23 March 2017

India and the 70s

A taste of India was essential in the 1970s for enthusiasts of exotic voyages.

 

After India’s independence, Western jewelers from Van Cleef & Arpels to Harry Winston through to Garrard, Bulgari and Cartier jostled each other in India to buy up the Maharajas’ precious stones and jewelry. A sometimes farcical task because the latter being highly superstitious and would need to consult the position of the planets before deciding to sell these riches. Buyers sometimes had to persist for months before finalizing a sale, moreover, in the newly independent India this trade was considered illegal as jewelry was thought to be a national treasure.

 

Royal stones

The American, Florence Jay Gould, purchased the “Blue Queen” a 114-carat oval sapphire set on a necklace by Van Cleef & Arpels, one of the biggest buyers on the Indian royal market. Princess Salimah Aga Khan bought a necklace with 44 ribbed emeralds from them, which probably once were part of a parade jewelry piece. Women discovered clusters from Harry Winston’s and diamonds in bunches and bouquets put together by Shinde, their new Indian designer met in Bombay. He managed to achieve a perfect synthesis of these two diametrically opposed styles.

 

Hippie chic jewelry

Elegant and wealthy clients from New York, Paris and London adopted jewelry with a flavor of India. Decked out in flares, tunics and caftans from the such likes as Yves Saint Laurent, they wore one or several sautoirs, this necklace descending to the navel was directly inspired by those of the maharajas. They spiraled their bracelets like a snake high around the top of the arm just like Indian princes did with the bazuband.

 

India in Italy

A fashion of outrageous color combinations in malachite, coral and turquoise. The most famous Italian was Bulgari which, at that time, abandoned the very straight mix of sapphires-diamonds-emeralds-rubies to launch a style coming directly from this Indian influence. Polished stone cabochons were set in bold color combinations on rounded and smooth mounts. Photographed for Vogue, the famous model Veruschka is seen here wearing a multicolored turban and a long necklace adorned with an incredible, engraved emerald probably coming from a maharaja’s treasure.

 

In the street

Far from the sumptuous jewelry of princes, the hippies of the 1970s turned to pieces worn by women from Gujarat or Rajasthan. In a long skirt with ruffles and a t-shirt with a pacifist slogan, this 20-year-old girl rummages through the flea markets and Carnaby Street shops filled with imported, real or fake fancy wears. To the music of Jimi Hendrix, they dance topped with leather headbands and adorned with silver hoop earrings decorated with tiny tinkling bells, flower-design pendants made out of shells and glass-bead necklaces in all colors. And on each finger, a big ring or two.

A peace and love trend 1980s glam pop would soon sweep aside.

 
Drawings: Boucheron

Most popular articles

GemGenève: a recipe for success

If ever you dreamed of a first-rate jewelry fair with a friendly, even family atmosphere on a human scale, GemGenève is the one.

Sotheby’s historical records in Geneva

Sotheby’s latest auctions shone a spotlight on the Farnese. Sold for $6.7 million, this historic diamond of over 6 carats is one of the exceptional pieces...

Australia, the new Eldorado

Australia – a country that seems very distant to us, with one of the sparsest populations in the world – is a positive Eldorado for jewelers.

Martin Margiela's jewelry

The Palais Galliera and the Musée des Arts Décoratifs are both organizing exhibitions devoted to Martin Margiela: one on his company, the other on his...

Chaumet exhibits its jewelry drawings

The French jeweler unveils some remarkable jewelry drawings that are also gems of art.   At the 27th salon du Dessin, Chaumet is unveiling 38 drawings of...

« Diane Venet's ideal collection » at the Musée des Arts Décoratifs

From Picasso’s jewels to those of Ai Weiwei, this exhibition featuring Diane Venet’s personal collection, enriched with exceptional loans, shines a...

23 mars 2017

L’Inde seventies

L’influence indienne s’impose dans les années 1970, adeptes de voyages exotiques.

 

Après l’indépendance, les joailliers occidentaux de Van Cleef & Arpels à Harry Winston en passant par Garrard, Bulgari et Cartier se bousculent en Inde pour racheter les pierres et les bijoux des maharadjas. Mission rocambolesque car ces derniers, très superstitieux, s’en réfèrent à la position des planètes pour se décider à les vendre. Il leur faut parfois s’obstiner des mois avant de finaliser une vente… De plus, dans une Inde devenue indépendante, ce commerce est illégal car les bijoux sont considérés comme des trésors nationaux.

 

Pierres royales

L’Américaine Florence Jay Gould acquiert la « Reine Bleue », un saphir ovale de 114 carats monté en collier par Van Cleef & Arpels, l’un des plus grands acheteurs sur le marché royal indien. La princesse Salimah Aga Khan lui achète un collier de 44 émeraudes côtelées sans doute autrefois enfilées sur un bijou de parade. Elles découvrent les clusters d’Harry Winston, bouquets et grappes de diamants réalisés par Shinde, son nouveau dessinateur indien rencontré à Bombay. Ce dernier fait la synthèse parfaite entre les deux styles, diamétralement opposés.

 

Joaillerie hippie chic

Les clientes, élégantes richissimes de New York, Paris et Londres adoptent des bijoux évoquant l’Inde. En pantalons pattes d’eph, tuniques et caftans d’Yves Saint Laurent, elles portent un ou plusieurs sautoirs, ce collier descendant jusqu’au nombril, directement inspirés par ceux des maharadjas. Elles positionnent leurs bracelets souvent en forme de serpent en haut du bras, comme le faisaient les princes indiens avec le bazuband.

 

L’Inde en Italie

C’est la mode des combinaisons de couleurs tonitruantes, de malachite, de corail et de turquoise. Le plus réputé est l’Italien Bulgari qui à cette époque, abandonne les mélanges très sages de saphirs-diamants-émeraudes-rubis pour initier son style directement issu de l’esthétique indienne. Il monte des pierres polies en cabochons dans des combinaisons hardies de couleurs sur des montures arrondies et lisses. Photographiée dans Vogue, le célèbre mannequin Veruschka, coiffée d’un turban multicolore, porte l’un des sautoirs orné d’une incroyable émeraude gravée provenant probablement d’un trésor de maharadja.

 

Dans la rue

Loin des bijoux somptueux de princes, les hippies des années 1970 se tournent vers ceux des femmes du Gujarat ou du Rajasthan. En longue jupe à volants et T-shirt frappé d’un slogan pacifiste, les filles de 20 ans fouillent dans les boutiques des Puces et de Carnaby Street remplies de bimbeloterie importée, vraie ou fausse. Sur la musique de Jimi Hendrix, elles dansent coiffées de headbands en cuir et parées de créoles en argent ornées de petits grelots tintinnabulants, de pendentifs-fleurs en coquillages ou de sautoirs en perles de verre de toutes les couleurs. À tous les doigts, de grosses bagues.

Une tendance peace and love balayée bientôt par la pop glamour des années 1980.

 

Dessins : Boucheron

Articles les plus lus

Artcurial, masterpieces de la vente joaillerie à Monaco

La vente Artcurial qui aura lieu à l’hôtel Hermitage de Monaco, les 18 et 19 juillet prochain, propose des bijoux exceptionnels. Voici les textes que j’ai...

GemGenève, les raisons d’un succès

Si vous rêviez d’un salon joaillier de qualité, convivial presque familial et à taille humaine… GemGenève l’a fait.

Les records historiques de Sotheby’s à Genève

Les dernières enchères de Sotheby’s ont mis en lumière le Farnese. Adjugé $6,7 millions, ce diamant historique de plus de 6 carats s’inscrit dans la...

L'Australie, un nouvel eldorado

L’Australie, ce pays qui nous semble très lointain et dont la densité de population est l’une des plus faibles du globe, suscite l’engouement chez les...

Les bijoux chez Martin Margiela

Le Palais Galliera et le Musée des Arts Décoratifs organisent chacun une exposition consacrée à Martin Margiela : l’une sur sa maison, l’autre sur...

Chaumet expose ses dessins de bijoux

Chaumet dévoile des dessins de bijoux exceptionnels qui s’apparentent à des œuvres d’art.