See

27 October 2016

Cartier and Japan

The reopening of the Cartier flagship in Tokyo is a reminder of the ties this French jeweler has had over the years with Japan.

In Ginza, the luxury shopping district, the red Cartier building resembles a monumental lantern all-aglow. New facades designed by Sylvain Dubuisson mark the reopening of this flagship. Ultra modern, they consist of cells that refer to the shoji screens made of wood and paper. Resembling pixels, they light up at night producing geometric shapes whose kinetic effect echoes that of the nearby Chanel boutique. The interior was renovated by Bruno Moinard, and its layout, screens with lacquered wood and gold leaf panels, and its colors together evoke the serenity of a Japanese temple.

Louis Cartier was fascinated by the objects, prints and paintings presented for the first time in France at the World Expo in 1867. The influence Japan had on the arts was phenomenal and it made a lasting impression on fashion designers such as Poiret, as well as the Impressionist and Post-Impressionist painters. Louis Cartier for his part was also inspired by drawings in the Le Japon artistique magazine published by the influential dealer, Siegfried Bing. Amongst these featured in particular, the wisteria clusters, a symbol of youth, he reinterpreted in fully articulated diamond earrings. Later, during the Art Deco period, the geometric abstract patterns found in kimono fabrics and in prints appeared on a square diamond brooch with a semicircular design.

This Japanese fantasy reappeared in interpretations of the inro, a precious case for carrying medicinal preparations worn on the waist. In 1942, it became an essential that concealed a lipstick tube under its silk tassel. Another signature piece was the charm bracelet adorned with ten charms each representing a tradition, a symbol and so on. The first one referred to the Hina Matsuri festival during which the precious dolls passed down from generation to generation and meant to protect against evil spirits, were exhibited. The second last shows two ideograms signifying “joy” and “bitterness”.

Japan is a country that has no longstanding jewelry tradition. For a long time the kimono, obi and hair ornaments were the only adornment. This explains why Western jewelers like Cartier have set up only quite recently in Japan. Cartier’s first store opened in 1991 and its Ginza store in 2003, at a time when Japanese consumers began appreciating international products and Western fashions.

Most popular articles

Precious wood

Wood is not immediately associated with jewelry and yet … It allows contemporary creators to free themselves from the constraints of such traditional...

The Leopards Awards

Promoting history, the present and the future of British jewelry: this is the goal of the first Leopards Awards, to be launched on November 15th at a gala...

Avant-garde jewelry in the “Medusa” exhibition

A large part of the exhibition is dedicated to this type of jewelry, also known as “contemporary” jewelry and still relatively unknown in...

In bits

Contrary to popular thought, the more precious the materials with which a jewelry piece is made, the less likely it will come through time intact.

René Lalique in the “Medusa” exhibition

Normally on view in the Jewelry Gallery of Paris’ Museum of Decorative Arts, this “Noisettes” necklace from the early 1920s is one of the major pieces...

“Medusa. Jewellery and Taboos” - The kick-off

I firstly featured the setting up of this exhibition along with the views of its curator, Anne Dressen, and its scientific advisors, Michèle Heuzé and...

27 octobre 2016

Cartier et le Japon

La réouverture du flagship Cartier à Tokyo, donne l’occasion de rappeler les liens du joaillier français avec le Japon.

À Ginza, le quartier des boutiques de luxe, l’immeuble rouge Cartier ressemble à une monumentale lanterne luminescente. La réouverture de ce flagship est marquée par de nouvelles façades réalisées par Sylvain Dubuisson. Ultra modernes, elles sont constituées d’alvéoles qui font référence aux shoji, ces paravents à découpes de bois et de papier. Comme des pixels, elles s’animent la nuit en figures géométriques dont l’effet cinétique fait écho à celui de la boutique Chanel voisine. À l’intérieur, rénové par Bruno Moinard, l’agencement, les paravents – des panneaux de bois laqué à la feuille d’or – et les couleurs évoquent la sérénité d’un temple japonais.

Dès 1867, Louis Cartier est fasciné par les objets, estampes et peintures présentés pour la première fois par ce pays à l’Exposition universelle. L’influence du Japon dans le domaine artistique est phénoménale, elle touche également les couturiers comme Poiret et les peintres impressionnistes et postimpressionnistes. Louis Cartier s’inspire également de dessins d’une revue publiée par le grand marchand Samuel Bing, Le Japon artistique. Y figurent notamment des grappes de glycine, symbole de jeunesse, qu’il réinterprète en boucles d’oreilles de diamants, entièrement articulées. Plus tard, pendant la période Art déco, les motifs abstraits géométriques des tissus de kimonos ou des estampes trouvent un second souffle sur une broche carrée en diamants dans laquelle s’inscrivent des demi-cercles.

Ce Japon fantasmé passe par la réinterprétation du inrô, précieux récipient destiné à recueillir des préparations médicinales et porté à la taille. En 1942, il devient un petit nécessaire qui dissimule un tube à rouge sous son pompon de soie. Autre pièce emblématique : le bracelet orné de dix breloques représentant chacune une tradition, un symbole, etc. La première fait ainsi référence à la fête du Hina matsuri pendant laquelle on expose des poupées précieuses transmises de génération en génération et censées protéger contre les mauvais esprits. L’avant-dernière figure deux idéogrammes signifiant « joie » et « amertume ».

Le Japon est un pays qui n’a pas de tradition du bijou. Longtemps le kimono, le obi et les ornements de cheveux ont formé l’unique parure. Ce qui explique l’implantation relativement récente des joailliers en général et de Cartier. La première boutique a ouvert en 1991 et celle de Ginza en 2003, à une époque où le consommateur commence à apprécier les produits internationaux et les modes occidentales.

Articles les plus lus

Bois précieux

Le bois n’est pas spontanément associé au bijou et pourtant… Il permet aux créateurs contemporains de s’affranchir des matériaux traditionnels que...

Les Leopards Awards

Promouvoir l’histoire, le présent et le futur de la joaillerie anglaise : voici le but de ces premiers Leopards Awards, lancés le 15 novembre prochain...

Les bijoux d’avant-garde dans l’exposition « Medusa »

L’exposition laisse une large place à ce type de bijou qualifié également de « contemporain », encore très peu connu en France. Ci-contre :...

En pièces détachées

Contrairement aux idées reçues, plus les bijoux sont réalisés avec des matériaux précieux, moins ils ont de probabilités de traverser le temps.

René Lalique dans l’exposition « Medusa »

Habituellement visible dans la galerie des Bijoux du musée des Arts décoratifs, ce collier « Noisettes » du début des années 1920 est l’une des...

Exposition « Medusa. Bijoux et tabous », coup d'envoi

Je vous ai d’abord dévoilé l’installation de « Medusa » avec les points de vue d’Anne Dressen, commissaire, et de ses conseillers scientifiques...