See

24 November 2016

Jewelry and Japan

Until the nineteenth century and the Meiji era jewelry may seem to have been absent from Japanese culture, and yet this country has greatly influenced French jewelers.

 

Absent jewelry, or almost

The all-concealing kimono with its large sleeves leaves little room for bracelets and necklaces. The sash-like obi and the fabrics with their patterns and colors give some indications of social status, wealth and taste. According to Gislain Aucremanne, historian and teacher at the Van Cleef & Arpels School: “there are no mines for precious stones in Japan, which can also explain this absence“.

 

Hair ornaments, a woman’s only jewelry

As we can seen in prints, women’s hair was pulled up, oiled and arranged in chignons and decorated with horn hairpins, silk flowers or combs. With their teeth representing rays of light, these combs would help to communicate with the natural powers. The Guimet Museum’s beautiful collection of around two hundred pieces displays the richness of their decoration.

 

Japanese influences in jewelry

French jewelers were influenced by the stylized representations of nature they saw in Samuel Bing’s Le Japon artistique magazine, and in the Japanese pavilion at the 1867 World Fair. They reinterpreted the cherry blossoms, magnolias and wisterias, along with the chrysanthemums, a symbol of the imperial family. They also borrowed the cock, bamboo and aquatic plant designs. The decorations on the lacquered inrô, the small nested boxes hung on the obi were also sources of inspiration along with the tsuba sword guards. René Lalique created brooches based on these with the same round shape and featuring a central hole where the blade would have passed through.

 

Lalique, the most Japanese of French jewelers?

Not quite so. Lucien Falize and Henri Vever, today unknown to the larger public, were also very influenced by Japanese aesthetics. According to Évelyne Possémé, head curator of the Musée des Arts Décoratifs and head of its Art Nouveau and Jewelry departments: “Lucien Gaillard is the one who pushed this Japanese spirit the furthest. He perfectly understood what underlies Japanese art and its principal quality: the design’s instantaneous and clear readability“.

 

A passion for the tiara

Catching on in 1889 during the Meiji era, when during official appearances, the Empress abandoned her traditional dress for a court cloak and a tiara which served to rekindle and consolidate political and diplomatic relations with the West. “This tradition of hair jewelry fuelled the fascination,” says Gislain Aucremanne. In 2007, the most beautiful of all tiara exhibitions took place in Tokyo and presented legendary models by Cartier, Mellerio, and Chaumet with its Bourbon-Parme and the Mary Stuart aigrette tiara. Today, to satisfy this insatiable passion, the Japanese jeweler Tasaki loans a tiara along with all engagement and wedding rings purchased.

 

Today’s taste

Japan accounts for between 10% and 15% of the jeweler market. In a country where “tiny” rules for everything from gastronomy to gardens, women consume small jewelry pieces and their observant eye takes in every detail from a chased design, to a curve or a reflection. They also love limited series. “Engagement rings represents 90% of the rings sold and the ring necessarily comes from a major brand, as this market is strongly marketed by them,” says a representative from the sector. The best-sellers are Cartier’s “Love”, Boucheron’s “Quatre” and Chanel’s “Coco Crush” in the XS version.

Most popular articles

“Tuaregs” at the Musée des Confluences

This exhibition highlights the jewelry of the nomadic tribes of the Sahara. Often dismissed as worthless trinkets by the public, they are in fact rich in...

Contemporary art in the “Medusa” exhibition

Around twenty works of contemporary art set the pace of the “Medusa”exhibition, helping to break the clichés linked to the jewel of the “too precious”, the...

Precious wood

Wood is not immediately associated with jewelry and yet … It allows contemporary creators to free themselves from the constraints of such traditional...

The Leopards Awards

Promoting history, the present and the future of British jewelry: this is the goal of the first Leopards Awards, to be launched on November 15th at a gala...

Avant-garde jewelry in the “Medusa” exhibition

A large part of the exhibition is dedicated to this type of jewelry, also known as “contemporary” jewelry and still relatively unknown in...

In bits

Contrary to popular thought, the more precious the materials with which a jewelry piece is made, the less likely it will come through time intact.

24 novembre 2016

Le bijou et le Japon

Jusqu’au XIXe siècle, c’est-à-dire à l’ère Meiji, le bijou est quasiment inexistant au Japon. Et pourtant ce pays a énormément influencé les joailliers français.

 

Un bijou quasi-inexistant

Le kimono très couvrant, avec des manches ultra longues, laisse peu de place aux bracelets et aux colliers. Ce sont le obi (la ceinture) et les tissus avec leurs motifs et leurs couleurs qui donnent des indications sur le statut social, la richesse et le goût. Selon Gislain Aucremanne, historien et professeur à l’École Van Cleef & Arpels, « il n’y a pas de mines de pierres précieuses au Japon, ce qui explique aussi cette absence ».

 

Les ornements de cheveux, l’unique parure féminine

Sur les estampes, les cheveux tirés, huilés et arrangés en chignons sont décorés de pics en corne, de fleurs en soie ou de peignes. Avec leurs dents représentant les rayons de la lumière, ces derniers permettraient de communiquer avec les puissances naturelles. La très belle collection d’environ deux cents pièces du musée Guimet montre la richesse de leurs décorations.

 

Les influences japonaises dans le bijou

Les joailliers français s’imprègnent des représentations stylisées de la nature qu’ils voient dans la revue Le Japon artistique de Samuel Bing et dans le pavillon japonais à l’Exposition universelle de 1867. Ils réinterprètent la fleur de cerisier, le magnolia, la glycine, ainsi que le chrysanthème, symbole de la famille impériale. Ils reprennent les motifs de coqs, de bambous, d’herbes aquatiques. Les décorations des inrô en laque, ces petites boîtes accrochées sur le obi et formées par des compartiments qui s’emboîtent les uns sur les autres, sont aussi des sources d’inspiration tout comme celles des gardes de sabre (tsuba). René Lalique a créé des broches avec la même forme ronde, dotée d’un orifice central, pour le passage de la lame.

 

Lalique, le plus japonais des joailliers français ?

Pas sûr. Lucien Falize, et Henri Vever, aujourd’hui méconnus par le grand public, furent également très influencés par l’esthétique de ce pays. Selon Évelyne Possémé, conservatrice en chef du musée des Arts Décoratifs et responsable du département Art nouveau et bijoux, « Lucien Gaillard est celui qui pousse le plus loin cet esprit japonisant. Il a parfaitement compris l’esprit de l’art japonais et sa qualité principale : la lisibilité instantanée, claire, nette du dessin ».

 

La passion du diadème

Elle a commencé en 1889, pendant l’ère Meiji, quand lors des représentations officielles, l’impératrice abandonne sa robe traditionnelle pour un manteau de cour et un diadème. Il s’agit alors de réchauffer et de consolider les relations politiques et diplomatiques avec l’Occident. « Cette fascination est favorisée par la tradition du bijou de cheveux », précise Gislain Aucremanne. En 2007, la plus belle des expositions sur les diadèmes, qui a lieu à Tokyo, présente des modèles légendaires de Cartier, Mellerio ou encore Chaumet avec le Bourbon-Parme et l’aigrette Marie Stuart. Aujourd’hui, pour satisfaire cette insatiable passion, le joaillier japonais Tasaki prête un diadème, pour tout achat d’une bague de fiançailles et d’alliances.

 

Le goût d’aujourd’hui

Le Japon représente entre 10 et 15% du marché de la joaillerie. Dans un pays où le minuscule est roi (de la gastronomie au jardin), les femmes consomment des bijoux de petite taille et sont attentives au moindre détail. Elles perçoivent immédiatement une ciselure, une courbe, un reflet. Elles raffolent aussi des séries limitées. « La bague de fiançailles, elle, représente 90% des bagues vendues et elle vient forcément d’une grande marque car c’est un marché très marketé », précise un acteur du secteur. Les best-sellers : la « Love » de Cartier, la « Quatre » de Boucheron et la « Coco Crush » de Chanel en version XS.

Articles les plus lus

Bois précieux

Le bois n’est pas spontanément associé au bijou et pourtant… Il permet aux créateurs contemporains de s’affranchir des matériaux traditionnels que...

Les Leopards Awards

Promouvoir l’histoire, le présent et le futur de la joaillerie anglaise : voici le but de ces premiers Leopards Awards, lancés le 15 novembre prochain...

Les bijoux d’avant-garde dans l’exposition « Medusa »

L’exposition laisse une large place à ce type de bijou qualifié également de « contemporain », encore très peu connu en France. Ci-contre :...

En pièces détachées

Contrairement aux idées reçues, plus les bijoux sont réalisés avec des matériaux précieux, moins ils ont de probabilités de traverser le temps.

René Lalique dans l’exposition « Medusa »

Habituellement visible dans la galerie des Bijoux du musée des Arts décoratifs, ce collier « Noisettes » du début des années 1920 est l’une des...

Exposition « Medusa. Bijoux et tabous », coup d'envoi

Je vous ai d’abord dévoilé l’installation de « Medusa » avec les points de vue d’Anne Dressen, commissaire, et de ses conseillers scientifiques...