See

12 July 2016

Jewelers’ happenings

Simply presenting jewelry in storefronts is commonplace. Jewelers now opt for a fashion show style and a more theatrical approach.

Jewelers get in step with fashion designers and transform their collection launches into happenings. The shows have multiplied: Bulgari’s was quite traditional in the gilded salons of the Italian Embassy, and echoed Van Cleef & Arpels’ with its dreamlike setting of wrought iron staircases and hypertrophied plants bathed in pink light, which took place two years ago at Chambord castle. Boucheron’s was more conceptual; Olivier Saillard staged it with all the poetry that characterizes his style. Men and women embraced and stroked the models wearing the jewelry and took up and let go of the pieces as they entwined the models. Celebrities are not yet as numerous as for fashion shows, but one could spy Isabelle Huppert and Laetitia Casta at Boucheron’s and Rossy de Palma at Cartier’s. As for younger designers with more limited means like Ana Khouri or Magdalena Frackowiak, the presentation was more conceptual with static models in ultra minimalist dress.

The ultimate is a private presentation in a mythical location inaccessible to ordinary mortals like in a typically Parisian mansion, such as the Hôtel Potocki dating from the nineteenth century for Piaget, or a palace hotel suite with breathtaking views like the Mandarin Hotel, for Messika. In this vein, the show and dinner event organized last year by Louis Vuitton on the roof of the Villa Malaparte in Capri overlooking the sea was almost unsurpassed!

Surprise constantly reinvents itself with every jewelry collection to create as much buzz as fashion shows … Known for its fashion shows at the Grand Palais, Chanel recently appropriated Place Vendôme, the epicenter of French jewelry, in a collaboration with the artist Gad Weil, who planted nearly a million golden ears of wheat, the collection’s source of inspiration. On the off, some jewelers have not hidden their displeasure. Will this one-upmanship lead to the same phenomenon found in fashion where the houses shift their hordes of influencers from Rio to Saint-Tropez via Havana and St. Petersburg?

Held to ransom by this phenomenon, these hordes run from one happening to the next posting thousands of pictures of the events without really worrying much about the jewelry pieces, which sometimes cost several millions a piece. Because paradoxically, the staging of these events often steals the show from the jewelry pieces, which don’t seem to really count…

Most popular articles

Gas and its Bohemian workshop

A visit to the Gas workshop, the beating heart of the brand’s “solar chic” style de the hills above Marseille. After a lunch with a chorus of cicadas, under...

1970s Piaget watches at Artcurial

This exceptional sale entitled “Time is Feminine” features fifteen vintage women’s watches signed Piaget.

“Precious Ballerinas” by Van Cleef & Arpels

The ballerinas at the heart of the new Van Cleef & Arpels exhibition were inspired in the 1940s by the paintings of Edgard Degas.

“Time is feminine” the french jewelry post editorial

It is with great pleasure that we present the editorial for this Artcurial catalogue, which pays tribute to the vintage watches gathered for this...

Couture jewelry at The Vintage Collector’s Fair

On December 1 and 2, fashion antiques dealer Catherine Lecomte is bringing together fifteen or so colleagues at the Bristol Hotel. “High-end vintage”...

“Tuaregs” at the Musée des Confluences

This exhibition highlights the jewelry of the nomadic tribes of the Sahara. Often dismissed as worthless trinkets by the public, they are in fact rich in...

12 juillet 2016

Happenings joailliers

La présentation des bijoux dans de simples vitrines a vécu. Les joailliers optent pour les défilés et les mises en scène théâtrales.

Les joailliers se mettent au diapason des couturiers et transforment le lancement de leurs collections en happening. Les défilés se sont multipliés : celui de Bulgari, assez traditionnel, dans les dorures des salons de l’ambassade d’Italie a fait écho à celui de Van Cleef & Arpels avec son décor onirique d’escaliers en fer forgé et de plantes hypertrophiées, baigné de lumière rose. Il y a deux ans, il avait eu lieu au château de Chambord. Celui de Boucheron, plus conceptuel, était mis en scène par Olivier Saillard, avec toute la poésie qui caractérise son style. Les mannequins étaient entourés d’hommes et de femmes les embrassant, les enlaçant, les caressant, accrochant et décrochant au passage les bijoux. Les people ne sont pas encore aussi nombreux que dans les défilés de mode, mais on a vu Isabelle Huppert et Laetitia Casta chez Boucheron, Rossy de Palma chez Cartier. Du côté des créateurs, plus jeunes et aux moyens plus limités comme Ana Khouri ou Magdalena Frackowiak, la présentation est plus conceptuelle avec des mannequins statiques aux vêtements ultra minimalistes.

Le nec plus ultra pour présenter ses bijoux est de privatiser un lieu mythique ou inaccessible au commun des mortels : des hôtels particuliers typiquement parisiens comme celui de Potocki datant du XIXe siècle pour Piaget, des suites de palaces avec des vues imprenables comme celle du Mandarin, investie par Messika. Dans ce registre, le défilé et le dîner organisés l’année dernière par Louis Vuitton sur le toit de la villa Malaparte à Capri, face à la mer sont quasi inégalables !

Surprendre sans cesse, se réinventer à chaque présentation pour que sa collection de joyaux fasse autant de buzz que celle de la mode… Connue pour ses défilés de mode spectacles sous la nef du Grand Palais, la maison Chanel s’est, cette fois-ci, appropriée la place Vendôme, épicentre de la joaillerie française. Avec la collaboration de l’artiste Gad Weil, elle y a planté près d’un million d’épis de blé doré, source d’inspiration de la collection. En off, certains joailliers n’ont pas caché leur mécontentement. Cela va-t-il entraîner la même surenchère que dans la mode où les maisons déplacent désormais leurs hordes d’influencers de Rio à Saint-Tropez en passant par La Havane et Saint-Pétersbourg ?

Rançon de ce phénomène : ces mêmes hordes courent d’un happening à l’autre pour poster des milliers de photos du décor, sans vraiment se préoccuper des bijoux coûtant parfois plusieurs millions d’euros. Car paradoxalement, ces mises en scène volent souvent la vedette aux bijoux, qui ne semblent plus vraiment compter…

Articles les plus lus

Gas et son atelier-bohème

Chez Gas, visite de l’atelier situé sur les hauteurs de Marseille. Là, bat le cœur de la marque au style « chic solaire ». 

Les montres seventies Piaget chez Artcurial

Cette vente exceptionnelle baptisée « Le temps est féminin », met en lumière une quinzaine de montres de femme vintage signées Piaget.

« Précieuses Ballerines » de Van Cleef & Arpels

Les ballerines, au cœur de la nouvelle exposition Van Cleef & Arpels, ont été inspirées dans les années 1940 par les peintures d’Edgard Degas.

« Le temps est féminin », l’édito de the french jewelry post

C’est un plaisir de signer l’édito de ce catalogue Artcurial. Il rend hommage aux montres vintage réunies pour cette vente aux enchères...

Le bijou couture à The Vintage Collector’s Fair

Les 1er et 2 décembre prochains, l’antiquaire de mode Catherine Lecomte réunit une quinzaine de confrères au Bristol. Le vintage haut de gamme se...

« Touaregs » au musée des Confluences

Cette exposition met en lumière les bijoux de ces tribus nomades du Sahara. Parfois associés à des bijoux de pacotille dans l’imaginaire collectif, ils...