See

06 September 2016

Mellerio, the jeweler of the Second Empire

For its “Spectaculaire Second Empire, 1852-1870” exhibition, the Musée d’Orsay considered the house of Mellerio as the best representative for the jewelry section.

Of the jewelers that existed at the time, only Chaumet, Boucheron and Mellerio remain today. “We chose this house because Mellerio made jewelry in all the favored styles of that time and it was the jeweler of all the personalities,” says Yves Badetz, curator in charge of Decorative Arts at the Musée d’Orsay. Luxury was reborn during those 18 years that bore all the hallmarks of ostentation where the elegant set changed their outfits and adornments several times a day according to the balls in the court of Compiègne or evenings at the opera. Among the most prominent of these went to Mellerio’s, and of course there were the Imperial family and the Countess of Castiglione, along with Russian, Polish, Spanish and Italian aristocrats, including King Victor Emmanuel II of Italy who purchased there a wild-rose tiara for his future daughter-in-law.

Beside the imperial crown and diadem on loan from the Louvre, the 35 jewelry pieces exhibited from Mellerio express the incredible diversity of styles in vogue at that time. A lilac brooch in a naturalist style sits alongside a serpent bracelet or a beetle brooch evoking antiquity. The more esoteric globe and arrow pendant and the bracelet displaying a distinct Renaissance influence were at the time, as equally fashionable as the diamond bow-brooch in the style of Marie-Antoinette, the Empress Eugenie’s idol. This jewelry also gives an idea of the incredible wealth of materials and techniques with flowers mounted on flexible stems that quiver, enamels in a multitude of colors and bracelets that are articulated to remain positioned on top of the arm.

The centerpiece of the exhibition is the peacock brooch commissioned by Eugenie just after the Exposition Universelle in 1867. This brooch, recently reacquired by Mellerio, illustrates all its avant-garde spirit: its barbs move both up and down and back and forth while its central section set with an emerald is removable and becomes a pendant resembling an eye. To date, it is also the oldest jewelry piece depicting a peacock feather. A theme since used a thousand times over, and one that has become a classic theme in jewelry.

This exhibition dedicated to the Second Empire highlights a golden age of jewelry echoing that of today, with the same conjunction of styles, the same technical prowess, the same sophistication and the same influx of customers seeking extraordinary pieces.

 

Spectaculaire Second Empire“, Musée d’Orsay – From September 27th, 2016 to January 16th, 2017

Most popular articles

“Tuaregs” at the Musée des Confluences

This exhibition highlights the jewelry of the nomadic tribes of the Sahara. Often dismissed as worthless trinkets by the public, they are in fact rich in...

Contemporary art in the “Medusa” exhibition

Around twenty works of contemporary art set the pace of the “Medusa”exhibition, helping to break the clichés linked to the jewel of the “too precious”, the...

Precious wood

Wood is not immediately associated with jewelry and yet … It allows contemporary creators to free themselves from the constraints of such traditional...

The Leopards Awards

Promoting history, the present and the future of British jewelry: this is the goal of the first Leopards Awards, to be launched on November 15th at a gala...

Avant-garde jewelry in the “Medusa” exhibition

A large part of the exhibition is dedicated to this type of jewelry, also known as “contemporary” jewelry and still relatively unknown in...

In bits

Contrary to popular thought, the more precious the materials with which a jewelry piece is made, the less likely it will come through time intact.

06 septembre 2016

Mellerio, joaillier du Second Empire

Pour son exposition « Spectaculaire Second Empire, 1852-1870 », le musée d’Orsay a considéré que la maison Mellerio était la plus à même de représenter la section joaillerie.

Des joailliers qui existaient à cette époque, il ne reste que Chaumet, Boucheron et Mellerio. « Nous avons choisi Mellerio car cette maison a fait des bijoux dans tous les styles qu’affectionnait l’époque et elle a été le joaillier de toutes les personnalités », explique Yves Badetz, conservateur général en charge des arts décoratifs au musée d’Orsay. Pendant ces 18 ans marqués du sceau de l’ostentation, le luxe renaît : les élégantes changent de vêtements et de parures plusieurs fois par jour, au gré des bals à la cour de Compiègne ou des soirées à l’Opéra. Parmi les plus en vue à se rendre chez Mellerio, il y a bien sûr la famille impériale, la comtesse de Castiglione et aussi, les aristocrates russes, polonais, espagnols, italiens, dont le roi Victor-Emmanuel II. Ce dernier achète le diadème en rose sauvage pour sa future belle-fille.

Aux côtés de la couronne impériale et du diadème prêtés par le Louvre, les 35 bijoux Mellerio exposés expriment l’incroyable diversité de styles en vogue, à cette époque. La broche lilas d’inspiration naturaliste côtoie un bracelet serpent ou une broche scarabée évoquant l’Antiquité. Le pendentif ésotérique en forme de globe fléché et le bracelet rappelant la Renaissance étaient tout autant à la mode que la broche nœud en diamants de style Marie-Antoinette, idole de l’impératrice Eugénie. Ces bijoux donnent aussi une idée de la richesse folle des matériaux et des techniques : les fleurs montées sur des tiges flexibles tremblotent, l’émail se décline dans mille couleurs et les bracelets sont articulés, pour pouvoir se positionner jusqu’en haut du bras.

La pièce maîtresse de l’exposition est la broche paon commandée par Eugénie, en 1867, juste après l’Exposition universelle. Elle illustre l’esprit d’avant-garde de Mellerio qui vient tout juste de la racheter : les barbes bougent de haut en bas et d’avant en arrière tandis que la partie centrale sertie d’une émeraude, se détache pour devenir un pendentif ressemblant à un œil. À ce jour, elle est aussi le bijou le plus ancien figurant une plume de paon. Motif mille fois repris depuis et devenu un thème classique de la joaillerie.

Cette exposition consacrée au Second Empire met en lumière un âge d’or de la joaillerie faisant écho à celle d’aujourd’hui avec la même concomitance de styles, les mêmes prouesses techniques, la même sophistication et le même afflux de clientèle à la recherche de pièces extraordinaires.

 

« Spectaculaire Second Empire » au musée d’Orsay – Du 27 septembre 2016 au 16 janvier 2017

Articles les plus lus

« Touaregs » au musée des Confluences

Cette exposition met en lumière les bijoux de ces tribus nomades du Sahara. Parfois associés à des bijoux de pacotille dans l’imaginaire collectif, ils...

Les œuvres d’art contemporain dans l’exposition « Medusa »

Une vingtaine d’œuvres d’art contemporain rythme l’exposition « Medusa », contribuant à rompre les clichés liés au bijou : le « trop...

Bois précieux

Le bois n’est pas spontanément associé au bijou et pourtant… Il permet aux créateurs contemporains de s’affranchir des matériaux traditionnels que...

Les Leopards Awards

Promouvoir l’histoire, le présent et le futur de la joaillerie anglaise : voici le but de ces premiers Leopards Awards, lancés le 15 novembre prochain...

Les bijoux d’avant-garde dans l’exposition « Medusa »

L’exposition laisse une large place à ce type de bijou qualifié également de « contemporain », encore très peu connu en France. Ci-contre :...

En pièces détachées

Contrairement aux idées reçues, plus les bijoux sont réalisés avec des matériaux précieux, moins ils ont de probabilités de traverser le temps.