel eldorado

L’Australie, ce pays qui nous semble très lointain et dont la densité de population est l’une des plus faibles du globe, suscite l’engouement chez les...

Les bijoux chez Martin Margiela

Le Palais Galliera et le Musée des Arts Décoratifs organisent chacun une exposition consacrée à Martin Margiela : l’une sur sa maison, l’autre sur...